Blue Moon, Kayak, Boat and a Mum


August 31, 2012

“Once in a blue moon…”

How many time haves we used that phrase or heard it spoken? Too many—probably—but that’s likely why we recognize it. And probably in the next few seconds, the melody of the Rogers and Hart song will pop into our mind and the tune will stay with us. If we’re lucky, we even remember some of the lyrics.

I’m humming now.

Pretty impressive for a tune written in 1934 for a movie that likely no one remembers any longer. Singers as diverse as Billie Holiday to Rod Stewart, from Mel Tormé and Frank Sinatra to Elvis Presley have sung it. It’s been featured in many more contemporary movies.

It’s a classic.

Are you humming it yet?

This tune has remained in my humming and thoughts since I realized in early August that we would have a blue moon. Fortunately, when the evening arrived, I was able to get a photo, not a close up, but I don’t need one of those.

Who knows? At my age, I may not see this phenomenon again since we won’t have another one in a blue moon—in this case 3 years from now. At least that’s what our newscasters told us last night.

August 30, 2012

So August slipped out with something special…a blue moon.

That beats what other parts of our country got with Hurricane Isaac and its ensuing disasters.

But here in my corner of the world the last week of August were much gentler. Here are some highlights.

One morning after doing an all-night-shift caring for my son, I slipped out onto our balcony and watched the sunrise. Here’s one of the photos I took just as the sun lifted itself to peek above the ebony waters of Lake Michigan. I never tire of watching the sunrises and what amazes me always are the clouds that accompany it. They often do a dance-of-seven-veils tease with the sun and its watchers.

Looking better than 3 months ago.

Because we’ve had some rain, the dry soil has started to sprout grass. Thus I’m not staring at dust and ruts from the hill landscaping and new retaining wall that was a major frustration for me this summer. While the view is far from perfect or finished yet, it beats earth moving equipment and dirt piles.

Our temps were pleasant this week and the lake water is much warmer than usual because of the hot summer. So we have had more activity on the lake. This week was no exception. Again, these photos of early morning kayakers on our beach and late afternoon boaters anchoring for a pleasant dip in the lake broke up my long hours of editing and writing.

There’s no telling how I might use these photos to inspire scenes in future work…

But today I’ve turned the calendar. August has fled along with the blue moon and September slips in with its expectations of vibrant colors and changing leaves, cooler days and chilly nights, pumpkins being harvested and batches of fragrant pumpkin bread cooling on the granite counter.

Fall is coming. I thank my neighbor for adding this glorious mum to her patio. I see it from my living room window whenever I sit in my favorite chair.

I hope you enjoyed your blue moon experience. Are you anticipating September and the glories of autumn?

Explore posts in the same categories: Seasons

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Blue Moon, Kayak, Boat and a Mum”

  1. Sandy Says:

    Casey, this brings back such memories. I remember this song very well. You forgot Andy Williams singing Blue Moon, and if my memory serves me so did Kate Smith. Lovely photos.


  2. What a lovely post to wake up to this Sunday morning. Thank you, Casey. Your pictures are gorgeous, especially the sunrise. I’m anticipating a much needed “slowing down” this September because this summer seemed to go by in a flash. Both my kids graduated – middle school and high school – and now I’ll have one in college and one in high school. It’s all changing and I want to sit back and enjoy both of their lives as well as what’s happening in mine. I’m in the middle of edits for a book that should be pubbed in Nov/Dec and just signed with an agent who will be editing my other book in late October to be pimped to editors in January of 2013. So, I have a lot to look forward to.
    Patti


  3. Morning (oops–now afternoon) Casey! Great pictures and I’m glad you’re finally getting some rain. I am definitely looking forward to fall so I can put myself to work writing. Kids in school…blessed quiet for 8 hrs a day…aaaahhh. *grin*

    Have a great weekend!


  4. Sandy,

    I think just about every singer has sung this song. My goal was to choose examples of different styles. But Kate Smith–how could I forget her? My grandparents would watch her weekly show in the very early days of TV. What I most remember about her is “When the moon comes over the mountain” and of course, “God Bless American.

    Thanks for stopping by.


  5. Patti,

    I’ve read of your busy summer and the multiple changes in your life. You’re now headed to an exciting next phase. I hope it’s all you dream of it being. We deserve to have our dreams come true.

  6. Edie Ramer Says:

    I had to look up the song on YouTube! It’s been a long time since I heard it, but as soon as I heard Frank Sinatra since the first two words, I remembered it. Gorgeous picture! Fall is one of my favorite seasons – except for the days getting shorter.


  7. Stacey,

    So please fill those 8 hours with work. Nothing to hold you back now. You’re ready to fly, woman. So Fly…


  8. Yes, I’m humming! I love the shortened days and the bit of nip in the evening air. Oh yes, I am very much looking forward to autumn and and end to the blazing sun and heat.

    I just love how you write, Casey!

  9. Anne Parent Says:

    What beautiful photos, as usual. I, too, am looking forward to September and the approach of Fall, my favorite time of year. What a way to bring summer to near end, the blue moon. Have a great week!


  10. Anne,

    I love fall and since you are getting a weekend away from home, I’d say you started it quite well. 🙂


  11. Lorna,

    Glad to hear you’re humming. It appears several of us love fall the most. Here’s hoping it lingers for a long time.


  12. Edie,

    I knew I couldn’t have mentioned something you didn’t know about. And Ol Blue Eyes–he made a song his once he sang it.


  13. Casey, after a day of helping a friend, I was so pleased to come home to these magnificent images and your tender words. Ah, September … the month of my birth … born on the first day of Fall … I’ve always had a soft spot. Quiet walks on the beach … did you say pumkins? My mom used to make dip pumkin flowers in batter, deep fry and the taste was incredible. Apple picking, fall colors … the sweet, cool breezes … and your Blue Moon … “You saw me standing alone … without a love of my own.”

    Thanks so much for this lovely moment 🙂


  14. Florence,

    You share my dad’s birthday though he’s long gone from walking this earth. I think as we gain wisdom and learn to step back and appreciate the small things in life that come our way, we appreciate fall so much more.

    I’m so glad my post touched you for a few moments.

  15. capn bob Says:

    Hi Casey!! Guess Who… yep.. bobbing around and you caught it on film. It was a nice eve to sneak out on the lake after work. With fall approaching, not many more good boating days left. Thanks for sharing the picts and yes,,, Im humming that tune… wasn’t it also used in a wolfman comedy film???? capn bob


  16. Capn Boob,

    Don’t know about the Wolfman film. I’ll ask Steven. He’d know.


Leave a Reply

