Shivery Memorial Weekend


Loons on Plummer Lake

Loons on Plummer Lake

Memorial Day weekend and here in Wisconsin—at least in this corner—we’re wishing the weather were a bit warmer so we could get outdoors and enjoy what’s supposed to be the unofficial opening weekend of summer.

We aren’t even close around here. Some of us still have our furnaces on especially at night since the temps drop low enough to think the calendar is stuck on March not the end of May.

So, since dear hubby and I are home and caring for our disabled son, I’ve had time to remember other Memorial Days and times we were able to be celebrating the holiday somewhere else and with people and loved ones not around here today.

Take for example Memorial Day 1993. My first trip to Alaska and on this particular day we visited the Portage Glacier, saw a pod of whales in Turnagain Arm when we traveled the highway from Anchorage to the Glacier. We also saw several mountain goats up close and personal as they picked their way around the steep sides of the mountains not 15-20 feet from the highway’s edge.

Wouldn’t see that in too many places.

Reflections on Plummer Lake

Reflections on Plummer Lake

Or Yosemite Valley riding a bike on a beautiful trail again getting up close and personal to some of the most beautiful acreage ever. I spent more time getting off and on that bike to take photos and since the bike was quite decrepit and didn’t have very good brakes—well, let’s just say the day was memorable for great scenery and a bike ride I never want to repeat.

Yosemite? Absolutely—and we have returned—but no bike ride for me.

Plummer Lake at sunset

Plummer Lake at sunset

Or we’ve had a few Memorial Day weekends up north at my sisters’ cabins. Those were fun weekends mixed with the work of opening cabins, doing clean up and landscaping to prepare for many more summer weekends. The one that I remember most vividly was maybe 2002 or 2003. My husband and I had a trailer hitch on my escape so we were elected to haul a trailer filled with furniture for the cabin my one sister had purchased. Beds, mattresses, kitchen appliances, living room furniture, kitchen set, lawn furniture, you name it. I was so proud of my Escape for handling that hauling job well, not to mention dealing with that holiday traffic.

Memorial Day means many things to different people. But the reason for the holiday is to remember those who gave their lives in service to their country. Before that became officially a holiday, about this time of the year families would trek to cemeteries to clear away winter debris from family plots and graves and leave flowers or some token of remembrance. That custom predated the Civil War—our bloodiest one with the highest body count. As a result the current concept got rolled into the family custom.

Last years' flowers on Memorial Day

Last years’ flowers on Memorial Day

Two great reasons to celebrate the day not only with preparing for summer but also for remembering those we’ve lost in war or just because…

I’ll be doing that also over this weekend.

I hope your weekend is a great one. That you have time to celebrate the promise of summer along with remembering those you miss in your lives.

See you next week, probably a day late as I’ll be at the Wisconsin Romance Writers Conference. Wish me luck. Three of my books are up for awards. Whether they win or not, the weekend will be great to learn more of my craft in the workshops and visit with writers for two days.

Explore posts in the same categories: Memorial Day

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Shivery Memorial Weekend”


  1. I love your posts because I always see great photos of places I’ve never been accompanied with interesting stories.
    Happy Mem Day, Casey.
    Patti

  2. Edie Ramer Says:

    I agree with Patricia. Beautiful pictures! I stayed home today and started work on my revisions. I have a lot more to go!


  3. Patti,

    I really had some photos in mind as I wrote this post but didn’t have them easily available but I had taken them the day of my Turnagain Arm day and my Yosemite Day which I mention.

    So you got more of Memorial Day weekend at Plummer Lake which is where my sisters and their families are this weekend. I’ll have to get those photos I mentioned scanned soon and available to use.

    I really appreciate your comment about my stories. 🙂

    Have a great week.


  4. Edie,

    I think I’d rather be doing revisions that just starting out again. Getting the best start place on a new story is always the hardest part for me and I feel guilty about allowing myself these weeks to get other project done will my thoughts gestate. And worse, each day I’m getting older…

    Do your revisions well. We are waiting…


  5. Casey, thanks so much for sharing those wonderful memories with us. Memorial Day has a very special meaning to me … it is (was) my mother’s birthday. She would be 102 years old on Thursday.

    All things good to you at the conference. I look forward to hearing all about when you get back 🙂


  6. See you Friday.

    Tina Susedik

    On May 26, 2013, Casey Comments wrote:

    > caseyclifford posted: ” Memorial Day weekend and here in Wisconsin–at least in this corner–we’re wishing the weather were a bit warmer so we could get outdoors and enjoy what’s supposed to be the unofficial opening weekend of summer. We aren’t even close around here. Some” > >


  7. Florence,

    I’m so hoping my WF book wins but it’s got tough competition. I’m thinking that when it’s with the majors, I can’t complain. But of course, deep down, I’d love all of them to win but realistically that’s like winning a lottery.

    Happy Birthday to your Mom. Wow, imagine all the history she lived…


  8. Tina,

    Will be good to see you then. It’s been years .


  9. Memorial Day Up North…just about every year, most of them helping my parents with their huge rummage sales, and for the past few years, also celebrating my youngest son’s birthday. Did the same again this year; great sale, and my little boy is now 10!

    Looking forward to next weekend, too! Lots of time to visit and talk ‘shop’. 🙂


  10. I saw somewhere that you mentioned up north being near Crivitz. My sister had her first place up north in that area also, then she sold and bought her current place west and north of Minocqua.


  11. Wonderful post, beautiful pictures! I’m bummed I won’t be at conference this year, but I’m so glad you’re able to make it after all, and I’ll be rooting for you to win all three of your categories in the Write Touch! 🙂


  12. Donna,

    Thanks for liking the photos. And the good wishes for this coming weekend. I’m bummed also that you won’t be at the conference. Let’s hope for next year but for sure I must get up to GB again this summer.

  13. Sophia Bell Says:

    I like the photos posted here. As what i have see, the place is very to relax and to have a vacation. I think this place has a lot of good memories. Nice photos!


Leave a Reply

