Unexpected Happenings


Baby and Me--yesterday

Last week I talked about Easter; past ones my family and I shared, and differences to the one we were celebrating that day. However, our family had a wonderful surprise that day because my nephew, who is also my godchild, and his wife had their first child Easter morning. Baby Kai was born 3 weeks early and is a tiny little one at 5 pounds—but he’s perfect even to the dimple in his chin. He even has a delightful thatch of dark auburn hair that reminded me of my mother.

Now the interesting part of this arrival is that Kai will celebrate his birthday every year and being the family we are, we will gather together to commemorate that fact. However, the last time April 24 fell on an Easter Sunday was in 1859. Yes, you read that correctly. The next time April 24th will fall on Easter will be in 2095.

Kai will be 84 years old then.

Many of his family who will celebrate his next birthday will not be celebrating his birthday with him in 2095. Many others who are not with us yet will likely be celebrating the day with him.

And don’t you wonder what he will see happening in his world in those 84 years?

I do.  I hope the phenomenon of rainbows will still be present. I saw a fantastic one this past week and I know they appear with certain elements in our atmosphere. But what if we don’t treasure that atmosphere and we lose the blue skies, the bright sun, the healthy air we generally breathe? It could happen.

The world which Kai entered last Sunday is not a peaceful one. Will he sees continuing wars and political unrest world wide? I would hope not and thus I will continue to be as responsible a citizen as possible to avoid that. I’ve was born into a world at war and my father was gone fighting that war for much of my first three years of life. He came home expected that the war he fought and seen end was the last of wars.

Unfortunately, his expectation hasn’t truly emerged.

Of course, my wish is my generation leaves this earth better than it was when I was born. Many things we enjoy and take for granted today were not in most homes when I was born. The home entertainment center was a radio and a phonograph player which played one record at a time. You got your news from daily papers or the radio newscasts—much different from today’s breaking news stations, online news sites, and bloggers. We had books and did a lot of reading…but think of the new options for readers these days, audio books, e-books, digital books that can be read on cell phones.

Gas was rationed when I was born because of the war. When I started driving, gas was 19 cents a gallon. The day Kai was born I paid $4.09 a gallon. Perhaps by 2095 cars or whatever type of transportation conveyance is used then will no longer require gas and our environment will be better for it. Might little Kai be play a part in that happening?

Tuesday's rainbow

As I held little Kai yesterday, I thought all these thoughts and more. I wished for him a life where peace rules our world, where longer, healthier lives are the norm, where the air we breathe is clear and clean, where good jobs are available for all, where our country has a healthy economy and a decent standard of living for all, where people get along with others.

Most of all I wished that he would always be loved and know it. That he would love others and show it, that he would have a long and healthy life and remember always the family he’s a part of and carry on the traditions of family togetherness and stories which I learned and have passed on.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family events, Light bulb moments, Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Unexpected Happenings”

  1. Deb Says:

    What a wonderful blessing for dear little Kai. Difficult to contemplate the world he will see in his life. In some ways, there’s much to fear, and yet there is much to be hopeful for.

    As always, I love your pictures and your post. My love goes out to this newborn, who is just a few days older than our dear little William, born in Wyoming on April 28th.

  2. Elle J Rossi Says:

    How wonderful! Welcome, Baby Kai!

    I wish for him years of wonder, hope and strength!

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    Another beautiful post. My husband was complaining the other week because we didn’t have transportation like the Jetsons. lol Wouldn’t it be nice if Kai had that?


  4. Wow, I can’t even imagine what life will be like in the year 2095. But I sure hope Kai lives long enough to see it. 🙂 Congratulations on your new family member!

    Edie, how great would that be? LOL

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    Yes, the world in 2095. I hope there’s no more war for sure, but looking back on history that’s likely not to happen. I like the idea of cars that fly on some alternate energy source.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Babies are like the first blooms in spring. They lighten our souls and our hearts. I hope this family has a few more coming this way.

  7. caseyclifford Says:

    Donna,

    Since you’re my honorary daughter, Kai gets to be part of you also. I swear I watched him roll from his back to his side, then flip to his back again and roll the other direction. Honest. I couldn’t believe it for such a wee one, and only six days old!

  8. Anne Parent Says:

    What a wonderful blessing on Easter Sunday. Your message was a blessing for all of us to reflect on.

  9. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    Funny how life gifts us when we least expect it. I suspect Kai will gift many of us in future years.


Leave a Reply

