Soul String Saga


Today I’m doing some shameless self-promotion. At least I’m being up front about it. Because I’m proud of this series. Right now Books 1, 2–and this past week–3 are available  in digital format only. Once I have the last one edited and finished, they will come out in print for those who still love their print copies.

And so do I for book signings.

All my books are special to me at the time I write them and later when they go through revision. This series is special because it reflects one woman’s growth and maturation during a time when women were breaking out of traditional roles. This sometimes created great personal conflicts for them from external sources like family, friends, co-workers to internal stress when momentary doubts might barrage them with guilt or indecision regarding their choices.

So here they are, folks, with covers, descriptions, and buy links. Book 4, Soul String: Passport will be out in March. You’ll probably see all this again. After all, writers have to also brag about their babies, just like parents and grandparents, aunts and uncles.

See you next week. 🙂

Soul String

B.J. Kelly grew up with a small town background and a family rooted in tradition, but her goals to become successful and wealthy will never happen living the life her family wants for her. Against the turmoil on her 1970’s college campus, she achieves a major step in earning a graduate degree at a major university. Her determination and drive earn her recognition, a job, and a life-long enemy.

Soul String

Soul String

Known for his difficult exams, Professor Caleb Forrester is dumbfounded when one B.J. Kelly not only aces his test—she one-ups him in her answers. Their meeting after class leaves him even more intrigued and sparks a relationship that will connect them for years to come.

Through danger, in love and in hate, for the rest of their lives, they are connected by a Soul String…

A novella Soul String begins a series which follows Brenna, called B.J. by some for the next twenty years. In each novella to follow we see her mature and grow professionally. With each book she faces challenges in her personal and professional lives which alter and sometimes enhance her path to success. Along the way we see her gather friendships and enemies as her power and prestige increases. She finds love when she least expects it, and loses it in the same way. But the soul string love nurtured remains intact.

No matter how many years pass, nothing alters the hatred of one man whose encounter with her in the graduate school library stacks changed his life and forged his hatred.

Kindle: 

Nook:

Apple:

KOBO:  

Soul String: The Key

Soul String: The Key

Soul String: The Key

Brenna Kelly’s new boss sends her to Japan to try mending fences and gain an important business contract –one her immediate supervisor has lost. Her success fuels her supervisor’s anger, gains her the admiration of two important men in the business world, and sets her on a business track that changes her expectations.

Caleb Forrester finds himself traveling the globe and rarely settling in one place for very long and he works to set his individual stamp on his family’s business.

The two of them find themselves separated not by design but by circumstances and time zones. Can their love survive?

With Brenna’s blossoming career, she watches as her friends and family members make big changes. All the while she gathers new friends, supporters, and another enemy.

Then a long weekend at a hideway cabin in the Colorado Rockies shakes the foundation of her Soul String…

Kindle:

Nook:

Apple:

KOBO:  

Soul String: Broken

Marry me…

No, not yet…”

Soul String: Broken

Soul String: Broken

A proposal goes astray…

Brenna is in her late-twenties when Caleb proposes. Her hesitation followed by her promise to do so—someday—sets in motion changes which could rip them apart.

Caleb’s in his late-thirties. His parents want a grandchild. His father’s health isn’t good. He’s ready to settle down though his career is busier than ever. His parents and his profession keep him on the west coast or globe-trotting. But he wants Brenna close and as his wife.

Brenna’s business has taken off. She’s busier than ever but her consulting projects keep her in Milwaukee or else traveling across continents and oceans. Her parents want her to marry. But that’s not a role she’s ready to take on. They’d like more grandchildren, but her biological clock isn’t ticking. In fact it’s not even nearby. She’s living the career she worked so hard for and enjoying every minute. Whenever she and Caleb can be together, she looks forward to living in the moment and enjoying their time to the fullest.

Characters unravel or bloom…

How can he want a different life when they both started out with such unified goals? Why would he think she might want to?

1975 is the Year of the Woman. Brenna is following her dream career and loving Caleb. Her way.

Can these two soul mates agree to walk the same path hand in hand? Will the miles between them, their diverging careers, needy families, and shifting goals shatter a love neither believed would ever fail?

Kindle:

Nook:

Apple: In process

KOBO:  In process

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Soul String Saga”


  1. What an intriguing series of books, Casey. I’ve been thinking about your series and now have to get them onto my Kindle. Good luck with your sales. You’ve done a ton of work for this, I know. WOW!


  2. Casey, next Friday my book budget for the month of March kicks in. Being the organized compulsive I am, I even schedule and budget the books I get in hard copies and Kindle. I love your covers so much, I’ll be torn between the two. This is a true labor of love and I am sure that when people read this series, that love will shine through 🙂


  3. What a timely post…I just started reading Book One last night and today you are keeping me from writing, you wonderful brat. 🙂 I’m 68% done and am a big BJ and Caleb fan already!


  4. Patti,

    I hope all my work and love for the characters populating this series resonates with readers. Once I finish answering posts I’m back to editing Book 4.

    Thanks for your comment.


  5. Florence,

    If Soul String manages to get into your budget I will be humbled. So many great reads out there. So little time and $$.

    As always I appreciate your comments. Have a great week!


  6. Stacey,

    Every writer deserves a day of rest, especially when it’s reading a book the writer is enjoying. 😉 So glad you’re loving Caleb and BJ. And I love being called a brat, especially a wonderful one, at my age. 🙂

  7. Edie Ramer Says:

    I just bought the first Soul String book. I can’t believe it took me so long to buy it. But now I get to read one after another, so that’s good. 🙂 I’m really looking forward to it! Love the progression of the books. This is a great idea!


  8. Edie, you’re going to want to read them one after another. I just finished Book 1 and it’s a good thing my Kindle needs to recharge, or I’d be diving into Book 2 instead of making myself get some work done before starting Book 2 tonight. 🙂


  9. Sounds like a wonderful series, Casey. Congratulations!


  10. Thank you, Jamie. I’m hoping that’s what readers will think.

  11. Sandy Says:

    Casey, I remember the 70’s well, and I remember my family telling me I was an old maid when I turned 25. I kept putting off getting married, too. I can really relate to B.J. The series sounds wonderful.


  12. Casey, your series sounds wonderful (isn’t that word being used a lot!), I can’t wait to get started. I have to finish my reading obligations first, though. *pout* The covers are gorgeous, too. Love the vibrant colors. 🙂


  13. Donna,

    Ah yes, I understand those “obligations.” They come before all else. So glad you like the covers. They are always a big hurdle in decision making.

    Have a productive week!


Leave a Reply

