Goddess of Gunk


With a Cold in Her Head

 

I’ve encountered a tenacious opponent. Wily, nasty, one which shows no mercy. We’ve battled since Christmas Day.

It’s Armageddon in my home.

I think I’ve been victorious, only to have my enemy return, doubly determined to lay me low. Take me down for the count. With its armory of insidious weapons, it overcomes every near victory I achieve.

What is this enemy? A bug, I call it the gunky bug and I don’t mean a computer virus. Not that I want to do battle with that kind of bug either, but I’m really getting exhausted with fighting this congestion, achy, sneezing, hacking gremlin that’s decided to fight my body, rob me of my voice and my sanity.

It’s winning. That makes me mad, but I don’t have much energy left to beat it up.

I’ve become a connoisseur of snot, expert on sore throats, shaman of home remedies and over-the-counter meds. I’d gladly give up the titles. I want my life back.

I want to once again have a busy day and not be drained of energy for the following two days following, plus two. For example, early this week I celebrated a birthday. I was feeling pretty good so I did a load of laundry, a couple hours of ironing, a few household chores, and enjoyed several phone conversations from friends and relatives calling with good wishes. The next two days I suffered, couldn’t talk at all, coughed more, felt chilled to the bone—well, you get the idea.

On Friday, I felt good enough to run an errand. I was gone maybe an hour and a half. I got home, exhausted and so chilled I couldn’t get warm. By late afternoon, my voice was gone, my throat sore, and I was coughing all the time. Ditto yesterday, and not much improved today.

From my window...

I’m doomed. If my life were fiction and I my heroine, this bug would be long gone. You can’t have boring repetition, day after day, chapter after chapter. If wishes were cars, I’d have a new one. Or my revisions finished and perfect.

So that’s it for the week, folks. I’m taking off my Wise Woman mantle and donning my Goddess of Gunk tiara. I’m thankful the weather’s snowy and cold so I keep this gunky bug with me and don’t spread it around. You should thank me also.

Have a great week. See you next Sunday.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Character traits, Health, Uncategorized

12 Comments on “Goddess of Gunk”

  1. Deb Says:

    It’s a bad winter for it. The chilled to the bone feeling is in everyone, I think. I had that part last week, as have many at work.

    I’m sure you’ve tried every home remedy there is but in case there’s one you forgot: OJ, oranges, zinc tablets (Cold-Eze..this always helps me), vitamin C, echinacea, hot chicken soup, hot tea with lemon, or sipping hot liquids of any kind, stay warm, dry, and sleep as much as your body allows. Also, as soon as you feel the tiniest bit better, change your toothbrush and wash pillow cases and sheets in scalding water to remove the germs.

    Take the time to enjoy old movies, and feel better soon, my friend!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    I had just about everything covered but the zinc. Thanks for offering your medicine cabinet. Interesting thing about this bug, and a good one, is neither Jim nor Steven have succumbed. It’s mine alone… 🙂

  3. Deb Says:

    So glad they are healthy! Any possibility there’s some sort of allergy thing going on?

  4. Anne Parent Says:

    I’m sending you positive healthy vibes. Hope you feel better soon.

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    No allergies, just gunk. I want my Wise Woman back! 😦

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,
    Thanks, I better get better soon. We need to have a cup of coffee before long.

  7. Elle J Rossi Says:

    I do thank you! Absolutely. A cold tried to contaminate my body, but somehow I fought off the worst of it. Here’s to hoping you’re 100% very soon.

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Glad you appreciate my sacrifice! 🙂 And fought of the Gunk Bug. Made me miss the Milwaukee chapter meeting because I didn’t want to possible infect all my writer friends. Have a great writing week. 🙂

  9. Edie Ramer Says:

    Casey, I’m sorry I missed you on Saturday because of the gunk. Hate the gunk.

    We had something awful for about 6 weeks. I’m so glad it’s over. I hope yours will be over soon and you’ll win the gunk battle.

  10. Brenda Says:

    Huge HUGS to you and praying for Godspeed in your recovery. I hear it’s a really nasty bug – hard to get rid of.

    You take care, get lots of rest, drink lots of fluids and maybe a hot toddy or two might help with the congestion:)

    I just wanted to let you know that I am thinking of you are really hope that you feel much better very, very soon!

    Take care and lots of hugs,

    Brenda

  11. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,
    Six weeks? That’s means I’ve got two more weeks at least. January will have disappeared! I’ll forget how to be a wise woman and know only gunk-related matters.:-(

    Help….

  12. caseyclifford Says:

    Brenda,

    I’ll take all the prayers I can get. And I love hugs, though I’m glad you sent cyber ones to keep you safe.
    Have a great week and thanks for stopping by. 🙂


Leave a Reply

