Golden Eggs and Easter Memories


Where's the golden egg?

One Easter several years ago when my nieces and nephews were between the ages of 3 – 7 and my youngest son was maybe nearing 10, my siblings and their families would always gather and have an egg/candy hunt for the kids. We are a very large family when we are together, things get boisterous, food gets shared, and memories are created.

Those Easter gatherings prompted my idea for this excerpt from my single title romance Seasons of Wine and Love. My heroine Gabrielle comes from a very small family who didn’t celebrate holidays much. Tony, the hero, comes from a very large family which believes celebrating as a family with traditions created over the years is as vital to living as wine and work. To get more backstory on Tony and Gabrielle check here.

I loved writing this scene. Every time I read it, I love it more. So please enjoy my calorie-free Easter treat for you.

The Golden Egg Scene:

Tony’s family. So many people all rushing toward her.

Even their talk coming here didn’t prepare Gabrielle for such effusive greetings or the large number of family members. People swirled around her. At least six different conversations were going on at one time. But it worked. After about twenty minutes, Tony’s mother Emma commandeered her family for the annual family egg hunt–exactly like Tony described–a general does the troops.

Tony’s father Dom handed her a basket.

“I’ll help you,” Tony whispered in her ear. “You have a big disadvantage, not knowing the hunt rules or the property.”

“From that gleam in your eye, I’ll have to negotiate for that knowledge.” Thoughts of how negotiation could happen flushed her cheeks. She felt that heat and couldn’t blame it on the sunshine.

“You have little faith. I’m honorable and only trying to help. Let’s go!” He grabbed her hand and headed for the far side of the yard. Only Emma, Dom, baby Mandy, and the oldest of the aunts and uncles remained on the porch.

Everywhere Gabrielle looked, Riccinis crawled over the terrain, checking behind fence posts, under clumps of flowers and shrubs, inside empty pots waiting for planting. Moving a distance from the others, Tony drew her behind some oleander bushes, snitched a more than friendly kiss, and pulled out an egg nestled inside the branches of a nearby azalea.

“This one’s yours,” he told her. “It’s pink.”

Then they were off again. Down near the fence rows, Gabrielle found two eggs; she split the find with Tony, and found herself panting with excitement, looking for more eggs.

Near an old well, Tony lifted the bucket on its rope and found two more; he shared the loot. “Now we’re even,” she teased and looked around at the competition.

“Who’s counting?” he retorted and pecked her cheek. He ambled away.

“Hey, wait a minute! I see something.” She began climbing up the nearby pepper tree, heedless of stains to her slacks while Tony stood below and watched.

“I don’t believe what I’m seeing. You ever climbed a tree before?”

“Nope, but you’re too heavy for this tree.” He shouted directions. She’d gain a few inches, then slide down again.

“Nice moves,” he teased. “Dig your toes in more.”

“Shut up! That’s not easy wearing these sandals. Why didn’t you warn me?”

“And miss the show? No way…”

Finally, she reached the fork of the tree trunk and spotted what had caught her attention. She reached up to a dense clump of leafy branches. “Tony, I found something! A golden egg–” Needing her hands to descend the tree, she debated where to put the egg.

“Throw it down here.”

“I…don’t think so. You sound too anxious.” After another moment, as much to catch her breath as to think through the problem, she lifted her sweater and slipped the captured egg inside her bra. Then she picked and slid her way down the tree.

“How I wish I’d had a camera. That’s was some awesome sight, seeing shinny up a tree. I’ll never forget it.”

Once on solid earth, she punched him on the shoulder. “That’s for enjoying the show.” She pulled the egg from her sweater–then lifted her golden reward for his inspection.

“You found the golden egg. Well, that’s it, Gaby. The hunt’s over for us. The kids can find the rest.” He pulled her closer to him. “Do I get this one? Or at least half?” He bent and rubbed her nose with his, Eskimo-style. She planted a quick kiss on his chin. But clutched the egg, not relinquishing her find to him.

“Hey, it’s not every day I climb a tree and find an egg. This one’s all mine. Besides, how do you split an egg?” Her grin split her flushed face.

