An Island No More


Available January 27, 2012, Romantic Suspense

As many of you know, I am a writer. After all, I blog every Sunday, right?

However, that’s not all I do. Squeezed in between everyday chores such as occasional dusting, baking, ever-demanding loads of laundry and ironing, I also write novels. And get them published. πŸ™‚ And for those of you who aren’t writers, that’s much more difficult than depicted in movies and on TV.

While I enjoy Castle on Monday nights, especially for the great characters of his daughter Alexis and his flamboyant mother, his life as a writer is really a fantasy. Trust me on this. Our lives should be so exciting and with enough time left over write, revise, and promote best sellers while never worrying about if you can do all this between loads of laundry and fighting crime in NYC.

But I love what I do as a writer so this week during a lunch with friends when I was asked when my next book would be available. That answer prompted additional questions which I also answered because I love to talk about my writing life as much as I love writing. However, my friends were very surprised at just how much time and effort is involved with writing a book which isn’t related to the actual writing.

The next day I heard from three of them saying they didn’t think they would ever want to work that hard. Which is exactly why they love reading books but not writing them. And thank goodness for that! πŸ™‚ Because if we didn’t have readers, an important element of being a writer wouldn’t happen.

What is that element?

Hearing what readers have to say about our stories. What they liked and additional questions they have. Writers love it when a reader comments on certain characters and why they appealed to that particular reader. Those comments feed a writer’s soul. These comments inspire me anyway to keep at all this hard work. And it is work. But I love it.

That leads me to another exciting moment which happened last week. I heard from my publisher, The Wild Rose Press, that my author copy of my next book, An Island No More, is available. On January 27th, it will be available in their online store, Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Print copies and digital copies will be available.

I love this romantic suspense for many reasons. Maggie, my heroine, is a college professor who’s determined to keep her life the way she wants it to be. But life has a way of interfering with expectations and goals. Maggie has to learn that what she’s worked so hard to achieve may not happen. But other options will, and they might be better.

My hope is this book will appeal to my readers as much as it called to me to write and polish it. It was a book that insisted I get it done, no matter what might be going on in my personal life. No matter how many loads of laundry demanded to be done.

I am a writer; read my book.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “An Island No More”


  1. I’m reading one of your books right now and loving it! (In between being a writer myself *grin*)

    You know what I find funny and surprised me the other day? It’s easier for me to talk to complete strangers about my books than friends and family. I guess because with family, I worry they’ll think I expect them to buy my books if I talk about them too much, but with strangers, if they ask, it feels okay to tell them.

    Just recently at my dental cleaning I think I may have gained a new reader as the hygenist gushed about loving the Nook and asked if I was on there. Turns out her hubby has a book of short stories published and I got his name to check out, too. πŸ™‚


  2. Just checked out the blurb (you should edit that into your post!) at TWRP and the new book sounds great!

  3. Anne Parent Says:

    I can’t wait to read this book. I’ve marked the day on my calendar. I loved Seasons of Wine and Love, but I’ve been looking forward to this story line since the first time you told me about close to a year ago, now.
    Keep writing and I’ll keep reading!


  4. Sending you hugs because I knoiw you’ve had tons on your plate lately. I look forward to reading your newest book with TWRP, and the one you self-pubbed (haven’t had time to read in several weeks *pout*).

    It’s funny, but I’m the opposite of Stacey when it comes to talking about my books. I can talk to my family about my writing because they ask, which opens that avenue of conversation. With strangers, I feel like a used car salesman whenever the opportunity comes up to talk about books…LOL I do try, but even when asked, I feel sort of funny talking about myself. If I have one in my purse, I’ll hand them a magnet or bookmark, though I rarely remember to carry promo items with me. *g* Maybe I’ll get over it one of these days.

    Love you & please let me know if you ever need anything! πŸ™‚


  5. I LOVE, love, love the cover, Casey. And the book sounds so cool. Congratulations on your future writing.


  6. Stacey,

    First of all, thanks for reminding me to link to my blurb. I was in such a hurry to post I forgot. πŸ™‚ Senioritis strikes.

    As you know, I can pretty much talk to anybody about anything especially writing. However, when it comes to specifically promoting ME, then I get nervous and embarrassed. How silly, right?

    My hubby is much better at promoting me; then people ask questions and I’m off and talking up a storm. My dentist’s staff are waiting impatiently for this book and so is my dentist.

    Thanks for sneaking in reading my book while you’re writing.


