Everyday People:Some Observations


First Snowfall on Snowflakes

I was reading an article in the Entertainment section of our paper this morning about Pixar, the animated movie company which makes the films people love to see—over and over again. You know, movies such as UP, Ratatouille, Wall-E, and the Toy Story trilogy.

It seems the head of Pixar is very unhappy that Toy Story 3 which has garnered incredibly great reviews from everybody, gets the audiences of all ages emotionally involved, has great voice over work from major stars, made more money than other films this year, but will not be a likely contender for the top movie award, the Oscars.

So the man intends to start a serious money campaign to change how the voters view contenders.  The point the writer made was the man should save his money and keep making the films people love to see, over and over again, and remember.

I have to say I agree with him. Not only in relation to movies, but also books, television, and people.

Think about this. Maybe I’m a low-brow, but several recent Oscar winning movies were ones I really thought were a waste of my money, and sometimes worse, my time. Many of the books Oprah chose for her book club reads, I couldn’t finish—or didn’t want to, so now I don’t bother.  Of course, the two announced today I’ve already read—twice, and I didn’t need some “expert” to tell me to read them. If you didn’t hear, Oprah (and I do respect her) chose A Tale of Two Cities and Great Expectations for her next reads. However, I expect Dickens didn’t have the money to a ready audience for his work.

And for people? Most of the most meaningful people in my life haven’t won awards or garnered any kind of publicity. They’re people who get up every morning and go about doing whatever their lives demand. They do it well and without expectation of great glory. They are everyday heroines and heroes. They don’t waste time or money trying to get others to determine their value.

I am blessed for having them and learning from them. My hope is I’m doing the same with my life and once my days have come and gone, I will be remembered by those I’ve encountered as one who always did her job as best she could.

As I think about this idea in relation to my writing, I realized that I write from my heart and about people I believe in, even if they are fictional characters. I want them to have the strength to deal with whatever crisis I create for them—and do it with no expectation of awards or accolades. Just their own happy ending.

Everyday Beauty of a Snowfall

So I hope that the Pixar guy rethinks spending tons of money on what could be a losing battle. I hope instead we soon see another uplifting movie, one in which we laugh, cry, heave a few sighs of relief and remember forever. Then Pixar continues to win and make money.

I hope everyday people continue to spark my interest as a writer so I write their stories well.

And finally, I hope I always remember to honor the everyday people who populate my life. They are my jewels beyond price.

What are your everyday thoughts?

Explore posts in the same categories: Character traits, Writing

8 Comments on “Everyday People:Some Observations”

  1. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Great post! More often than not, I haven’t seen a one of the Oscar contenders. It’s just not that important to me. Everyday people are the ones who actually speak to each other in an elevator or scoot over so someone can share a seat. It’s a smile and a good morning that make the difference to me!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    You are so right, Elle. I’m so happy you’re an everyday people kind of person, too. 🙂

  3. Deb Maher Says:

    Many years ago I took a course called “Forgotten Literary Favorites.” As implied, we explored works that had been “bestsellers” in their time, beloved by all, but no one had heard of in present day. I remember one in particular…Elsie Dinsmore, a sappy tale about a poor orphan. The highly popular series appealed strongly in the 1890’s, but now is all but forgotten.

    Fame is fleeting and one never knows what will appeal to future generations. Simply create the best book or film you can. Tell the story only you can tell.

    I very much agree with your suggestion to the Pixar man, MJ. I also hope we’ll continue to see more wonderful movies from their company. Love their films! (And I love your snow pictures!)

  4. Edie Ramer Says:

    I agree with you on every count. I don’t know if I’ve read the two Dickens’ novels, though. I might pick them up from the library. Not now, though. My TBR pile is growing taller than I am. lol

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    Thanks for the kudos on the snow pictures. It snow was a lovely one and not a terribly treacherous one.

    Some of those Victorian potboilers were really something. I took a course similar to yours but it also included some very early fiction like the 1650s. 😦

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Oh, Edie, that’s a dangerous TBR pile! You’re not the tallest kid on our “block” but you do pack a lot of punch and I’d hate to see that spunk obliterated by books! 🙂

  7. Morganne Says:

    Wonderful post. Everyday people, events and even to some extent books are the one’s that add the most to my life and that ultimately I remember and hold dear to my heart. I read A Tale of Two Cities early in life and yet what I remember most is the first line and a generalized feeling of sadness tinged with hope. I can’t tell you names of characters or the nuances of plot, but I do remember the emotion.

    When it comes to creative works I believe the highest compliment is “give me more”. So I’m right there with you, Casey. It’s the everyday, nose to the grindstone, hard-work producing a great product I long for. Mr. Pixar, just make more great movies. I’ll show up. I promise.

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Ah, Morganne. Your thoughts reflect your Scottish soul and martial arts. You are a treasure. 🙂


Leave a Reply

