Owls and Memories


A owl tenant from the past

This past week I received an email from my sister-in-law. Attached were 2 short videos taken from a camera mounted inside an owl box on their property. I could watch the pair of owls that had arrived and settled in.

I suspect the video camera is a new venture for my brother and his wife. They set up that owl box several years ago, and each year about this time a mating pair arrive.

Then comes the fun of watching the owls live their daily routines alongside my brother and his wife.

Those returning owls have become the topic of many conversations, emails, photos, etc. By mid-summer the owls have done their mating, parenting, and leave for who knows where until about this time the following year.

Now we see four

Of course, after they owls leave, my brother does a major owl box cleaning and sanitizing to make sure it’s ready for their yearly feathered visitors.

Each year my hubby and I get an invitation to come out and watch the owls–if only…

Cleaning up after the visitors leave

But after that email and watching the videos, I couldn’t get California and our past trips out of my mind. So I pulled out some photos of past trips. My eyes kept returning to a few which I’ve scanned to share with you today.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my home and my views, but this week California dreamin’ been on my mind.

Now San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge:

My fist view many years ago.

And a sunny day on the coast

Big Sur coastline and rocks.

–Big Sur area.

  Happy Valentine’s Day!

Clouds never deter my enjoyment of the coastline.

Explore posts in the same categories: Memories

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Owls and Memories”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    We were in San Francisco and loved it. Those owl photos are amazing! Thanks for sharing. And for bringing back good memories.


  2. Casey, what a lovely tale. It must take infinite patience to set up the camera and then monitor the owl’s daily activities, only to turn around, clean up and start again. Images, frozen capsules of times gone by, evoke great passions. With those photos to see, it is no wonder that “California Dreamin'” has been on your mind. Thanks for sharing 🙂


  3. Edie,

    I had great difficulty choosing SF photos as I have many but my eyes kept going back to the one I chose. Maybe it’s because that view was the first I ever had of the Golden Gate and it was such a gorgeous day.

    Thank you for enjoying my memories and stopping by.


  4. Rambling,

    My brother has a great deal of commitment and so does his wife. I’m not sure I’d want to get up on that ladder and clean out the mess. But I would love watching them as evening turns to nightfall and the owls head out to hunt and bring back their little ones’ meals.

    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂


  5. I love these photos, Casey. I live in the San Francisco bay area and we take a lot of this beauty for granted, but I do love it and wouldn’t move for the world. Last year at this time we had a mother hummingbird build a nest on our front porch and it was all we could talk about and when the babies flew the coop, so to speak, I was so sad. I loved watching their growth and the mother’s behavior with them. Indescribable.


  6. Patti,

    I’ve got a ton of photos as they send them regularly when the owls are in residence. Sort of like the queen “in residence.” 🙂

    I love SF. It’s one of my favorite cities.

    And hummingbirds? In the summer I always have them feeding in the potted plants on my balcony. When they are there I can watch them. They are amazing.


  7. Owls are amazing creatures. I learned about them in a fascinating book, Wesley the Owl–a true account of a woman who raised one.

    Great post!


  8. Lorna,

    I believe my brother and his wife put up the box in 2005. They’ve had a nesting pair return every year and some years the couple has two batches of owlets. I understand that hunting for their food to feed the young’uns is really more than a full time job.

    They are fascinating and amazing.

  9. Anne Parent Says:

    I’ve never been to California, but I feel as if I’ve traveled through your book and now your photos. Thank you for sharing! Love the owl story, too!

  10. carol gianforte Says:

    love the way you have combined the fascinating look into owl life (all new to me) with learning about your family and your travels.

  11. Nancy Kaye Says:

    What wonderful pictures! I just love owls. Lucky family to have Bill and Marilyn taking such good care of them. I’ve never been to California so appreciated those pictures also. Kathy and I planned to go there together, but I guess God had other plans.


  12. Anne,

    I’m not as impressed with southern CA–way too hectic,

    But the north and central coast and the mountains? Love it. And according to an email today, the owl pair are very busy!

    Thanks for stopping by.


  13. Carol,

    Owls are fascinating and because of my brother and his wife, I’ve become even more interested in them. In my next book, my group of women friends have a connection with owls and their lore. I have to thank my relatives for that little interesting detail.

    Thanks for stopping by.


  14. Nancy,

    I know you love owls also. Did you notice the bit about the nesting barn owl in the tree near where Gabrielle lived in her “shack?”

    Perhaps some future time, you and I can make a CA trip and dedicate it to Kathy.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

  15. Teri Constant Says:

    The owls are beautiful. I rarely see owls in my neighborhood, but I do hear them at times. Years ago, while we were driving on Highway 1 from Monterey, California to Big Sur and then into the mountains toward Fort Hunter Ligget, we saw a huge owl on the roadway with a five foot wingspan. Very impressive and unforgettable.


  16. Teri,

    I’m amazed at how huge owls get. I saw two of them in the Jackson Hole valley early one morning while the group I was with were on an early morning trek. Our guide said they were grey owls and they just perched on that branch above us and dared us to move against them. Unfortunately, my photo op didn’t work as the light was not good. Darn! 😦

    Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

