Christmas Day 2011


Merry Christmas, everyone.

For years I sang in choirs and loved the music of this season. Below is my favorite song sung by Julie Andrews. It’s not one often heard, but is so meaningful for the bittersweet lovely season we are in. I hope you take time to click and listen. It’s so worth it. 

 

This last one is for my sisters. Who can’t identify Der Bingle with Christmas and in a much lighter tone than Julie’s. My sisters will no doubt sing this once or twice this holiday season but we don’t limit it to the Christmas season. We rarely use the blue feathers either. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Christmas, Favorite Songs

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Christmas Day 2011”


  1. Dear Casey,

    Thanks for this post. It’s meaningful on many levels.

    I am spending my third Christmas alone without Bill. I have a new “bittersweet” ritual as I describe at: http://t.co/kPC9tQ51

    As for “White Christmas”, it was one of Bill’s favourites. I hope at some point I can watch it again. Not there yet.

    Thanks and warm best wishes,
    David


  2. David,

    My heart aches for you. Think of the good years past to help you through the present and moving on. It’s difficult, but I suspect, it’s what Bill is hoping you can do.


  3. I’d never heard either of those songs before. First one was beautiful, second one cute.

    Hugs and love and Merry Christmas to you!


  4. Stacey,

    See what happens when you hand with me? You learn and I learn. Great reciprocal relationship.

    I’m watching the Packers and enjoying remembering the fantastic Christmas dinner my hubby made today. Hope you had a lovely day.


  5. Just finished watching the final Harry Potter with the kids. Of course, I cried. But I also cried at the story the priest told in church this morning, too. 🙂 Good for hubby taking care of you as I’m sure you take care of him.

  6. Casey Says:

    Ohh, I’ve not seen the last two films. Should have watched those today as my son has them.

    Yep, we take care of each other. Glad you had a great day.
    🙂


  7. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas, Casey. 🙂


  8. Donna,

    I did and I hope you did also. Was Santa good to you?

    Miss you tons.

  9. Anne Parent Says:

    Thanks for the memories, of all of Julie Andrews movies and the Bing Crosby – Danny Kaye duet of sisters (a favorite song of a favorite movie, White Christmas).

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!


  10. I like quiet days, even when the day is Christmas. Thanks for this post. Enjoy the season in the way that makes you the most happy!


  11. Anne,

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you also.

    Thanks for checking in and enjoying some of my favorite songs for different reasons. One of the reasons I chose that particular clip of JA was because of the range of photos from different movies she’s made.

    And Sisters clip is so classic and just makes me feel so good and happy whenever I see it. 🙂


  12. Lorna,

    Quiet days are to be treasured and I do.

    I hope you’re enjoying the season in whatever way makes you happy and that you are in the company of those who feed your soul.

    Happy holidays. 🙂


Leave a Reply

