Lost In My Story


"You asking me for ideas?"

What do you blog about when you don’t have a clue?

Even my puppy hasn’t been helpful.

It’s certainly not because I’m bored. Worse, it’s not because I don’t have anything to do. In fact I have way too much to do. Maybe that’s the point.

But it’s Sunday and it’s the day I post to my blog. However, I’m fresh out of ideas. Now you might ask why is that? Maybe because I’ve been hard at work on editing my book Fireweed Affair. It’s set primarily in Alaska at this time of year.

I love editing. Β No, really, I do.

It’s the process where I fine tune all the elements that make a book a great read. I have my own process as I’m sure most writers do. But with this edit I’m pretty much deep into my characters and the setting of Fireweed. It’s difficult to pull myself out.

My family’s lucky if I remember to do a load of laundry at this point.

A Cluttered Desk Is Progress

Clutter, clutter, everywhere

My desk is a mess as these photos verify.

My dog Oreo looks longingly at me from the floor when my butt seems permanently attached to my office chair.

One day, I think it was Wednesday, I forgot to wash my face until almost 4:00 in the afternoon! We haven’t run out of toilet paper yet, but I have it on my “Must-do” list for tomorrow. Of course, I may think I’m in a Sam’s Club in Alaska instead of Wisconsin.Β  Oh, wait, where my story is set, there are no stores, not many people, just a lot of mountains, fishing and a mystery to solve.

One of my Alaskan scenes

So while many of you are enjoying the last free days of August or maybe shopping for back to school supplies, you know where I’ll beβ€”in my office, fleshing out my characters and my story in the Alaskan bush.

Explore posts in the same categories: Edits, Writing

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Lost In My Story”


  1. OMG! Oreo is adorable! What a cute dog πŸ™‚

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    She is. And she’s such a very good little girl!

  3. Anne Parent Says:

    I am so envious of you. As one who also enjoys editing, I’m trying to get time to get into my story. Once there, I will be lost, but for now, a few minutes here and there are not getting the job done.


  4. I enjoy each part of the process if it’s going well. πŸ™‚ Hope you get your book finished soon! And your “To Do” list.

    I’m just hoping for time soon to start some fresh writing!

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    Don’t be too envious. The rest of my life is pretty sucky which is why I’m treasuring the office time. πŸ™‚

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    I enjoy all stages also but editing at this stage is like watching my creation blossom. And I’m with you about starting something new. This past year has been about editing at all stages for many different projects. πŸ™‚

  7. virginia mccullough Says:

    All I can say is that you have the neatest clutter I’ve ever seen! I sure love those periods of total absorption.

    Virginia

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Virginia,

    The clutter appears neat to you but that’s only because I really hadn’t worked hard enough yet to generate more. Today will be another office day. I’ll take a photo at day’s end. Just wait. πŸ™‚

  9. Edie Ramer Says:

    That’s my favorite part of the book – going over it and making the book shine.

    Your dog is so cute. And I agree with Virginia about the neatness of your clutter.

  10. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    And I’ll tell you the same thing about my clutter. I cleaned it up sort of for the photo> Well, not exactly, I do that each night when I close down so I rein in my thoughts and think about the next day’s scenes.

    I have to agree, Oreo’s a cutie and has the sweetest personality. She gives us such joy. πŸ™‚

  11. Brenda Says:

    I really miss Alaska and with the summer we’ve had – I REALLY wish I was back there. That’s for taking me away from a very stressful time – at least for a few minutes anyway!

    Take care and logs of hugs,

    Brenda
    PS – I haven’t forgotten to call you, I’ve just have a VERY rough couple of months!

  12. Teri Constant Says:

    For someone with not a clue about what to say,Mary Jo, you have said it very well. Love that Oreo!

    Teri

  13. caseyclifford Says:

    Brenda,

    So sorry your summer has been so stressful. Glad my photo took you away. I’ll be posting more as they keep me surrounded by the Alaskan ambience. Good thing I’ve lots of photos. πŸ™‚

  14. caseyclifford Says:

    Teri,

    Love Oreo, too! And I really didn’t have a clue what I was going to write. I just sat down and wait for inspiration this time. Fortunately, I didn’t have to wait too long!

    Thanks for the compliment!


Leave a Reply

