A Birthday, A Bottle of Wine, and Snow


Birthday Sunrise

Today, I’ll be guest blogging on Stacey Joy Netzel’s website for her Sunday Share. She asked me to talk about my book Fireweed. She is reading it now and has lots of questions for me to respond to. And as you all know, I love to talk. J And I think you might enjoy reading about how this book came about. Plus I’ll be available to answer questions my answers might inspire. And if that doesn’t entice you, I’ll be giving away a digital version of Fireweed to some lucky commenter who stops by and chats before Wednesday. At least I think that’s the day Stacey set up.

So take a minute and click over to visit me at Stacey’s cyber home today.

This was a busy week. We got our first measurable snowfall of this winter season–really late for Wisconsin. But I can’t complain since my Alaska son and all Alaskans residents are REALLY dealing with snow. When I talked with him on Wednesday night he said they were expecting another minimum 18 inches of the white stuff on top of the already 90 inches on the ground.

Winter patio

Now that’s some snow!

Another reason this was a big week was another birthday for me to chalk up. It was a great one even though it was very low-key. At this point, birthdays to me mean I’ve survived another year and all its experiences and hopefully have grown wise as a result.

Oh, and besides a great meal that my hubby made he also made his famous key lime pie. And we had a very special bottle of wine. It was a spectacular wine: delicious and brought back memories of the perfect day we spent in the Paso Robles area of CA with my brother and his wife doing wine tours. And of course, days and trips such as that one also helped me gather background information for my recent book Seasons of Wine and Love.

Here’s a linkto the boutique winery where we bought this particular bottle of Nadeau Syrah 1997. The vintner even autographed it for us. He also took us into the ageing cellars where he pulled samples of wines not quite ready to move on to the next stage of his life. He gave us a sample of the wine we had for my birthday and when we bought a few bottles because we loved it, he told us to take it home and lay it down for a few years.

What a grand Syrah

Well, I’ll tell you this. He was so right.

So this bottle of wine is significant for many reasons and I’m keeping it forever.

Thanks for stopping by today.

Explore posts in the same categories: Birthdays

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “A Birthday, A Bottle of Wine, and Snow”

  1. Anne Parent Says:

    What a lovely memory to share of your wine and trip.

    I can’t even imagine 90 inches of snow. Wow! And, it’s early in the season yet.

    I’ll talk to you later on Stacey’s website. What fun!


  2. Hi Anne,

    I can’t imagine 90 inches of snow either, but it is Alaska, not here–and I’m so glad about that. The snow shoveling on Friday was enough for me for the rest of the year.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    What a lovely memory – and I’m sure the wine was lovely, too, but it’s the key lime pie that caught my attention. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you had a good birthday. I’m off to Stacey’s now!


  4. Edie,

    Jim’s key lime pie is extraordinary. He’s fussed with the original recipe to really tweak it into one of my very favorite desserts.

    Have a productive week.


  5. Casey, thanks for sharing your lovely day, toped off with key-lime pie and … did you say 90 inches … snow, snow and much more snow πŸ™‚


  6. Snow. Lovely snow. All we have is roller coaster temperatures. and ice. I’ll pop over to the other website now! So excited for you and your publishing accomplishments… πŸ™‚


  7. Ramblings,

    Yes, 90 inches but not here–in Alaska. At 7 inches I had enough to deal with. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by.


  8. Lorna,

    And I’m excited for you and all the blog recognition to have garnered. Not easy to build that.

    Thanks for the like and the visit. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

