When Eagles Come Visiting


A symbol of our country

Yesterday Oreo wanted to go out on the balcony which overlooks the lake. She likes to watch whatever is going on in what she considers her territory. Since it was Saturday and our neighbors had company for various reasons, Oreo was definitely on patrol.

Once I opened the balcony door I looked to the south and spotted two very large birds standing on one of our complex’s piers. This isn’t unusual especially if the day is sunny and nice which it was. However, the size and shape of these birds were not the ones we usually see–various kinds of ducks, geese, some kingfishers, gulls, and every once in a while a hawk or falcon.

But these didn’t appear to be any of those.

So of course I grabbed the binoculars and took a closer look.

At the same time, those two birds had gotten Oreo’s attention. She was in full alert stance. (Now this demeanor can be difficult for her since she’s only about 10 pounds and looks to sweet to ever be in ferocious guard dog mode. Of course, I’m a bit prejudiced about that.)

Ever vigilant--Oreo

She had good reason to be alert.

Those two birds were mature bald eagles. At their size they could easily latch onto Oreo and take her off somewhere as an appetizer.

Fortunately, yesterday they were too busy watching for unwary fish. Anyway, I brought Oreo back into the house and exchanged my binoculars for my camera. Of course, while I was taking the two photos with this post, I was wishing I had a really powerful telephoto lens but I don’t. However, I did get a photo moment to remember.

What I missed however was getting a shot of them flying very low and close to our balcony. I watched them entranced from inside through our large picture window. I could clearly see their feathers delineated. They were that close and that low.

Their wind spread was enormous.

They flew into the small grove of tall trees just to the north of our building.

Now I know I’m not seeing things when every once in a while, I catch a glimpse of a huge shadow of a bird but never see the bird. I think they’ve been around here for a while though I don’t know that they’ll stay. But actually seeing those two raptors yesterday, up close and personal, seemed like a gift since I’m used to seeing bald eagles in Alaska, sometimes on travels in our western mountain ranges, and in far northern Wisconsin where my sister has a summer place on a lake.

Oh, for a better lens...

Perhaps these two are taking a weekend away from home, hitting the city life for a taste of lake trout, coho or perch instead of rainbow trout, or grayling or Alaskan salmon varieties.

Maybe they will soon be heading back to wherever they came from. If they don’t, I’ll need to be even more vigilant when Oreo goes outside.

But I’ll still always remember Saturday’s sighting of the eagles. Wouldn’t you?

Not my photo, but this was what I spotted from my balcony

Explore posts in the same categories: Wild life

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “When Eagles Come Visiting”


  1. Sighting an eagle in the wild is so very cool and definitely worth remembering.

    We have eagles that nest up north where our lake cabin is. My parents live next door to the cabin us kids have (courtesy of my parents!) and they see the eagles fishing in the summers. We’ve seen them numerous times, too, and would love a telephoto camera for those instances. They’re just so majestic!

    Like you, my parents have to watch out for their miniature weiner dogs. Keep little Oreo safe! 🙂

  2. Donna Marie Rogers Says:

    Simply beautiful, Casey! We’ve spotted an eagle one or twice, but I never have a camera handy.

    Friday night, after picking Miranda up from a school dance, two deer ran out in front of my car (a mother and her baby, I think). They were so close, and not moving particularly fast, and thankfully I was only driving around 25-30 mph at the time. Miranda & I both squealed with excitement…LOL I know deer are a common enough sight up here in Wisconsin, but having grown up in the south suburbs of Chicago, I don’t think I’d ever seen one out on the road, so I still get that “Look, Bambi!” feeling whenever I do…LOL

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    Gorgeous! We have big crows by us, but no eagles. We do have lots of wild turkeys. But there’s something special about eagles.


  4. What a beautiful creature to see upfront and personal. I’m envious. I get to see squirrels and birds but nothing really different like an eagle. Wow.


  5. Stacey,

    We’ve never seen eagles here before and we’ve lived in this spot 22 years. But they are so inspiring. I remember seeing my first bald eagles in Alaska on my first trip up there. There were a huge number of them on the shoreline of Turnagain Arm. I couldn’t believe the size of them. I am still awed by their majesty.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting.


  6. Donna,

    We very often get deer coming into our yard on the way to the shore to get drinks, I guess. One morning I went out to gather the paper very early and spotted a deer and fawn eating the tops of my potted plants.

    I’ve been fortunate never to hit a deer while driving but know several who have. They can do a great deal of damage to a car. I’m glad both you and the deer are okay after Friday.

    And Miranda at a school dance? She’s too young…or I’m too old…

    Have a great week.


  7. Edie,

    We have crows and I really dislike them. They are so noisy. I’ve also noticed many more cardinals flitting about this year. Maybe even more cardinals than robins.No wild turkeys though. I understand they can be really mean.

    Thanks for stopping by.


  8. Patti,

    We’ve got a family of foxes here also and unfortunately a coyote or two and several raccoons. Plus all the birds, especially at this time of year when the birds are still migrating north.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  9. Teri Says:

    Your photo is wonderful, Casey. I’ve had lots of other stuff but I’ve never had eagles. Too far from the lake for me, I expect. I wonder if they are looking for a nesting place or have one near you.


  10. Teri,

    I think they’ve started a nest in the tall trees in the ravine west and north of us. That’s very close to the lake but pretty much off the beaten track. However, they wouldn’t have a clear sight of the lake from there. But they would have tons of little critters to eat as prey in that ravine.

    I consider that sighting yesterday as a pure gift of nature.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting.


  11. Casey, I think seeing a bird of that size would be so aweful, magical and a true blessing. It might sound strange to some, but in Northern Manhattan there are acres of hills and wooden land protected and watched over by the National Park Service. The birds alone are worth a walk ablong the river and at certain times of day you can see the peregrine falcons fishing in the water. For decades there have been families of them nesting in the steeple of Riverside Church. Our wild life also included the gray owl, two families of swans and visiting geese and ducks as they migrate. Thanks and watch out for little Oreo 🙂


  12. Florence,

    I love your ramblings about NYC! And I will watch out for Oreo. We’ve got owls in the ravine. I can hear them at times. And in the spring and fall many different species of migratory birds. I could sit and watch for such a long time. But writing also beckons…

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my awesome, magical, and blessed half hour in nature.

  13. carol gianforte Says:

    casey, so many of your photos inspire us with nature from your windows. The eagles surely did! Thanks for being our eyes…Loving dogs as well, Oreo looking out brought back wonderful memories of ours! carol


  14. Carol,

    And Oreo’s been even more watchful since Saturday. While I did a few minutes of meditation today about where my writing needs to go with this current work, I was prompted to think of Emily Dickinson and her haunting poetry about nature and life. I’m no poet but my similarity is she was inspired by her view and her yard. She lived a simple life.

    Sometimes simplicity is the best inspiration of all.


  15. Bald Eagles are coming back in my neck of the woods, too. Seeing them always gives me a thrill. They remind me that efforts to reverse the damage we’ve done actually can be effective.


  16. Lorna,

    And these eagles are definitely coming back. I just saw them again. This time flying low right outside the window of my office. Obviously, the fish are calling them.

    I agree with you about our efforts to undo the damage done by earlier generations and we must remember to not do the same ourselves.


Leave a Reply

