A White Kitty, A Black Puppy and Boats


The trip was lovely though often foggy and chilly. Added atmosphere.

I’ll bet you’re scratching your head trying to figure out this one. Especially with my choice of first photo?

Be honest. You think I’ve finally gone round the bend. Totally lost touch with any reality. My lack of sleep and crazy hours are getting to me. I’ve been working too hard and trying to do too much…

If so, then thank you.

If you just begun following me, hang one and I’ll explain–for both groups.

Life has been very difficult the past two years as many of you know. But this past year has truly been a challenge. And I’ll admit early this week as I was frustrated with the formatting for the book now available, I was thinking maybe I really needed to give up something. And I don’t have much left to give up.

Then what worried me even more (yes, I worry a lot–always have), was I couldn’t even begin to think about how to approach my blog post for today or my column due next week for the local paper. I feared my creative muse had given up on me. She expects to be fed new experiences and locations and I’ve been unable to provide much that interested her lately.

Don’t blame her. I hadn’t been fed much if any of that either–we have a symbiotic relationship going on–and I admit I was feeling more than a bit sorry for myself.

When we first spotted this, the fog shrouded it. Eerie. Unforgettable.

But on Friday I had an appointment to get my nails done and my nail tech runs her business attached to her home. I’m the first customer of the day and thus I get greeted by her huge puppy. A friendly sort who’s come to learn that first customer is allowed to give a treat. So she waits–all quivering 130 pounds of black playful puppy. Now did I say how huge Callie is?

Once I dispensed with the treat, I looked around and noticed a very small, open pet cage. No way was that for Callie or any of my tech’s other pets. ) Think horses, another large older dog and a very large, graciously charming cat named Emma. But Emma wouldn’t fit in that cage.

Then I caught a flicker of white lightning from the corner of my eye. I looked down at the floor.

Not far from me feet now sat a very tiny white kitten. (A bit over a pound) A very playful kitten whose antics entranced me while I removed my polish and watched the kitten discover her reflection in the glassed front of the TV stand. I noticed the kitten’s blue eyes and the only color on her body was the merest hint of peachy orange at the tips of her perky little ears and the very tip of her long tail.

Love that crashing Atlantic surf against Maine’s rocky shore .

That kitten further entranced me as I was her play Hide-N-Seek with the puppy Callie. The puppy would galumph after the kitty who would scoot behind a piece of furniture or a chair and then peek out to tease Callie.

When they tired of the game, the kitty raced into her cage to rest. For a few minutes anyway and my manicure started. I then witness what was the cutest situation between animals I’ve seen in a very long time. White kitty sneaked from her cage and jumped, landing on Callie’s paws.

Oh, oh, I thought. Not so.

They started playing again with Callie gently laying her paw on the kitty and nuzzling the kitty’s back. Kitty must have liked it because she stretched out and before I realized it, Callie was her, and then lay her big head over the top of white kitty as if to protect her. They both fell asleep to play again another time.

Those images stayed with me the rest of the day. So did the feeling of joy I gained watching them. I felt blessed that I’d been lucky enough to share in such an innocent experience: two animals stereotypically described as “enemies” enjoying each other so much. And providing pleasure for someone who watched.

Lobster boat. Ate lobster every day.

And then I realized that if I allowed myself to give up my joy in writing by thinking my muse has left, I’ve given my power to the current circumstances and giving in. If I don’t allow that, my muse won’t leave me. She’ll only walk away if I give up on her. And, look, I came up with a post for today.

But what about those boats? And why not pictures of Callie and the white kitty which doesn’t have a name yet? I didn’t have my camera with me that morning–so no photos. As for the boats? Well, in an effort to feed my muse’s need for different settings, I looked through very old photos of a wonderful trip to Maine with my husband, our first one. I scanned some of the photos which I still remember taking and thus I pulled out the boat related ones for today. Enjoy.

See you next week.

Once in a while we had sunshine.

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “A White Kitty, A Black Puppy and Boats”


  1. The moment I start worrying about where my next idea is going to come from, I feel this wall forming around my creative essence, When I let go of my expectations of “I have to be witty or brilliant” then ideas bubble up like magic. It’s kind of like trying hard to think of a word or name. When you stop trying, it comes to you!

