Thanksgiving Bounty


Thanksgiving Gifts

November has been a busy month and this hectic pace will likely continue into December with the winter holidays. However, the increased pressures of the upcoming major holidays never lessen our daily stresses. Instead we often feel more harassed and pressured for time.

That’s doubly true for me because I’m a writer as well as a woman.  All of you know exactly what I’m referring to since most of us wrestle with the fine art of multi-tasking on a daily basis.

Sometimes we even win.  🙂

This past week as I’ve been struggling with a complete subplot change and all the ensuing consequences for my current manuscript and the characters currently peopling my pages, my phone rang and yet another family issue popped up. Not major in the sense of life or death, but troubling and guaranteed to ignite my gastric juices which have been behaving peacefully lately.

In my wise woman wisdom, I knew what should be done to ease the problem. I also knew from past experience the probability of my wisdom landing in a receptive mind was minimal at best. So instead I listened and stewed, offered a few shreds of advice, and stewed that I couldn’t do more.

A thunderbolt zapped me.

I wished my real life replicated my writing life where I could control events more often than not and generally my characters bowed to my wisdom.  When they didn’t, they provided me reasons to see their point of view.

But life isn’t fiction though sometimes I’m dead certain mine sometimes offers more twists and turns than a best seller.

So I reflected on that concept for a while and realized I’m very fortunate to have turmoil in my life. It strengthens me. If I think about all the elements involved, I will learn more about human nature and what drives a person to think and do whatever it is he or she thinks or does. I will be better able to offer “pearls of wisdom” if the opportunity arises.  I will be a better person for myself and for all who are part of my circles: family, friends, neighbors, and the larger circles of the world I live in.

Thanksgiving Turkey

This is a hectic time of year. The calendar is winding down. It is a time to reflect on all the blessings we enjoy in our lives, even when they can be bothersome at times. Just like my characters in my book.  I give thanks this week for the brain I’ve been blessed with, the talents I’ve been given, the people in my life who’ve made me who I am and what I am. I’m thankful my sister is having our family Thanksgiving celebration which will be a three generation gathering of at least 30 or more. I am thankful I’m responsible for the vegetable dishes everyone expects from me—because “no one can make them better.”

I guess that’s like my fictional world. My characters can get cranky at times and refuse to follow my plan. However, they expect me to provide certain things, too. I’m thankful my muse helps me answer their call and provide the satisfaction ending for their growth journeys, interesting settings, and just the right amount of turmoil and sizzle to keep them satisfied.

My hope for you this week is you get to control that which you must and see the silver lining in that which you can’t so you can grow in wisdom and serenity.

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays, Light bulb moments

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Thanksgiving Bounty”

  1. Anne Parent Says:

    Yes, it is all about gratitude, and I am grateful for the friendship of such a wise woman.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Thank you, Anne. And we must get together sometimes before the snow flies.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    Ditto what Anne said. I am so grateful for all my writing friends.

  4. Edie Ramer Says:

    And Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    And a happy Thanksgiving to you, Edie. We all have so much to be thankful for this year. 🙂

  6. Brenda Says:

    Wishing you and your family a WONDERFUL AND HAPPY

  7. Brenda Says:

    Wishing you and your family and WONDERFUL AND HAPPY Thanksgiving. It’s one of my most favorite holidays!

    Take care and have lots of fun with family and friends.

    Lots of hugs,

    Brenda

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Brenda,
    Thanks for stopping by. And thanks for the best holiday wishes. I hope you have the same.


Leave a Reply

