Thank You, Veterans


Microsoft clip art image

No real blog post today.

I’m thinking of all those servicemen and women who are currently serving in our armed forces. I pray daily they return to their loved ones safe and sound.

I’m thinking of all those who have served and thank them for having volunteered.

I’m thinking of those veterans who died in service to our country in war, conflicts, or joint operations.

Think of our veterans today. If you know one, thank him or her. If your family has veterans who are now longer alive, say a pray of a thought of thanks.

Because of them we live in a country we can vote. That’s part of what they fought and died for.

Thank you, Dad, Uncle Jim, Uncle Gene, Jerry, Ed.

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Thank You, Veterans”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    Four men in my family – my father, my two brothers and a nephew – have been in the military, three in wars. I appreciate what they’ve done and thank all the men who go.


  2. Thank you, Casey. My father was in the Navy and my nephew served in Afghanistan. I’ll be thinking tomorrow of all of the veterans and men and women currently employed in the services.


  3. Edie,

    I have a grandson and a nephew currently serving. Just read an article in the paper about the homeless situation for vets from the past. Adjusting is difficult and it’s a problem many don’t realize.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Virginia McCullough Says:

    Thanks Mary Jo–I always feel such obligation to our vets, maybe even more so because my family has a Quaker bent and past. It’s what happens when our men and women come home that is close to my heart.

    I’m old enough to remember the poppies–and the whole origin of this as a post WWI commemoration day. Wow…we’re closing in on 100 years on that one.

  5. Sandy Says:

    Thank you, Mary Jo. My favorite uncle was in World War II, and he was the most kind man in the world. I didn’t know him before he went to war, but I understand he came home a changed man. He died at 48, and I still miss him.

    My blog is for the veterans, too, Mary Jo. http://www.sandramarshallblog.blogspot.com

    Virginia, my family were Quakers, too.


  6. Virginia,

    When I spotted this graphic of the poppy I knew it’s symbolism said all I wanted to say but didn’t in this short post. That’s of course why we use symbols. 🙂

    And once our veterans come home, they face so many other battles and always have.

    Yes, I can’t believe that war to end all wars, really set the ball rolling for so many more to come. Sad.

    Hope your visit with your son went well.


  7. Sandy,

    Your uncle’s experience of coming home a changed man I can believe. How can any man or woman not be changed by the circumstances of war? And for those caught up close? I think that is what drives the emotions so many feel when they visit the various war memorials–like the Vietnam Wall in DC.

    Off to check your blog.


  8. And thank you, Casey for remembering … for caring and sharing your story. I have been fortunate and did not lose a close member of my family to war. But my husband’s baby-faced cousin was lost in Nam and inspired a short story. I know I will go to the wall one day to find him 🙂


  9. Florence,

    My brother served during that time. At one point his duty consisted of accompanying bodies home to their families. I think he was chosen because he had the right personality for that. But all that sadness put a permanent sadness into his previous always jovial Irish face.

    Thanks for sharing.


  10. Patti,

    Don’t know what’s happening here but your comment just showed up sometime today. So sorry I didn’t answer sooner. I’ll add your nephew to my thoughts and prayers for all those serving in harm’s way.


Leave a Reply