  7. Anne,

    I love it when you keep telling me how much you enjoyed Seasons. Keeps me going when I sometimes get down about the promoting of my books, not the writing of them. That keeps me going and some days going gets pretty rough. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by.


  8. Donna,

    I was thinking about you and Stacey several times this week and I thought that the differences between the two of you helps you both grow as writers and also to work well together.

    I think I have a portion of both of you as it relates to PR. I know my purse is far too full of other stuff to carry PR materials but I know several authors who always do.

    Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  9. Edie Ramer Says:

    You can put your blurb in next week’s blog. lol It’s crazy what we all do. I spend way too much time online. Sometimes even answering my email seems like work, and I just don’t have time to write – which is what I really want to do! Just write and none of that other stuff.

    It will be nice when we’re bestselling authors and we can have assistants do all of that for us. lol


  10. Patricia,

    The cover is thanks to the wizardry and creativity of the art department at The Wild Rose Press. I’ve rarely seen a cover they’ve done I haven’t loved.

    Thank you for stopping by. And I agree with you–the book is very cool. πŸ™‚


  11. Hey, who would you hire first…an assistant or a maid? That a real tough one for me that I’m not sure I can answer yet. πŸ™‚

    And sneaking in your book…well, the pleasure is all mine! I love revisiting with Caitlin and Mike in Fireweed.


  12. Edie,

    From all your posts on the indie loops you’re doing much better than a lot of us. I’m impressed you can figure out how to get the PR you get. That’s an art!

    And having an assistant would be so very cool. And I’d be a very appreciative and kind boss. πŸ™‚


  13. Stacey,

    Hands down, not even taking time to think about it. I want an assistant but a very competent one who really knows the techie stuff. Oh, and I’d share her/him. Maybe we could hire a co-op assistant to work for a group of us. M is your day, T is mine, W is Edie’s. Now we just need two more writers and the perfect person!


  14. Oh, Donna would go in for sure! πŸ™‚

    And darn you, I just reached the half way part of Fireweed. Major sh–stuff going down and I really need to get about another thousand words written tonight!


  15. Thanks for the interesting blog Casey. I find it almost surreal when readers are talking to me about my characters as if they were real people rather than figments of my imagination. On the one hand, the experience is affirming for me as an author. On the other hand, it feels like these readers are wandering around in the very personal recesses of my mind. I have momentary and involuntary nervousness that they might find something embarrassing – like they’ll notice dust on the coffee table or that I forgot to pull up my zipper. Best wishes, David


  16. David,

    I understand what you say about some readers’ comments, especially when they ask where i come up with ideas or characters and then mention a particularly nasty villain. They follow that almost immediately with “Like do you really know someone like that?”

    I tell them no, just did research but then I wonder if maybe they are really making a decision about my personal life. 😦

    Thank you for your insightful comment.


  17. Stacey,

    Oh, goodie. That pays you back for the sleep I lost reading Lost in Italy. About half way through I kept saying one more scene, one more chapter–and the night slipped away.

    And if Donna were in, that would leave only one more!


  18. πŸ™‚ Guess payback really can be a bitch. LOL Well done!


  19. Hey Casey, glad to hear about your book coming out soon. You are so right … people sometimes think that what we do is sit and ponder the universe all day and the book somehow “becomes.” I look forward to the release of An Island No More πŸ™‚


  20. Ramblings,

    Your recent post topic on resolution, reflections and revolutions gelled with some of my thoughts recently. And gave me different views in some ways to leave me to think more on resolutions.

    But not so much that I lose sight of what I prefer to consider as goals and today was a very productive day for goals.

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving your own unique perspective.:-)


  21. Casey, if I knew about all of this, I forgot. Thanks so much for this post. I’m going to buy your book. A college professor who’s life has other plans for her? Sounds like someone I know up close and personal! If I can pre-order I will. I’m so excited for both of us!


  22. Lorna,

    Had I known of your adventures, Maggie’s life might have been even more interesting. πŸ™‚

    And yes, parts of this book are very loosely based on actual situations with a great deal of creative story telling embellishment.:-)

  23. carol gianforte Says:

    what an accomplishment!


  24. Carol.

    Writer’s write; sometimes we’re fortunate enough to find the right publisher at the right time who wants just the right book which in this case happened to be mine. πŸ™‚

    Have a great week.


  25. […] Casey, of Casey’s Comments, has a book entitled An Island no More (a romantic suspense) which is available now through Amazon and Barnes and Noble (print and electronic). Whoop, whoop, for her hard work! Let’s make it pay off BIG! […]


Leave a Reply

