When Rains Come


Rain’s coming. Close the windows.

Here in this corner of Southeast Wisconsin we’ve endured extreme drought conditions since June. This means rain, however, we get it, is an event. Especially if your livelihood depends on certain amounts of rain at certain times, like our farmers.

Anyway, this past week we had a full day of rain and even a few showers on other days.

Rainstorms are greatly appreciated because of the drought. However, they also change the look of the lake. So today’s post is more of the pictorial variety, especially since this past week was busy with inserting the final edits and corrections for the print version of Seasons of Wine and Love which is now available for purchase. The print cover front and back is gorgeous.

Front and back cover print version

I’m now wading through the last edits and corrections for the print version of More Than A Triflewhich hopefully will be available with a few weeks. I’ll be sure to let you know.

In the meantime, enjoy Lake Michigan during a storm and I’ll report back next week on More Than A Trifle.

Maybe I best turn off my computer.

Windows closed. I’ll switch to my laptop for a while.

Oh, I think I’ll watch the changes for a bit.

Sure glad I’m not out in a boat right now!

I’m thinking this rain might last for some time and be helpful.

Explore posts in the same categories: Weather

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “When Rains Come”

  1. Eliza Daly Says:

    Gorgeous pics Casey thanks for sharing. Good luck with your final edits. Love the book title!

  2. Virginia McCullough Says:

    Thanks for the photos–glad you got some rain. “Seasons” cover is especially beautiful. And it’s one of my favorite of you books!


  3. Eliza,

    Love the cover of your upcoming book and look forward to reading it. I’m all for light-hearted reading these days. Be sure to post when it’s available. And thanks for stopping by.

    As for those edits? I may actually finish by tomorrow which would be very fine. 😉


  4. Virginia,

    A full day and night of rain. Lots of scary looking clouds but only rain fell and we really needed it.

    Thank you for the compliment on Seasons. With fall coming I think the colors are especially appropriate and print really does allow the colors to pop.

  5. Sandy Says:

    We have been in the same draught, Casey, and we got a whole day of rain, too. It’s been wonderful. Our lawn greened up and had to be mowed.

    Lovely cover and pictures of the lake.


  6. Casey, I love the Old English Sheep dog on the back cover! My first dog, Humphrey, was a OES and I loved him like my son. I also enjoyed your pics of the clouds–I’m a gal who loves clouds…

  7. Edie Ramer Says:

    We didn’t get as much rain as you did. Our flowering crabapple tree is dead. 😦

    I love your cover! Especially the sheepdog. Love that it’s on the spine, too.


  8. Casey, of course I love the photography. How wonderful to see your cover … you are doing such great work on your stories 🙂 It’s a blessing that you can combine so much of what is happening in your life and do the hard work on getting your books out there … I wish you the best. Can’t wait to read more of you !!


  9. That so looks like the ocean to me, Casey. How wild. And what a beautiful view.


  10. Sandy,

    Actually, I think your section of the Midwest is even in worst shape. It’s amazing what a day of rain can do for us with lawns. The farmers? Not so much.

    Have a great week.


  11. Lorna,

    I’ve loved OESheepdog since the days of Please Don’t Eat the Daisies. And Churchill was the perfect name for this guy who nearly stole my hero & heroine’s story. I loved him so much I may have to do a short story about his adventures.


  12. Edie,

    Our flowering crab is defunct also, I think. And Churchill demanded his place on the spine and one the back cover. He’s quite the character.

    I’m thankful for the rain but I think you’ve gotten more in the past than we have.


  13. Florence,

    If I weren’t so passionate about writing, I’d be that way about photography and have the equipment to really take great photos. Of course, I’d need a stronger body also.

    Wait till you see the full print cover for the next book. It’s beautiful in a much different way.

    Thanks for stopping by.


  14. Patti,

    We are blessed with a gorgeous view. Because Lake Michigan is so large, it often reflects the temperament of the ocean but I miss the salty tang, the kelp, and the tides.

    Thanks for stopping by again.


  15. Love those pics!! And I love the back of Seasons! Congrats on the print book!


  16. Stacey,

    I’m always amazed how the lake can change so swiftly. I never tire of taking photos of it.

    And I love the back of Seasons also which is why I had to put up the whole cover. Now of course, I hope for sales.

    Love your new cover also.


Leave a Reply

