Anniversary Trip Inspiration


Bird of Paradise

Bird of Paradise

On our eleventh anniversary, my husband and I celebrated the event by taking a three week trip to Hawaii.

Now you might ask…why we chose that particular year and not 5, 10 or 20? You wouldn’t be the first. We got asked that a lot from people we met on the trip who were celebrating those anniversaries. When we told them why, they smiled and understood.

Well, take heart. I’ll tell you now. This marriage was a second one for both of us. I was divorced after 10 years of misery, well except for the wonderful 3 sons. My husband was a widower. He’d been married 10 years when his wife died. So we decided since we both knew we could manage 10 years, we should celebrate 11.

It was a great trip. We spent time on all the major islands–Oahu, Maui, Hawaii, Kauai, Molokai. However, we spent a week in Maui. We left Wisconsin in a May snowstorm but spent the next 21 days in paradise. When we returned to Wisconsin, late spring had finally arrived.

Coastline

Coastline

That trip and that anniversary was very special for us. We’re still racking up numbers with the years but none of our anniversaries have been celebrated like our 11th.

Life and all its challenges have intervened.

So as I was writing the original draft of my Soul String Saga, that trip was much on my mind. As I’ve been going through edits with recently published Soul String: Passport and the last one in the series which I’m editing now. Both have several chapters set in Hawaii. Critical chapters.

Loved this view

Loved this view

So I pulled out my photo books to help me remember vividly ambiance and photographic flavor of Hawaii. They were very helpful. At time they inspired new bits and pieces of details. I think these photograph inspired details have enhanced my original book.

I thought I’d share some of them I took in Maui. After looking them over, maybe you’ll want to read the books. Or take a trip to Hawaii? 🙂

Have a great week…

Great waterfalls

Great waterfalls

Explore posts in the same categories: Travel Sights

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Anniversary Trip Inspiration”


  1. My husband and I went to Kauai for our honeymoon and we both loved that island most of all, though I haven’t been to as many as you and your husband. What a great idea for celebrating your eleventh! Cool. And your pictures are reminiscent of those beautiful islands. Paradise indeed!
    Patti


  2. I’m already enjoying Soul String and waiting for book 5, so these beautiful pictures make me want to go there. 🙂 I love your reason for celebrating #11 and thanks for sharing with us.


  3. Patti,

    I loved all the islands but spent over a week in Maui which wasn’t as crowded then as Oahu. I loved the rustic pristine element to Kauai at the time we visited because it wasn’t as developed then and really reflected the islands as they probably were before WWII. I probably want to go there now and spend time since my son has been there 3 times recently and loves it.

    Have a great week. 🙂


  4. Stacey,

    So glad you’re enjoying Soul String. Hearing that from you pleases me immensely. And some day I’ll write about the very tender experience my husband set up for us in Kauai.

    Have a productive week. 🙂

  5. Anne Parent Says:

    What a lovely story of your 11th anniversary. The pics are beautiful. As things are chaotic in my life right now, they carried me away to a beautiful and serene setting.

  6. Sandy Says:

    I love all the islands of Hawaii. Great pictures!

  7. Edie Ramer Says:

    The photos are beautiful. I’d love to vacation there. Or maybe live there, consider their health policy. 🙂


  8. Anne,

    I’ll be posting more Hawaii photos next week. So glad they helped carry you away from the chaos surrounding you.

    May you have a peaceful week.


  9. Sandy,

    And I’ll bet in your former career, you got many chances to explore them.

    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂


  10. Edie,

    At one point I thought I’d love living there, but now I don’t think so. It’s so far away from people I love. Great to get away to for a few weeks. That’s one of my goals. Sure hope I achieve it soon. 😉


  11. Casey, that is actually very romantic. I mean an odd number is so unique to only you and your husband. And those photographs make me want to get on a plane and fly off to Hawaii. Thanks so much for sharing. I hope you continue to add on the years 🙂


  12. Florence,

    As I wrote this today and have been looking at these photos I’ve thought several times we have more than doubled the 11 since then. I only love him more and hope we have the opportunity to got again. Only this time I’d love a month. In Kuaui… Ah dreams are made.


  13. I’ve been to Hawaii. So I guess that leaves the Soul String series… 🙂


  14. Ah, Lorna, I hope you loved your trip. People either do or don’t.

  15. Brenda Says:

    I want to do both:) I’ll be in touch very soon. Life sometimes gets in the way of things – as I know you know this first hand! Know that I’m thinking of you always.


  16. Oh, Brenda,

    Contact me soon. I’m worried about you.

    And yippee for me, I sent the last Soul String off to the editor this morning.

  17. Brenda Says:

    Yeah for the latest Soul String! Not to worry – I’m fine:) Will be in touch very soon!


  18. I’d love to do both, though since I doubt I’ll ever get to Hawaii, I’m grateful to have these books to read. 🙂 Lovely post, Casey!


  19. Hawaii is a magical place to visit. I think however it takes a special mindset to live there especially people like us used to huge spaces. Seeing movies or TV shows set there or reading books set there is easier and much much cheaper. 😉

    Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

