Autumn Chill


A favorite fall color and tree.

We’ve had to turn on our furnace.

I’ve broken out the sweat pants and sweatshirts to wear while writing. The winds are cold and howling off the lake. The vibrant color of the leaves which turned quickly are dropping just as fast.

October is here.

It slipped in with a fantastic event for me as a writer. I was able to break away for a few days to drive to Green Bay and participate with other writers as part of a Book Fair and Sale. So much fun to interact with other writers of all types and talk writing and book plots. I’ve missed that terribly. But I treasure each of the hours I had doing so. As a result on the drive home I decided on my next projects which will likely take me most of next year and what’s left of this one.

On the way home I pulled off the road…

Plus, I had the pleasure of talking with readers, avid readers, who talked about how much more they’re reading with their digital devices though they still treasure the feeling of holding print books with great covers in their hands. I had one reader who bought a print copy of Seasons of Wine and Love to put in their vacation home in the wine country where this book is set. She also downloaded a digital copy to read. She loved the gorgeous cover which doesn’t give as much pleasure to the reader in digital format. (Thank you, talented cover artist) Also check out my Seasons page on this site.

And my newest, just released book, More Than A Trifle, also got picked up and admired a lot. Comments ranged from “Oh, this looks delicious. I’ll bet the story is too,” to “Wow! That makes me hungry for dessert.” (Again, thank you very talented Elle) Trifle also has a page on this site; check it out.

Different tree but still my favorite color.

I treasure most though the hours spent chatting with my writer friends and wishing as we all do that writing isn’t by necessity more lonely than we’d always like. Especially as we see the winter creeping closer and the weather becoming less likely to predict which makes traveling dangerous.

But this coming week is back to reality and normal daily patterns. And thinking about those few days I skipped away from daily life and recharged my batteries so to speak. And as I enjoyed the vibrant colorama of the trees as I drove, I pondered how autumn resembles my life at this present time. Nature’s winding down in a flourish of beauty, wondrous colors, and times of deep sadness as we watch summer’s brilliant blooms shrivel and die quickly while hardier ones fight to the very last moment.

I acknowledge I’m now in the autumn of my life. I glory in the gifts of joy and brilliance. I hold steady against the chilling winds of fate, bad situations, deaths, and illness that have filled my life and the lives of those I treasure. I’m hoping my autumn lasts a very long time.

October Sunrise

So what season are you in?

Explore posts in the same categories: Autumn, Light bulb moments

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

22 Comments on “Autumn Chill”


  1. What a lovely post, Casey. I’m a Spring person because I love the way the weather warms up but it’s not hot. I can sit outside under the umbrella and listen to the birds and look at the sky and green trees. Just being able to be outside is a wonderful experience for me.


  2. Patti,

    I’m not surprised you’re a spring person. You reflect that in your author voice in your books and in your posts. Also in comments on other’s blogs. And spring in CA is the best time. I always loved being out there then.

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    Fall and spring are my favorites. Not too hot and not too cold. I LOVE the cover of your newest book. Yay, you, for getting another great book up!


  4. Thanks, Edie. Now I just have to hope readers find it. You have a great network for that. And I’m loving your Miracle series cover. Problem for me these days. No time to read anymore. Seriously bad. 😦

  5. Sandy Says:

    I love fall, Casey. The colors are gorgeous in the fall. I like spring, too, with all the pale colors.


  6. Sandy,

    It appears spring and fall are favorites. Here in WI spring usually is dismal and very short like 2 days. We seem to go from late winter to summer heat most years.

  7. Eileen Doyle Says:

    Now in my ninth year of retirement I’m so lucky to be able to enjoy all the seasons with beautiful friends like you. I have “More Than a Triffle on Order” and looking forward to it.


  8. Eileen,

    Yes, you’re having a marvelous retirement and deserve it. I think you’re a summer person, all warm and jovial. Hope you enjoy trifle–a lot.

  9. Eliza Daly Says:

    Sounds like a great weekend Casey. And how neat that a reader bought a copy of your book to put in her vacation home where the book is set. I bet she thought that was great. And thanks for sharing the fall pics. I love this time of year!

