I Bit the Bullet


And now for the golds

I did something this past week I wasn’t sure I could do.

It frightened me the whole time I was working on the task. I really, really wanted a buddy at my back urging me on. It wasn’t the gut-wrenching fear I had when my husband had his first heart attack and I was called out of class and told to go immediately to the emergency room. That was scary but…I’d never had to deal with heart issues before and he was young. I firmly believed he’d be all right. That the message was given to me incorrectly.

Well, the message wasn’t wrong and our lives went through some significant changes from that day forward.

But the task this week was different. I had internet buddies who sent “you can do it” emails. I’d reviewed the instructions and manuals several times.

But this was NOT my area of expertise. I’d never conquered something like this before. Why, I don’t even know how to swim at my age, though I’ve been told multiple times I could do it.

But I’ve never done anything in the water but sink. Really. Even with floaties. I sink. I think my feet are cement and always seek the bottom.

So I procrastinated on Monday and Tuesday. I actually ironed in avoidance. I caught up on updating my Christmas card list–I’ve put that off for years. I even reorganized a file drawer in my office.

We have peak color now

But Wednesday dawned. A beautiful day. A meaningful day in history. Imagine, if Christopher Columbus had been afraid to keep on sailing, I might be living now in Ireland and have a whole different life. He went forward without a single internet buddy urging him on. I surely think his crew wasn’t happy. They were probably smelly and starving. Guys are never happy if they’ve been devoid for too long of food and drink.

So Columbus sailed until he hit land. And made history.

So what did I do?

Well, it won’t go down in the history books.

It didn’t even involve guns or bullets.

But I did manage to format and upload a new book. It’s now available in digital format on Amazon for the Kindle and Kindle applications. It will soon be available for other digital readers and I’ll let you know when.

One of my favorites

I love this book. I’ve titled it Seasons of Wine and Love. It’s about families, friends, second chances at love. It doesn’t have a scary villain. You can learn more about Gabrielle and Tony on my backstory page. You can check out the beautiful cover on my breaking news page.

Living is full of risks. It’s great to know you’ve got someone at your back. I’m so thankful I had those “buddies” attached by cyber links. I’ve done the deed. Next time won’t be so scary, right?

Especially since I’m using my head and my brain. And not a drop of water was involved.

Explore posts in the same categories: New experiences

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

24 Comments on “I Bit the Bullet”

  1. Anne Parent Says:

    Mary Jo,
    I’m so proud of you! You once again prove what an amazing woman you are. And, if you ever decide to learn to swim, my husband once taught a man, who most likely got in the shower with a life jacket on, to tread water. Good luck with your new book, and I’m going to go and buy it for my new kindle right now.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    You got a Kindle? I thought you were an iPad gal? But thanks indeed for considering buying Seasons. You’ll have to let me know whether you like it or not. Or write a review. πŸ™‚

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    Mary Jo, I’m procrastinating myself, so I understand what you’re talking about. Congratulations on doing it! Yay, you!!!!! One of the best titles ever, and the cover is great, too.

  4. virginia mccullough Says:

    Great photos as usual. And yes, you did it. If anyone out there hasn’t yet read the backstory for the characters in Mary Jo’s new book, don’t delay. I agree, great title–evocative and graceful. Congratulations, my friend. You did it!

  5. Elle J Rossi Says:

    You not only dipped your toes, you jumped all the way in! Way to go!

  6. Deb Says:

    I’m thrilled beyond words that you finally made the leap! It’s not easy but you did it, as I knew you could. Great cover, great story. I’m loving it!


  7. I agree with everyone, great title, beautiful cover! I’m so proud of you & can’t wait to read this! πŸ™‚ Love & hugs!!

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I thank Laura M for pulling out the story details to create the cover I dreamed of. And the title comes from the story. It reflects the essence.

  9. caseyclifford Says:

    Virginia,

    Thanks for checking out Seasons’ backstory and then plugging it. And your early comments certainly helped me to make this story shine.

  10. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Jumped in for sure–with no solid safety net. Love your way with words. You must be a writer! πŸ™‚

  11. caseyclifford Says:

    Donna,

    Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoy it. It’s very different from Black Ribbon! Love and hugs right back at you. πŸ™‚

  12. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    Reading it already? You will be the first then! Thanks bunches.

  13. Anne Parent Says:

    Bought the Kindle to carry with me always. Bought your book. Plan on curling up with it and a cup of coffee as soon as I get home.

  14. caseyclifford Says:

    Have a safe journey. i read your comment about yesterday’s workshop. So glad it was great and sorry I missed it.


  15. Congratulations on your book! What a process that must have been. I wish you all the success this whole wide world has to offer. πŸ™‚

  16. caseyclifford Says:

    Lorna,

    You’re creating quite an episodic saga yourself with your blog. And I thought I led such a chaotic life! :-).

  17. Sandy Says:

    Mary Jo,
    I wish I had your guts. Major congrats.


  18. Mary Jo–yay for you! I was a bit nervous when I self-pubbed my first full-length book, but it’s an excited nervous. Hopefully some of yours was excited nervous, too. So glad you followed in Columbus’ footsteps and hit the button! I hope you go as far as he went, too. Looking forward to reading the book! (Especially if it’s even half as good as Black Ribbon Affair.)

  19. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    As good as Black Ribbon (I think πŸ™‚ )but in a different softer way. Started Lost in Italy today and bought Shadowed Trust.

    That crouching cat reminds me of the full mount of a mountain lion my son had done for his trophy sized one. It was crouching like that on a boulder.

    I’m so envious of your trip to Italy coming up.

  20. caseyclifford Says:

    Hey Sandy!

    So glad you stopped by. Guts? Don’t know about that. Doesn’t it take guts for anything in this writing world? Just asking… πŸ™‚

  21. Mary Hughes Says:

    Congratulations Mary Jo! That “I actually ironed in avoidance” — LOL, that’s me too. But you did it!

  22. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks, Mary. Congrats coming from you really means something–especially the ironing in avoidance connection. Hope to see you at the next conference.

  23. Lyn Cote Says:

    Fantastic, Casey! Lovely cover, great blurb. I wish you much success!
    Lyn Cote

  24. caseyclifford Says:

    Hi Lyn,

    Thanks for the comment. I know how busy your life is. Hope all is well in the northwoods.


Leave a Reply