    I love your story about the huge puppy and tiny kitty. A study in opposites if ever there was one!


  2. Lorna,

    Oh, and I was telling myself those exact same things all week, but the woe-is-me gremlin wanted blood. But I slid from its clutches thanks to those two animals. It’s one of those experiences that’s one in a lifetime for sure.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    I read the caption about you eating lobster every day, and I had a surge of jealousy. lol I wish I’d been with you to see the large dog and tiny kitty play.

    I’ve been having trouble sleeping, and it does make me less productive. Last night I finally slept 8 hours, and I feel wonderful today.

    I hope you get some sleep!


  4. Edie,

    Funny, you were one of the ones I thought of while I watched because I knew you would love it. So on Friday you were close to me. πŸ™‚

    And the lobster we had was right from that lobster boat. My friend went to school with him, walked down to the dock while he unloaded his day’s catch and picked out the lobsters for each of us. We took them home, cooked them and ate our fill. Every day we spent with her. That hooked me on fresh lobster. πŸ˜‰

  5. Sandy Says:

    Casey, I love the pictures, and I love fresh lobster.

    The story about the white kitty and the big puppy was great. You better get some pictures because I want to see them.


  6. Sandy,

    The tiny, cute kitty was a rescue she was rehabbing to health. That kitty may not be there when I go again, just the puppy who is quite large but delightful. Of course, knowing my nail tech, she may end up keeping the kitty in which case I will definitely get photos.

    Have a great week.


  7. I love the pictures of the crashing waves. And, no, your muse has not abandoned you. Perhaps she’s hiding out somewhere, but I bet when you least expect it, she WILL return.
    Patti


  8. Oh, Patti, she has returned which allowed me to zip right through my blog post first draft. Oh, and I purchased Barbara Samuel’s Girls in the Basement care and feeding of? Which is wonderful and reminding me why I love writing.

    Thanks for stopping by and more crashing waves to come. πŸ˜‰

  9. Virginia McCullough Says:

    Love your story and the photos…the boat with the red sails pushed my nostalgia button. The boat I lived on, starting in Maine, had red sails, too–a classic old wooden gaff-rigger, like your photo. Oh, how I love the coast of Maine. I’ll be thinking about you and Maine all day.

    And yes, muses need care and feeding, as a writer we admire tells us.

  10. Anne Parent Says:

    As always, you’ve encouraged me to keep going. Thank you for the beautiful story!


  11. Anne,

    So glad I was able to encourage you. How’s that new book coming along? And are you getting enough rest?

    Thanks for stopping by…


  12. Virginia,

    Wow, your boat was like my burgundy sails one? Wow, I’ll never forget seeing that one as it moved in the fog bank. And Maine’s coast is worth keeping in your thoughts for a day. I’ve been thinking about it since I looked over those photos.

    Next week this time I’ll be on my way to GB. Can’t wait.


  13. I was having one of “those” days Sunday and missed this. I saved you of course … you are so worth saving. I had a dog and a cat; so did my daughter. I’ve found they are loving companions. When our dog passed, the poor cat mewed for days, roaming through the tooms looking for her.

    About the boats ?? Darn, I want to jump on one and go out to sea. Thanks, and don’t you ever give us, your work is too damn good πŸ™‚


  14. Florence,

    Saving the best to last often works for me. In this case, I’m so glad I was “saved for last.” πŸ™‚

    I also bought Barbara Samuel’s Care and Feeding of the Girls in the Basement. I’m savoring a tidbit/essay a day. And of course, right off the bat she talks about the necessity of getting enough sleep.

    Love that Wise Woman!!!

  15. Emily snowman Says:

    I have to tell you something rather interesting. The lobster boat pictured above was built and owned by my husband’s grandfather and is still in operation today by my father in law. Her name is the Dolphin. She was the pride and joy of my husband’s grandfather. The date of this blog post was his birthday. Ironic? Maybe. But this picture is an incredible piece of my in laws history. Please email me the year you first traveled to maine and took this picture if you could. Thank you for posting this.


  16. I so appreciated your email giving me some background on this photo. The photo was from early July 1984. I’ve always been so drawn to this photo and look at it often since those boats are so symbolic of survival midst great odds to produce a living, not to mention obtaining lobster–always a treat for me here in the Midwest.

    Casey

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

