A Cape of Vibrant Color


At our Driveway Entrance

As I was driving to church this morning, I was overwhelmed by the vivid autumn colors on the hardwood trees I passed. Almost as if last night, the bright moon which shone overhead sprinkled some magic powder upon them. Once today’s sun shoved night sky away that powder emblazoned leaves with bold golds, deep crimsons, burnished browns.

The sight filled me with joy.

Like blissful moments, autumn doesn’t last very long, especially in Wisconsin. If we’re lucky we might be able to enjoy these colorful leaves for a few weeks. But all too soon, our weather will turn capricious. A high wind and heavy rain will descend–or worse, an early, heavy snow.

Either way, once that wind blows, the leaves will fall quickly and carpet the lawns and grounds around us. Fall and its glorious cape will disappear as quickly as it slipped itself around us.

So as I was thinking about what to write today and how to write it, I wondered what words I could possibly write that would leave you to ponder joy wherever we find it and while it lasts. That maybe that was the message of autumn and its vibrant cape. We must glory in the moment, the beauty, the essence of the bounty of the harvests. The joy it brought to me. And hopefully, you.

Not consider what might be coming but seize the color of the time, lock it into our memories, seal it away in our souls.

From A Walk Along The Harbor

That way we can pull it out from our memories when the elongated times of darkness swirl around us–in weather, in days, in emotions, in our lives.

We can pull out the photos and relive the joyous moments to offset the trials we all must muddle through. Those trials life throws at us.

We can hear the sibilant lap of waves against the shore or the rustle of golden leaves swaying in a breeze. We can smell the fragrance of just mown hay or green lawn. Watch a hesitant dawn. Glimpse a blazing sunset. Remember the sweetness of a baby after a bath.

Look about you today. What fills you with a simple joy? I hope you will share it with me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Autumn, emotions

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “A Cape of Vibrant Color”

  1. Deb Says:

    What filled me with joy today? Reading the powerful message in your blog – cherish today, hold tight to it. Thank you.

    I’m also enjoying the red glory of autumn, and the photo of your harbor walk. Tom is happy too…Steelers are winning 31 to 10, and the game isn’t blocked out like it often is. I have a pot roast simmering in the crock pot, and a fresh breeze drifts through a few open windows. It’s a good day!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    Your joyful moments today make me wish I were there. My friend and I did that harbor walk on a lovely afternoon last week and that photo was of the sculpture we loved the best. However, since then the trees have really found their fall voices and I should go retake the photo.

    Thank you for saying my message was powerful to you. As I was reviewing it I wondered if it would give people a message or not.


  3. My joy was not so simple. It was/is the joy of an almost clean house and clean cupboards as my hubby and I did a fall cleaning. Now I just wish for a bit of magic powder to keep it this way until after Christmas. 🙂

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    I’d be joyful also if my cupboards were clean and my house also. That’s definitely something to treasure and I hope they stay clean for–at least a month???


  5. Oh, a month would be pure bliss. LOL For my birthday this year I said all I want is the house cleaned.


  6. I love this time of year and the pictures and emotions you brought to me with this post. I see nothing but joy, even though many see this as summer’s end. I see the beginning of a new cycle. A beautiful one. Always beautiful.

  7. caseyclifford Says:

    Lorna,

    I don’t always comment on your posts,especially these days when things are so hectic. However, your writing makes me laugh and also remember to similar days in my past. 😉

    Guess our love of fall also is a commonality. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    I know your feelings about the joy of a month! With loved ones in our lives, that’s a far-fetched dream. I’d rather have the loved ones than spotless cupboards and home all the time. 🙂

  9. Anne Parent Says:

    I so love your descriptions and this one has me smelling the crisp air and enjoying the beautiful colors even more. Thank you for the reminder to take time to look around me and appreciate the bounty. Wishing you the very best!

  10. Casey Says:

    Thank you, Anne, for the compliments on my descriptions and I’m glad I’m able to help you enjoy even more this beautiful autumn weather.

    Enjoy Wausau!

  11. carol gianforte Says:

    marvelous.

  12. caseyclifford Says:

    Carol,

    Right. Autumn is WI is fabulous. Hope all is well with you. Thanks for stopping by.

  13. Deb Says:

    Love your new header! Perfect!!!

  14. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks, Deb. I had a few minutes to fool around and thought I needed to make a change for the fall.


Leave a Reply

