Dreams Do Come True


From Alaska son

From Alaska son

Last Sunday was Mothers’ Day. Since I am a mother, I made a decision to treat myself to a day when I did nothing. Well, I did things with my hubby. We took the day to visit, take a drive, eat out. Just do whatever we felt like doing—together.

I visited with my sons, two at the cemetery near my mom and dad, one by phone as he’s in Alaska, and one in our home as he lives with us. I sat in my living room, thought about the next book that’s cooking in my brain, watched the lake, and started reading a new book. I enjoyed the home made key lime pie my hubby made for me. I admired the lovely flowers I received from the men in my life who love me.

From youngest son

From youngest son

It was a marvelous day.

A vacation day if you will.

Something I don’t take as often as I should.

But since my last post, I’ve accomplished something I never thought would happen. Three of my books finaled in three different categories of the same readers judged contest, The Write Touch Readers Award. The winners will be announced on June 1st—just a few weeks from now. The books were as follows:

An Island No More—romantic suspense. (This book took second place in the Bean Pot Readers Choice and has finaled in the 2013 Award of Excellence contest.)

Better Than Dessert—mainstream.

Seasons of Wine and Love—single title.

From hubby

From hubby

I got the call one evening when I was exhausted. I’d been caring for our disabled son who lives with us and been up for 40 hours straight. I’d just showered and gotten into my jammies and was on a path for bed when the phone rang. I ignored it instead crawling into bed.

But my hubby walked into the bedroom and insisted I take the phone. Of course, I figured the call couldn’t be a good one. (I tend to get negative when overtired to the tenth power.)

I picked up the phone and said hello. Hesitation colored my voice I’m sure. That didn’t last long.

Of course, I was beyond excited at the news. (I’d hoped to final with one book but when she continued with number 2 and 3, well, I was flabbergasted.) However, I was also half asleep. I’m sure I didn’t make any sense during our conversation and I’ll have to apologize when or if I see the woman at the awards luncheon—yes, I’ll be there for that.

Those lilacs brought spring into the room

Those lilacs brought spring into the room

After the call I fell asleep and slept for maybe nine hours. When I woke the next morning to coffee, I sat in my chair and looked at my husband. Then I said to him, “I had the strangest dream last night.”

“You did?” He set the paper down and turned to me. “What was it about?”

“You woke me up and insisted I take a call. The caller told me three of my books finaled in a contest.”

Dear hubby chuckled. “Honey, that wasn’t a dream. That happened.”

“Don’t tease me.”

“I’m not. I listened in on the other phone. You really did.”

Well, let me tell you hearing my dream really wasn’t a dream made my day. My week and ever since. Writers always dream of getting calls such as that one—ones that bring news of success because finaling is special. It is another measure of success. However, I’m so glad this is one dream that wasn’t a dream, but real.

I wonder–have any of you “slept through” a moment of success?

Yellow roses were the first flowers hubby sent me--delivered to my classroom.

Yellow roses were the first flowers hubby sent me–delivered to my classroom.

P.S.  Today is hubby and my 34th anniversary. Our romance started with another phone call. His to me. Sort of asking me if I dated. I answered “not really.” He asked why. I answered “No time and more importantly no one’s asked.”

I’m so glad he asked.

Explore posts in the same categories: Goals

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Dreams Do Come True”


  1. I’m excited I get to be there when they announce the winners! Happy Anniversary–you should take another day off. 🙂 Have a wonderful day.

  2. Sandy Says:

    Good luck, Casey. Happy Anniversary!

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    Happy Anniversary! It was so great reading about your finals! I’m so happy for you!


  4. I don’t know where to begin with the congratulations and well wishes! I so very happy for you. I know it’s an honor to even be recognized for these awards, but I do hope you win–you SO deserve it! 🙂

    34 years. Wow. Celebrate is style, my friend! 🙂


  5. How very cool about your books! That IS awesome. And I’m glad it wasn’t just a dream! How nice to have received such beautiful flowers on Mother’s Day. There’s just something about looking at them that’s such a treat. I received a dozen roses from my daughter and I’m looking at them right now.
    Patti


  6. Stacey,

    I’m excited you’ll be there also. Should be a most interesting day. Unfortunately, I’m doing the night shift with Steven so I’ll be “on duty” at 6 PM. No dreams tonight but do hope I get an idea for my newspaper column due Wednesday.


  7. Sandy,

    I’ll need luck because the other finalists have written great books also. And thanks for the good wishes. I chose a real winner the second time around. 🙂


  8. Edie,

    I really wish I could join your lunch group tomorrow in Milwaukee but things are crazy here and I’ll be up all night nursing. Thanks for the good wishes.


  9. Lorna,

    Style won’t be happening. But tenderness and happiness at still being together will be. Thanks for taking time to stop by.


  10. Patti,

    I’m still enjoying most of my flowers–a week later. It’s amazing how well they’ve survived and still look good. Thanks for the good wishes. Hope you have a great week.

  11. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Happy Anniversary! You certainly did deserve Mother’s Day off. Loved all the flowers.


  12. Ah, Casey … This is such a lovely post. To be able to share in a singularly wonderful moment or actaully several moments in your life.

    Congrats on the books. Happy belated Mother’s Day. Happy Anniversary. It’s the chant … happy,happy …joy, joy. It’s good to know dreams do come true 🙂


  13. Nancy,

    I may deserve a day off, but I have to fight the guilt for not delivering,..thanks to that education we both share. I loved the flowers also and still am enjoying some of them.

    Thanks for stopping by.


  14. Florence,

    So glad you’re feeling the joy and happiness I felt. That means I wrote well enough to touch my readers. Yes, in this case, the dream turned to reality. At least to final. Now the winning part…

  15. Anne Parent Says:

    This blog brought tears of joy and hope to my eyes. This is such well-deserved recognition for you. Congratulations!


  16. Anne,

    Thank you. But don’t cry, be happy as the song goes.


Leave a Reply

