Footprints On The Beach


 

Bootprints in slush

Dreary skies, grey days, snow or worse, an icy wintry mix described our weather for the past few weeks. Sun hasn’t been something we’ve seen very much of this winter. Many of us have wondered if that round yellow orb would ever show its warmth again. Along with those gloomy, dark days, that wintry mix would add to the ice shelf that covered our beach and created otherworldly shapes to our piers. The deep snow and ice covered the grassy areas leading down to our beach.

 Most mornings when I’d let my dog out I’d see prints in the slush from the newspaper delivery person. I’d be glad to see the paper, but not so glad to see the bootprints in the previous night’s deposit of fresh wet white stuff. If I looked toward the lake, I’d never see any prints in the snow or on the ice. The snow was too deep; the ice too hard. 

In warmer weather, our beach always has prints—human, hoofed, webbed, and pawed. 

But late Thursday afternoon, I looked out at the sky and noticed the sun had broken through the clouds. It had returned. Better yet, the snow covering the grass to our beach had mostly disappeared. So had the ice on the shore. Friday morning when I looked out at the beach, I spotted footprints in the sand. Human footprints. Oh, happy day! 

That’s a sign for me. If some hardy neighbor could get down to the beach and walk in the smooth sand, then spring wasn’t too far away. Sure we can have some more snow; after all we do live in Wisconsin. But the beach is clear of ice. The huge snow pile which at one time covered our south windows and was well over 12 feet high has dwindled. Why these past two mornings when I let my dog out, I don’t see footprints. The cement is dry. What a miracle. 🙂 

What’s really the miracle here is how little things that sneak up on us can lift our hearts. Make us hopeful again. Make us think of crocuses and early daffodils. My hubby’s busy checking his fishing rods in preparation for his first fishing outing. The ice is leaving the lakes.  

Last night we lost an hour of sleep with the start of daylight saving time, but right now it’s getting near dinner time, and we don’t have lights on yet. I’ll take that. 🙂 I’m feeling more energized. Maybe not so energized that I’ll start cleaning closets, but I’ll think about doing one section at a time.   

Footprints in the Sand

Ahh, anticipating spring…

I hope you’ve had sunshine in your life this past week. I hope you’ve seen positive footprints in the sand around you. (Click on this last photo to enlarge it and see what I saw Friday morning) 

And if you’re Irish, may you have a great St. Patrick’s day. Come Thursday I’ll be cooking the corned beef, cabbage, carrots, and potatoes. Life is good.

Explore posts in the same categories: spring, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Footprints On The Beach”

  1. Elle J Rossi Says:

    It never fails…Once March rolls around so does my mood. I think I just know that winter is on its way out and even if it snows 20 more times, spring is so very close. I’m looking forward to flowery dresses and open-toed shoes! And baseball in the backyard after grilling out. Those kind of things make me smile.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    I also can’t wait for open-toed shoes and grilling outdoors. Late this afternoon I saw 3 white swans swimming in the lake and heading north. They’re migratory so that’s another good sign. 🙂

  3. Deb Maher Says:

    What a wonderful feeling, to see those footprints. Sort of brings to mind a mystery, though. Who made them? And why? 😉

    For me it’s seeing the geese flying overhead. We must be on a major flight path because each fall and spring we see both small and large flocks for days. Lately they and other birds are again dotting the skies with their V formations. Spring will come!

  4. Casey Says:

    Deb,

    We’ve been seeing more geese and lots of ducks since the ice has left the lake. And this morning when I opened the front door to let Oreo out, I heard some birds, not geese or gulls. 🙂

  5. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Love the footprints in the sand. Isn’t that a song? This morning there was a beautiful cardinal sitting in the tree by our patio. Now if only the robins will return. The opening of Big Star and the return of the robins are spring signs for me.

  6. Edie Ramer Says:

    We walked our dogs today, and my husband said it felt as if spring was on its way. I think so, too.

    The footsteps made me wonder about the person who was walking. It looks as if he went up to the edge of the water and looked out at Lake Michigan.

    There’s a story there!

  7. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I gave the answer to your question about who was walking on my FB post this morning. Just found out.

    Loved your MM posting this morning too!

    We’re supposed to get temps in the 50s this week! 🙂

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Nancy,

    Big Star–I know where that is but have never gotten any burgers there. I know they’re an institution associated with the warmer months. 🙂

    Great that you had a cardinal sighting this morning.

  9. Anne Parent Says:

    This gives me hope of warmer weather ahead, at least for a short period of time.

  10. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    Hang in there. 5 miles inland spring bulbs are peaking through the soil. At least I have that on good authority. 🙂


Leave a Reply

