Heartlifting Moments


“So what?”

Sometimes the very sweetest little situations appear in life, and they just make your heart smile.

Each person likely has their own take on what these would be. In fact if people thought about it they might not even know. I’m not sure I could give an answer that would incorporate exactly what would make my heart smile, but in a moment I’ll give you three examples of ones that happened to me in the past week.

In fact, even well after the heart-lifting tidbits occurred to me, I still feel an inner glow when the memory slips again into my consciousness.

Early in the week, my niece called unexpectedly and asked if we didn’t have plans, would my hubby and I like to join her and her little daughter for dinner that night. Her husband was out of town and the timing worked right for us. We agreed to a time and place.

Having a very pleasant dinner and conversation with my niece as great niece was exactly what both my husband and I needed. My niece is a busy young mother who works as a nurse part time, is expecting her second child and busy chasing after a very inquisitive and energetic 18-month old daughter. Every time I see my great-niece I’m amazed at how quickly she changing. She’s learned so many new words and uses them quite accurately and clearly. Her manners are clearly in place and age appropriate. Her appetite is adventurous as she ate her food but was more than willing to try and enjoy other items we offered. While she’s very much a little girl she’s clearly developing a distinct personality who’s not afraid of new situations.

Can you tell she delighted me? Us? I can’t wait for another such opportunity to arrive.

My second heart-lifting episode happened yesterday and again involved the next generations. I got a phone call while I was drying off from a shower. It was my great nephew, age five, and the cutest little red-headed, dimpled darling in my life.  He said so clearly in his high-pitched excited voice, “Aunt Mary Jo, we’re outside on the lake in our sailboat. We have yellow and black sails. Wave at us.”

Calling to shore

Oh, the joy of cell phones…

Then my nephew took the phone and explained they’d likely be out front within a few minutes with the great wind they had. Could we come out at wave? 

You betcha!

My hubby and I did and their sail was quite spectacular against the blue sky and water as we watched and waved while it passed. (yeah, I got dressed first) I carried a little smile in my heart for the rest of the day that my nephew and his son thought enough to call and let us share for a moment their joy in being out on the lake.

And the third event which makes my heart zing every time I see it in its finished state involves my hubby and the perfect shelves he made for me in the garage. Now I’ve wanted shelves in that area for some time but finally got rid of the last of the firewood which had taken that space. Dear hubby, scraped, painted, revarnished the window and put up the shelves for me. The project took about three days and I helped in small ways. He enjoyed the project, and I swear, every time I see those shelves or put something on them, my heart skips a little beat—in a good way. Then I smile.

My moral I guess is we have to be open to these tiny gifts of charm and love. They make our ordinary lives precious and keep a smile in our hearts which otherwise might become overburdened when life beats down on us as it can do.

So, did you have any little heart-lifting tidbits that helped you get through your week?

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Nieces

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Heartlifting Moments”


  1. I DID have a heartlifting moment that helped me through my week–seeing you at the GGBA meeting on Wednesday. I knew you were coming, but had forgotten and I was for no particular reason feeling very down and blue that morning.

    My day brightened when I saw you, then you gave me a hug, and then the rest of the GGBA members made my day even better. Cassy’s program was great and lots of fun, so that was a bonus! I left the meeting feeling like a different person and it was all thanks to you and my wonderful WisRWA friends!

  2. Deb Maher Says:

    Stacey, MJ has a way of doing that, doesn’t she? Her words have often helped me through the day. : )

    This morning my sister and I had a brief chat. Nothing critical, just this and that. Lovely way to start the morning. I have a friend at work who brightens things. It is what friends do. btw, her g-grandfather was a rodeo clown and she seems to have inherited some of his upbeat ways.

    LOVE this post…and the stories. Thanks for putting a smile on my face.

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    Well, I really debated about putting in the meeting and seeing you, Donna, and Virginia, but I wanted to keep my examples to things that were totally unplanned and therefore special. However, that planned trip to GGBA has made my month and this past month has really been difficult on so many levels.

    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    My sisters are both gone for the summer and that’s really difficult knowing they are not so much at easy reach since cell phone coverage at their lake in the deep north woods isn’t likely. So I really understand how your uneventful conversation with your sister is so special.

    And thanks for the compliment. Once again when I posted this I wasn’t sure others would get my point, but that’s no longer my concern.

    Have a great week full of little heartlifting episodes. 🙂

  5. Nancy Kaye Says:

    You are so right. We need to enjoy the little moments in life and be grateful for them. The picture of your great-niece is precious. My shining moment was seeing Sandy’s face when we stepped into her new condo. How wonderful for her and us!

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Nancy,

    And that moment with Sandy is worth it’s own blog post–probably next week. Just needed more time to mull over how best to present that event. And what it means for her and all those who love her.

  7. Edie Ramer Says:

    My sister and bil have been visiting me, and yesterday I had a family get-together at my house. We had a whole bunch of heart-lifting moments. Probably the best are from my own grandson who’s the coolest and best kid ever. (No prejudice there. lol)

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    Of course, our own grandkids are the best and the cutest and the brightest! They resemble us! Have a great week. 🙂


Leave a Reply

