Whine Time


Hummingbirds like this

Thank goodness! Today is the last day of July.

It’s been a miserable month.  Too hot, humid, stormy, full of worries and woe. I’m sure many of you have had days, weeks, months or maybe even years where you couldn’t wait for that particular time to end.

July has been such a month for me.

If your situation is bad enough, and that’s determined differently by each of us, well then, that’s when time drags slower than a young child’s feet at bedtime. Or traffic snarls plugged up in rush hour traffic.

So my question is this.

Why is it when life, the weather, our relationships, our activities are going well—why is that the only time that the hours fly by faster than a jet breaking the sound barrier?

Yes I’m whining. Not that it will do me much good. But really—consider this point. Many people are very happy February is our shortest month—because that means the tough winter will be over soon.  But why couldn’t the same happen in July? No, instead we get two, 31 days in a row! Months we can be pretty sure, at least in my mind, that storms, heat and humidity will still hang around like unwelcome garden pests that ruin the beauty and abundance of the garden.

Time never flies in the heat. Nothing does.

Oh, I know many people have much more going on in their lives, situations that are more difficult than anything I endure, so I shouldn’t complain. I also know parts of our country and other parts of the world are suffering even more acutely due to weather issues.

But really, sometimes a woman just has to whine. We shouldn’t be bashful about our need.  After all, I suspect others out there, need to whine also. Especially if you’re not one to whine, do it today.  Breaking your longsuffering silence will make you feel so much better. And you’ll see others are shoulder-to-shoulder with you, whining.

Maybe our collective whining will have an effect on the weather.  If we’re lucky.

Balcony beauty

So today, please feel free to post your whine. I’ll really love knowing my whine companions are letting their troubles air out in cyber space. Perhaps our whines will cool the air, chase away the humidity and help our troubles fade away. At least our collective whine might push time to move a bit faster.

What do you think? Got a whine to share?  I promise I’ll respond to your whine. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Life Skills, summer whines, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Whine Time”

  1. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Well, who am I to balk at the title of the post? If you want whine, I’ve got tons of it. But today, I will share only one. Why is it so freakin’ hard (in this economy) to find good employees, hard workers that actually care and are willing to learn? Why oh why? But because of their ineptness, I am forced to work the job of 4 rather than just mine. Woe is me!!!!

    Thanks! I feel much better now.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Glad you feel better! Isn’t whine wonderful? Now go and have a glass of whatever to help you face the coming week.

    And I understand your whine and your frustration. When I was in the work world, I felt the same way. My son says he’s now doing the work of 4. the lean & mean and nasty new work place mentality.

    Sending you a whine award for an excellent example.

  3. Deb Says:

    No whines today, too happily busy writing this weekend. But I’ll listen whenever you need.a listener. The flowers you posted are exquisite. Especially love the balcony beauty! Enjoy them, my friend. Things will get better.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,
    Your call yesterday is one of the reasons I wrote today. Because I whined to you and it felt soooo good!

    Thanks bunches. Both plants are on my balcony but the one you like is a special that commemorates breast cancer survivors. Thus the pink beauty!

  5. Mair Says:

    whine, whine, whine, wine, whine, whine, whine, wine, whine!!!
    First whine–I have to clean the driveway. The chickens have pooped on it. They got out of the pen and as they have done in the past; they casually strut around picking and pecking and pooping. Second whine, why do chickens poop on the driveway? There is plenty of grass–but nooooooo. Third whine, chickens that poop on the driveway get into the garage via the cat door. Guess what–poop in the garage–my studio. Don’t they know that they are distroying my creative endeavors with this clean up? Fourth wine, well this one is self-evident. Fifth whine, chickens that poop in the garage eat the cat food. That drives the cat’s to go out and for lack of having anything there for them to eat, bring in a bird!! More clean up!! Why can’t they eat the bird outside? Sixth whine, dead bird thrown over the fence attracts the TV’s–turkey vultures. This attracts a multitude of TV’s over a silly small bird. Why? Don’t they know that this one bird is bearly enough for a cat let alone a TV? Seventh whine, the TV’s take off and scare the chickens who run in all directions to hide. So chicken poop appears everywhere in the front yard. Ever heard of getting the s—scared out of you? The Eighth, means the second one is being consumed. Ninth whine, why am I surrounded with s—? Mair

  6. Edie Ramer Says:

    I’m in such a happy mood that I don’t want to whine. Plus, today I’m going to try to figure out how to convert Word files into prc and epub. I need all the positive thoughts I can get to do it.

  7. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    All positive thoughts are going your way. Good luck and quick easy changes. 🙂

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Mair,

    Love your post–it made me laugh out loud. If it weren’t so hot, I’d have a whine-wine, too, but I think at least for the moment, I’ll stick to ice water since I’ve got to iron. Now that’s another kind of s***ty task.

    Just reread your full post and laughed louder. Maybe with all your other creative outlets you should establish a whine blog!!!!!


  9. Unfortunately, I can whine quite a bit and you opened the door. But I’ll spare you all and just say I agree with the heat and humidity. That’s why Fall is my favorite season. No snow, no major heat. Crisp cool air just perfect for jeans and a sweatshirt. 🙂


  10. You as such a good question: whether it’s the insufferable weather or in a dentist’s chair, time inches along; but time whizzes by when we’re enjoying ourselves. It comes down to out attention. We pay close attention to time when we’re not enjoying ourselves; time is not on our radar when we’re having fun.

    I dislike heat and humidity, too. The sun saps my energy. I think I’m a vampire, but I can see my reflection in a mirror, so I’m confused–another thing to whine about…

  11. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    Feel free to whine all week. I did on your FB and look at the fast service I got! 🙂

    I love fall also for all the same reasons so remind me of that if I suddenly start whining in October.

  12. caseyclifford Says:

    Lorna,

    Your comment’s as funny as your blog. I love your whines. I also enjoy a good vodka straight. But one’s my limit. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  13. Anne Parent Says:

    I’m so glad July is over, too. It was a long month and I’m looking forward to a new beginning with a new month. I haven’t blogged since June and I’m feeling pretty low about that. Too much going on and not enough time for self. But, now I’m going to put it behind me and get a blog written today to get back on track. Thanks for the opportunity to put it behind me.

  14. Casey Says:

    Anne,

    Good whine. You have many in your same whine boat. Five days into August and it’s not looking so great either. But September beckons.

    As for no time for yourself, go hide in the garden for 5 minutes–or the bathroom. 🙂


Leave a comment