  10. Deb Maher Says:

    Fall is so beautiful, filled with color and (to me) the perfect temps. But for some reason I’m drawn to the bleak winter months. Could be my January birthday. Or maybe I’ve just always viewed winter as a time of preparation. The Earth sleeps so that it can renew itself for new life in the spring. (There’s a way to make that more poetic but it’s been a long week….need to sleep.) Love your post and your pics!


  11. I have found time at last. Wonderful post, Casey. This is my favorite time of year so you reached inside my soul with your words and pictures. Look forward to the new read 🙂

  12. Anne Parent Says:

    Thank you for this post!!! You reminded me I’m actually in the autumn of my life. Lately, I’ve been thinking of it as the winter. I feel renewed!


  13. Eliza,

    Those two days really energized my creative soul. Wait until you do one-on-one with readers. Incredible. And I’ll never forget the vacation home story either. That’s really special.

    Thanks for dropping by and commenting. 🙂


  14. Anne,

    I love it when you stop by and drop a compliment. I’m sure your weekend at the retreat did just as much to renew your spirit. And you are definitely not in the winter of your life. Not a chance.


  15. Deb,

    So good to see your comment. I think from the time stamp you’ve arrived home safely from your travels. Since you and I share the same birthday month I should perhaps enjoy that season most and your views on it certainly give me reasons to ponder. However, while I enjoy winter in some ways, I love fall for its abundance of color, harvests, clear days, great temps. What can I say???


  16. Florence,

    You inspire me with your words. If I reach into your soul with mine, I’ve achieved what my goal has always been with my blog and my posts. Thank your for stopping by, for getting you rest that you need, and for writing a blog I look forward to every week.


  17. Hi Casey:
    We are new to your blog, finding your name thru a mutual friend/Diana Douglas. We are already fans of your writing. This post is the perfect example. So beautifully written. Our answer has to be two, as we are two authors, mom and daughter team. My daughter prefers fall though to me, she is in the spring of her life. Everything blooming and with bright possibilities. Myself, I would like to think I’m in fall, as I am older, and like you, I’m enjoying the more simple things life has to offer. An exquisite sunset, a field full of wild flowers, or yes, a mountain range, filled with all the spectacular colors the autumn leaves have to offer. My favorite time of year however, happens to be the dreaded time for most, and that is winter. Most see it as dead and lifeless. But I’ve loved this holiday from the time I was a child. I love the beauty of snow-covered hills. The design of snowflakes, and even the smell winter puts into the air. To me, it is the most magical time of all. Thank you for the beautiful post, and we look forward to enjoying many more.


  18. Just catching up on blog posts, Casey. Those pictures are lovely. I’m a total autumn/winter person so I’m in my glory right now.

    So happy to hear that your books are getting some attention–well-deserved attention! 🙂


  19. Inion=2,

    How very fortunate you’ve got a daughter and you share the love of writing. I was blessed with 4 sons. Each a wonder and a charmer in his own unique way. Two of them are no longer walking this earth and one is a vent-dependent quad who faces each day of his life with more bravery than I think I ever could. So tonight when I am caring for him and it’s the “down” time about 3 AM I’ll be checking your blog and hope I catch more glimpses of you 2 in your posts.

    Thank you for stopping by. 🙂


  20. Lorna,

    I spent too much time today finding what I hope is the perfect group of paragraphs around Look. Look for it tomorrow. And I’m autumn winter also. Mostly I love autumn but am drawn to the silent beauty and crisp cold of winter.


  21. Casey, Fall is my favorite. It was the best to visit with you and everyone else. I’m so glad you came up and I hope your week isn’t too hard. Hugs and wishing you some sleep.

    As usual, love the pictures. 🙂


  22. Stacey,

    Thanks for the compliment on my photos.

    Fall is definitely the overall favorite for those who’ve commented. You’re in good company.

    Loved our visit also and can’t wait to do another one.


Leave a Reply