Tony looked flummoxed. “Okay. Be that way. See if I care.” He paused, quirked an eyebrow. “You ought to climb trees more often, Gaby. Watching that was pure pleasure. Your legs wrapped around that old tree trunk? Sheesh, I envied that tree. So I got my share.”

She warmed once again at his words. “You’re mother would be ashamed at your thoughts.”

He moved closer to her and extended his hand. “Don’t think so. She’d be figuring maybe I might be adding to the family dynasty with thoughts like that.”

“Behave. We’re not even dating.”

“We are now.”

“We’re mature…”

“All the more reason Mom would think we should be getting down to business. Now, about this golden egg.” He pulled her into his arms.

“I’m not sharing, and I suspect this golden egg might be special.”

“Not that special.” At that moment, Jenny arrived near the well.

Still encircled in Tony’s arms, Gabrielle called out, “Hey Jenny! Should I give Tony my golden egg?”

“Not on your life, Gaby. I don’t know what my favorite brother’s been telling you, but the golden egg wins the biggest prize. Once you’ve found that, you quit looking.” Tony took a dramatic fall to the ground, grabbing his chest as if pierced by a dueler’s sword.

“Done in by my own sister….”

Gabrielle stuck her egg in her bra again and picked up the others Tony lay flopping on the ground like a netted fish. She flicked his imaginary prints from her sweater’s arms. “Well, Jenny, since the hunt’s over and the villain’s playing dead. Shall we head back to the house–and the riches? Imagine. Tony was trying to trick me.” She clucked her tongue. So did Jenny. To add the last insult, Gabrielle stepped over him, still prone at her feet and laughing.

She linked her arm with Jenny’s and flung her final shot over her shoulder. “It was a battle well and worthy fought, Tony. But to the victor—that would be me–the spoils.” She giggled and sashayed away from him. “I don’t think I’ve ever had so much fun.”

Seasons of Wine and Love

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Golden Eggs and Easter Memories”


  1. Casey, you just leapfrogged Seasons of Wine and Love up on my To Read list! What a great excerpt. 🙂

    Happy Easter!


  2. Stacey,

    Now, isn’t that a great visual? Me–leapfrogging???? Really??? Be sure to let me know how it reads because this is one of my earlier books, often revised but we writers are never satisfied, right?


  3. That’s such a good scene in what is a really good book. I highly recommend it. And it’s such a great title.

    Happy Spring everyone.

  4. Edie Ramer Says:

    What a great excerpt! And how convenient you have it out for Easter. lol I don’t know why I didn’t buy it before, but I just bought it now. I know I’m going to enjoy it.

    Happy Easter!


  5. Virginia,

    I really love that scene–actually it’s just part of the whole Easter day family gathering that really throws Gabrielle for a loop. All that family! And then she finds the golden egg so everyone is more aware of her. She’s flummoxed for sure.

    Thanks for stopping in.


  6. Edie,

    Thank you for buying Seasons of Wine and Love. For so many reasons, this book is very special to me and I love that scene so much.

    Hope you’re enjoying chocolate and family on this beautiful day. 🙂


  7. Very well done, Casey. I enjoyed the golden egg story and your characters were likable and easily understood.
    Great Sunday morning read.
    Patti


  8. Patti,

    So glad you enjoyed this excerpt. Hope your Sunday brings good things. Thanks for stopping by.


  9. Great excerpt! I really enjoy your writing style.

    You really capture the clashing of family histories and traditions that happens so frequently around holidays. I know the feeling all too well.


  10. Good morning, Lorna,

    I sure hope the divine Miss L had a marvelous weekend!

    Thanks for the comments about the excerpt. Tony’s family is loving but has its tensions, just like real families and all too soon, Gabrielle finds herself caught up in territory that is so unfamiliar to her. Her answer? Treat it like business… 😉

  11. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Great idea! I just love that scene in the book. I thought of it when I got out of my car for church yesterday. There must have been an egg hunt in library park, and the kids missed some. I saw a yellow one near my car. Immediately I thought of the golden egg. I think that’s one of the highlights in your book.


  12. Hi Nancy,

    Well, that one and the hot air balloon scene. I love that one also. And I hope you finding your egg brought you a great day following. 🙂


Leave a Reply

