Early Spring: A Weather Gift


Thank you for the lovely lily in this bouquet.

Spring doesn’t officially arrive until this coming Tuesday. However, here on the western shore of Lake Michigan we’re been blessed with incredible weather. Incredible because March in this region generally offers us weather to test our patience. Giving us brief glimpses of what might soon be spring to the worst of winter weather.

What makes most of us get through March is that maybe, if we’re very lucky, we’ll not get continued winter blasts into April, or even worse, May.

Yes, I said May. Several years ago when I was still teaching, hubby and I planned a trip to Hawaii to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We planned to leave the day after the semester ended, May 11th, I believe it was. You guessed it. The night before we left we got 10 inches of snow!

Even though we worried about getting to the airport which took longer than usual because of the roads and the flight was long, we were very glad to be in that warm, snow-free island paradise. Of course, when we returned home three weeks later, Wisconsin had totally skipped spring and gone immediately into hot summer. 😦

And aren't these cheery?

In other words, Wisconsin doesn’t get real spring very often. We basically get winter, summer and lovely falls.

So I intend to enjoy this lovely weather.

Each early morning when I awake and let the dog outside, I hear songbirds. I’m pretty sure our waxwings have returned as I hear their chirps. I saw the first of blue heron sightings so they’re returning. The squirrels are chasing each other like crazy in love teenagers. I’m seriously considering planting a few frost-resistant pansies.

After all it is Wisconsin…

We have already broken the record for the warmest March here. Our daily highs have been what we usually have in mid June. Nights cool down for great sleeping. Along the lake as we are our nights often come with a generous dollop of fog as the air is warmer than the lake.

Storm coming in last week

I love having my office windows open to hear the waves lapping against the shore and those birdy noises.

Yesterday I saw 2 fishing boats out on the lake. Not the commercial fishing boats or the sports fishing ones but those open, personal fishing, aluminum boats with 2 – 3 people in them. Maybe today I’ll see the first adventurous sailboat.

Yes, I’ll take this lovely gift. Remember it during future Marches when we have more normal weather.

How about you? Are you pleased with this spring or feeling the downside of it? Like no more winter sports or bundling up in layers of clothing? Or being forced to admit it’s time to start a serious diet to lose those five pounds still hanging around since Christmas?

Or worrying about really bad thunderstorms or tornadoes? Or worse getting hit with disastrous spring weather like Michigan did last week?

I’d sure like to her your thoughts.

Explore posts in the same categories: spring, Weather

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Early Spring: A Weather Gift”

  1. virginia mccullough Says:

    Good post Mary Jo–I’m enjoying the gift, but I have to admit, it’s weird. And it’s true, the upper mid-west routinely gets cold weather in April and May. I guess I’m not convinced we’re done with that “mix” we hear about this time of year–snow, sleet, rain, ice…the big killers of best laid plans. Sure is pleasant, though. As usual, love your photos.


  2. This was lovely Mary Jo, although I must admit where this NYC gal retired has summer for eight months and never the real cold blasts of winter. :):) That’s two smiles.

    Love the photos and the view from your office. Enjoy your early warmth.


  3. Hi Casey! We’re getting our final blast (and well-needed) of rain here in the San Francisco Bay Area and I’m definitely ready to be done with this crappy weather. Now that we don’t have to worry about a drought, I want to see the Spring!


  4. Awesome pictures, as always! (I feel like I always say that, but it’s always true.)

    I’ve got windows open today as I promo. I’m happy to say yesterday I finished another book and am letting it ‘settle’ before one last read through to send to my editor.

    I like this weather, but I don’t. I feel guilty for not going out to clear out my veggie garden in preparation for planting in 2 months, but then I remind myself these are BONUS warm days, and not to worry about it. But…if I get it done now, I won’t be resentful of having to do it in 2 months when weeds have grown more and I’m deep into the new book I plan to start in April.

    So I’m doing my best to just do what I want and ignore the guilt and everything else. πŸ™‚

    I will go for a walk later, too. Get myself some vitamin D before next week drops to a little bit closer to normal. Have a great day!


  5. Virginia,

    Thanks for your compliment on the photos. And I agree that we will likely have a wintry blast of slush, sleet, snow and ice at least once more. But at least we know that whatever comes in that wintry mix won’t stay around long–like it could in December or January.

    Have a good week. πŸ™‚


  6. Florence,

    Eight months of summer–at least of the WI variety–would be detestable able. My comfort zone is 68 – 80 with decent humidity, However, when the humidity gets above 70% I hate it.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’m so enjoying your Bookfest for March. πŸ™‚


  7. Patti,

    Yes, I’ve seen the rainy reports for the Bay area. Good thing that you’ve avoided the drought. My brother lives in the general Bay area and has mentioned the drought concerns in every conversation.

    Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚


  8. Stacey,

    I’m so glad you enjoy my photos. I enjoy taking them. I took my pen name Casey to honor the woman who taught me so much about photography. She was such an interesting soul and someday I’ll have to create a book around a character like her.

    I’m sure we won’t get to keep this weather but I’ll be happy with it for as long as it lasts. πŸ™‚

    Congrats on finishing another book. I’m amazed at all the work you’ve put out in the past 18 months.

  9. Brenda Says:

    Bravery took over yesterday when I decided to get one of my gardens ready. I rototilled and I planted 2 different types of radishes – approximately 1 – 1 1/2 months early. I’m starting seed this year. I bought a 4-tier greenhouse. Not very big, but big enough for my flowers and veggies. I even hung the laundry out yesterday. I love doing walk-abouts this time of year. The many different early flowers have bloomed, are blooming, or are about to bloom. This energizes me – even though we had a wimpy winter, I need to see things come back to life.

    Enjoy the great temps – these 2 weeks truly are a gift from God!


  10. Brenda,

    Congrats on getting such a head start. My son used to start his plants from seed and he’d have such an abundant garden I handed over that job to him. Well, we moved to a condo and I have just a few pots to tend and seed won’t do well.

    Having windows open and screens down on the doors yesterday felt grand.

    Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  11. Edie Ramer Says:

    It’s very weird to have the warmer weather. I am enjoying it. But at the same time my allergies are acting up from the mugginess. So I’m still keeping the windows closed. It’s great to walk outside now, though. For me and the dogs.


  12. Edie,

    I remember the few times I was at your home for WisRWA events and you have a great area to walk both yourself and your dog. Speaking on him, how’s he doing these days?

    Thanks for stopping by and my hubby says his allergies are really bothering him also. So, you guessed it. Windows now closed. 😦


  13. I’m trying really hard to take the weather as it comes. Can’t do anything about it anyway, right? If I like it; it changes. If I don’t like it; it changes. So I try not to get invested in it. But I still can’t help myself from watching the forecast and wondering what’s coming up. Habit, I guess!


  14. Lorna,

    I’m like that also. Watch the weather forecast even though I know it’s wrong more than right.

    However, those forecasters have been right all month. Actually incredible. But as with any luck, I’m sure it won’t last. And we will PAY…


Leave a Reply

