2012: A Better Year?


London New Year's Eve 2011

New Years Day. If you believe the Mayan calendar, it will be the last one. So enjoy it.

Maybe sleeping in–if you partied too late or too hard last night.

Or perhaps, you got up early to watch the sunrise. Winter sunrises where I live can be spectacular. But that kind of spectacular event didn’t happen today.

New Year’s Day isn’t just about the birth of a new year. It’s the day when babies are born, especially those special ones we read about every year on January 2nd or late news on January 1st. You know, those first babies of the year.

To Nancy

I have a dear friend who was one of those special babies–or a few years ago–who’s celebrating her birthday today. Knowing her she’s probably hoping the Packers win their last regular season game.Β  My birthday wish for her is to have a good year, a healthy year, a relatively stress-free daily life.

That would be the best gift other than my forever friendship that I could give her.

New Year’s Day is also a day when people make resolutions. You know those goals or changes individuals write out. Usually those goals relate to becoming better or more successful, either in their personal, professional, emotional, intellectual, family, or spiritual lives. Some people write out goals for all those spheres.

Many of them are never achieved or even remembered after the first week of January. I have my theories about why this happens. But that’s the topic for another blog.

Anyway, I have a few goals for this year. One of them is to identify and write out what’s on my bucket list. I think I’ve reached that time in life where I should really think about doing this. But I’ll have two of them. One will be a bucket list of things to do if my life changes drastically.

The other one will be what I want to achieve if the parameters of my life conditions remain stable. I hope these become the items I achieve. For the most part I like my life and those who are part of it.

So here’s my point–if I have one today. Resolutions, goals, bucket lists–all of them are helpful to reinforce motivation. They provide the framework from which we can direct our daily, weekly, monthly yearly goals and accomplishments occur.

But the unexpected will happen and significantly change a person’s direction in life. Those who are successful realize this and work with it.

Same Time, Next Year?

My wish for all of you is that this coming year sees you all with the energy and verve to achieve your resolutions or goals–and if you’re faced with major changes, you see the opportunity and challenge and use the circumstances to grow and see the implications for creating unexpected adventures in your lives.

Happy New Year.

Explore posts in the same categories: Goals, Holidays

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “2012: A Better Year?”


  1. I don’t believe the world will end this year, but maybe there will be a transformation so that the world as we know it will end and a new world will begin. Hopefully a world that’s kinder and more peaceful…


  2. I don’t believe the world will end this year either. However, having a change for the better would be about perfect. πŸ™‚

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    The Packers won! I like what Lorna says about a transformation to a kinder and more peaceful year. Ditto!


  4. Hey, Edie,

    Yes, the Pack won and how very neat is that? Love it!!!

    Let’s hope next year on this day, we see a much kinder, peaceful world and the Pack still in charge. πŸ™‚

  5. Anne Parent Says:

    Once again, I thank you for your beautiful thoughts and timely words. I hope your life remains stable and you are gifted with all of the best life has to offer this year and in the coming years.

    I decided I would write out a career plan, instead of resolutions, for 2012. I’m still working on them, but this will be my year to write out a business plan and work it.

    The best to you and your family in 2012.


  6. Anne,

    I like the idea of a business plan since that’s what we are in. However, I offer a titch of caution–remember all your responsibilities and don’t put yourself into a situation where emotional bankruptcy occurs and makes the start up company fail.

    I’ve walked your path and with writing, some baby steps are best with the responsibilities you have.

    Oops, I should delete this and start over. You’re a stronger, younger woman than I and a southern magnolia to boot. πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year to you and yours.

  7. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Thank you for the birthday wish. The Packer game was great! I hope you have a good year and work on your bucket list – no matter which list it is. I know you will do the best you can with whatever comes your way. You are one of the Capricorn ladies.

  8. Elle J Rossi Says:

    I hate resolutions! Too much pressure. But I do like words…determination, perseverance, grit, gusto, flair, rhino skin, kindness, laughter, smiles, eye contact, participate, pride, love, family and passion. These are just a few of my words for 2012.

    Happy New Year! Oh, the world better not end. We’ve still got a lot to do!

  9. carol gianforte Says:

    very wise about our hopes and dreams as well as the hard fact that life can give us challenges, blessings and events that we never expected.

    your posts are a blessing!

    carol gianforte


  10. Nancy,

    And that cake had nary a calorie! But the Packer game was a real winner, especially for you on your day.

    Gotta love those Capricorn ladies. πŸ™‚


  11. Elle,

    I love your words way too much. Of course, they describe both of us, right? πŸ˜‰

    I don’t to resolutions either. They get tossed out. I do weekly goals and daily ones. Work much better because they are in my face–all gritty-eyed and determined. Because we have so much to do! πŸ™‚

    Love your knew cover ideas.


  12. Carol,

    Life is a challenge even when it’s simple. Life is easier to deal with when we accept that fact and roll with the flow of it–but always with a back up plan. πŸ˜‰

    Thank you for the blessing comment. Happy New Year again to you and yours.


Leave a Reply

