About Glad


Morning sunrise October 20, 2011

Last week the news hit the world that Moammar Gadhafi was dead. News programs were broadcasting the news with a warning that the photos/videos to follow might be upsetting to some viewers. While I suspect many who were oppressed by his tyranny and lost loved ones because of his actions and thus really wanted to see just how gruesome he was in death, I didn’t.

Certainly not because I sympathized with him or his philosophy. I understood the celebration at the news of his death, and I’m very happy one less evil person wreaks havoc in this world.

But I also heard of another death this past week. I doubt this quiet and unexpected death will make global news, nor would the person who died want that. But that death has touched me more deeply. I mourn the loss of one less good and generous person in this world.

She was a colleague of mine for nearly thirty years. She did much for her students both in the classroom and as club advisor and organizer of events. She was out in the community with special involvement in Special Olympics activities and Cancer Relay for Life events each year.

She was a caretaker. And in that role, she touched far more lives than I know about. If trouble was in your life, she was there–with a smile, a meal, a kind joke.

She was a traveler and loved going places and seeing new things. She enjoyed meeting new people and maintained communications with those new acquaintances long after the trip was over.

She was a great cook. Some of her recipes are favorites in my family now–because she shared.

Her baking skills were extraordinary. Her tiramisu and biscotti were the best ever.

Her gardens were lovely. The tables she dressed for her gatherings always had a theme and were lovely.

Was she perfect? She’d be the first to say “no.” And like genuine people, she wasn’t perfect.

Glad and I watched this sunset on a trip to Door County several years ago

She was Glad.

She was my friend.

May the road rise to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
The rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of his hand.

Explore posts in the same categories: Death and grief

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

26 Comments on “About Glad”

  1. Anne Parent Says:

    Mary Jo,
    What a beautiful tribute to your friend. You were fortunate to have had her in your life.

  2. Deanna Says:

    So sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. Very nice words you had to say about her.

  3. Deb Says:

    MJ, I’m so sorry to hear of your loss, and the loss to those who knew her best. Remember that “for every joy that passes, something beautiful remains.” You were blessed to know one another.


  4. Mary Jo, I’m deeply sorry about the loss of your friend. She sounds like someone I would have liked very much. Hugs & much love to you, my dear friend.

  5. Elle J Rossi Says:

    You have loved deeply and lost too many. Your words resonated with me today. We should all strive to be good and surround ourselves with like people. I’m thankful to have met you…one of the good ones. My sincere condolences on your loss.


  6. Beautifully written. So sensitive to the notion of grief and loss for a despot and for a beloved friend. Both were people. You handled this issue masterfully.

  7. virginia mccullough Says:

    Our women friends are so important to us, and we feel such a loss when they pass on. Your tribute to your friend is lovely–and the sunset you captured years ago is exquisite, too. I’m sorry for your loss but am happy that you had her in your life.

    Grateful to have you in my life, dear friend.

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    I’ve been very fortunate to find good friends along the life path I’ve walked. She was one and one who stepped in with some incredible help when we needed it after my son had his terrible accident. Each night when we would return home, exhausted but sort of hungry, she had something wonderful waiting for us.

  9. caseyclifford Says:

    Deanna,

    She was a friend to many. A most interesting woman. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    This unexpected event had made me even more aware how we must treasure each moment we spend with friends. Thanks for stopping by.

  11. caseyclifford Says:

    Donna,

    I appreciate your comment and your hugs. You are special to me and I’m so glad our organization brought a friendship between us. Without WisRWA I likely would never have had the chance to know you.

  12. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Your words are always so meaningful. They make an impact just as you do. Thank you for sharing your thoughtfulness.

  13. caseyclifford Says:

    Lorna,

    I very much appreciate your comments and your taking time to post. I don’t know how you manage to keep up with all postings and finding the perfect graphic example to expand on your words. I’m in awe.

  14. caseyclifford Says:

    Virginia,

    I know you’ve lost a few very close friends in the recent past. I appreciate your post. And I appreciate your friendship even more and am determined to somehow soon find time to trek to see you again.

  15. Mair Says:

    About Glad was the best “Comment” ever. It was honest, truthful, and filled with respect and admiration. A better euology could not have been written. And with this passing, a friendship was resurrected.

  16. Rose Says:

    God bless, Glad and you!

  17. caseyclifford Says:

    Mair,

    Words from another creative soul are always much appreciated. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  18. caseyclifford Says:

    Rose,

    Thanks for reading about Glad and sending on your positiveness. I hope I hear from you again. 🙂

  19. Arlene LoPiccolo Says:

    Lovely notes on Glad. We will all miss her smile along with her cringe when something wasn’t just right! A beautiful lady with the kindest of hearts. I feel blessed that I was introduced to her by Jane and other co-workers at Gateway and honored to be included in the monthly lunch dates. She will be sadly missed and happily remembered.
    Arlene

  20. caseyclifford Says:

    Arlene,

    Last night at her wake, your thoughts and words were repeated over and over again. Jane’s printed poem expressed all our feelings.

  21. Jane Rocque Says:

    Mary Jo, what a wonderful tribute to Glad in your very inspiring language, that you so masterfully write. I am so glad that Arlene sent me your posting. Sorry to say that I have not been keeping up with your website, but I hope to do more of it in the future. You have not had a very pleasant year and I feel for you. You and your family will be kept in my prayers. Love, Jane

  22. caseyclifford Says:

    Jane,

    It was so good to see you and several others on Friday though both Jim and I would have preferred the reason be much different. Thank you for stopping by.

    This site is the one I use most at the moment since I can handle it myself. Hope to see you soon.

  23. Gayle Sabitt Says:

    Thank you for posting this lovely tribute. I look forward to sharing it with other family members.

    Gayle

  24. caseyclifford Says:

    Gayle,

    You and your family and all who mourn Glad remain in my thoughts and prayers. Treasure the memories.

  25. Lucky LaMeer Says:

    I shall never have a truer friend than my DEAR Gladys. It seems that she shared so many of my interests. I feel that a part of me is missing, but I do feel that my life is richer having been her friend. Your tribute to her expresses many of my thoughts and feelings too, Take care and God bless, Lucky

  26. caseyclifford Says:

    Lucky,

    You taught Glad a great deal and she greatly appreciated that you gave her the confidence to pursue her creative and artistic talents.

    Take care.


Leave a Reply

