Canadian Goose Fly-in Diner


First diner. First day. Coming in for a landing.

First diner. First day. Coming in for a landing.

Now open for business.

And their business is very good–booming in fact.  First there were 4 or 5. Now you can add a zero or two. The owners (land contract, I’m sure) have added more territory. It’s spreading like this darn flu bug. 😦

Not that the residents in my neighborhood like this new business in our front yard. After all, the customers have absolutely no concern about where or who see them squabbling, pecking at each other, napping in their serving platters, pooping on their tables.

I mean really…

The first day business was slow. Maybe the few remaining patches of ice kept the less hardy flyers from dropping in and skidding into the diner. But by day 3? The word had spread. Business tripled and the noise has also.

Sundown doesn’t stop these long-necked die hards. They plan to be first in line for landing early for breakfast so they’re camping out on the lake. And they gossip loudly all night.

Business is growing...

Business is growing…

Where are the goose police when tired neighbors make their SOS calls?

Not around here.

Actually, I’ve always appreciated seeing flocks of Canadian geese flying north in Spring. But proximity is NOT breeding stronger admiration. Stronger disgust maybe. Especially when I consider what these gossipy poop producing, feathered diners are doing to our lakeshore grass and beach.

I’ll be sure to provide an update come late spring.

Finally, I must apologize for being AWOL lately. A couple days after Christmas I came down with a nasty bug which was really laid me low, listless and barely moving most of the time. Thus I’ve had the time to watch the geese at the new diner.

Waiting for a table...

Waiting for a table…

Fortunately, I’d prepared a post for a guest spot on another blog before I got sick. It’s called Friday Quickies and it is. If you’ve ever wanted to learn a few fun/odd facts about me, check it out here. It will be up for a few days: Friday Quickies 

So folks, wish me luck this week as I continue working on Book 3 of Soul String. Book 2 will be available this week.

Aren’t you glad I’m baaack?

Liking the south veranda...

Liking the south veranda…

Explore posts in the same categories: January

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Canadian Goose Fly-in Diner”


  1. Glad you are feeling better. Hope you have a productive week.

  2. Sandy Says:

    Oh, those nasty geese. We’ve had them around here, too, Casey. They’re fascinating creatures though. I, also, went to Friday Quickies. I really enjoyed the interview.


  3. Hi Sandy,

    Doing that post for Sarah was so much fun. And writing about the popular new neighborhood attraction was pretty much fun also. I spent far too much time one day this past week coughing and watching the geese and taking way too many photos. Good thing I’m using digital these days.

    Thanks for stopping by–both places.


  4. So glad you’re feeling better, Casey. And I enjoyed the interview with Sarah Grimm. Sorry about the pooping geese. LOL


  5. Jamie,

    Much better but still coughing like crazy. I keep hearing that could last for weeks. 😦

    Maybe I should blame it on the geese.


  6. Donna,

    My puppy Oreo is NOT happy with this situation. The geese threaten her territory. What she is happy about is she is no longer taking the blame for all the poop in the yard.


  7. Enjoyed your Friday Quickies and laughed about the geese scenario. I do love watching them but am well aware they can make a horrible mess. I did NOT know they stayed up and night and made noise! What???


  8. Patti,

    Lots of noise all night. Quite the partyers. And I know as I’ve heard them all night long while I’m doing night shifts caring for my son. My theory is that’s why they fall asleep in their “plates” for short naps. 😉

    So glad you stopped by..

  9. Deb Maher Says:

    We’re on the flight path for the eastern snow geese. I love hearing and seeing them overhead mid-winter. When the sun shines their silhouettes glimmer against the blue sky. Gorgeous. 🙂

  10. Edie Ramer Says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. Those geese are really smart. They know the protected areas to go. The birds we have that I wish would go away are woodpeckers in fall, trying to peck holes in our home so they can fly into the warmth.

    That’s exciting news about your new book! Yay!!!!


  11. I am so delighted that you are back, Casey. Glad you are feeling better. Love those geese and what splendid news about your book. You go girl … write on 🙂


  12. Deb,

    I was going to say something about the snow geese. Once in a while we see a few but they must be lost. I’ve seen many in CA on birding trips with my SIL and brother. And a few times in the fall at Horicon Marsh in WI. They are my favorite because they are so gorgeous. Oh, I’ve also seen them in Alaska. That is really special.


  13. Edie,

    You’re right about being smart geese. I think they look up at us humans and snort or squawk in contempt.

    But woodpeckers would be worse. Far worse.

    Yes, I’m really excited about this book and the series. But I also can’t wait to get back to my Dessert Dames either. So many stories, so little time…


  14. Florence,

    I’m really excited to be back. This past month has really been rough. I think that’s why I so connected to the message in your recent blog about how things happen beyond our control and through every plan into the trash.

    And part of me is glad you missed me. 😉


  15. YES! I’m glad you’re back, goose-poop scoop and all! I hope you’re feeling lots better. I finally am! When I finish An Island No More, I’ll write a review in all the right places for you! 🙂


  16. Lorna,

    Oh, Thank you. I hope you’re enjoying it. And I’m glad you’ve finally gotten past your recent bout of illness also. And getting your book published. So proud of you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

