A Quick Reflection on a Visit


Mother & Son

Last week I mentioned my oldest son was here visiting for the week.  It’s been a busy week and I saw him off to the airport this morning.  His plane has landed safely in Anchorage.  We had a wonderful visit.

So that’s my reason for this short post.

My son has matured into a wonderfully marvelous individual; he’s got all the characteristics of an excellent hero. We talked about family ancestry, had a family gathering of all the nearby cousins and their families, had excellent meals.  He even found time to do a few chores around the house.

For those of you who are busy with young families or dealing with teenagers yearning for more freedom than you think is good, let me remind you to hang tough, be the best parent you are capable of being in the given moment, and know that all the struggles will be worth it.

Nothing beats the joy of an adult child saying to you: “I’m so proud of you, Mom.”

It was the best of weeks.  When I saw him off to Alaska as a young man of twenty, I hated to see him go, but knew he had to take the opportunity he’d been given.  Alaska has been very good to him. I’m so glad I had the courage to let him fly from the nest without making him feel guilty.

See you next week. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Memories, Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “A Quick Reflection on a Visit”

  1. Deb Says:

    What a terrific visit you had, MJ! I’m so glad!! And what a grand picture. Have a good week, my friend.

  2. Elle J Rossi Says:

    This is great! Thanks for sharing. It takes a brave woman to encourage their children in this way. I believe that makes you a heroine!

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    I don’t know about heroine, at least not one of mine. But my son is a perfect blend of alpha and beta malehood. 🙂

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Yes, the visit was fantastic! You have a great week also. I’ve missed conferences with you!

  5. Edie Ramer Says:

    MJ, you’re a great mom! Giving them our blessing is the best thing we can do for them. Besides the pregnancy and birth thing.

    I’m glad you had such a terrific time!

  6. Anne Parent Says:

    What a beautiful story. He has his mother’s eyes. Great reminder of the rewards of motherhood. than you for sharing!

  7. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    You’re right about the pregnancy and birth thing. Without those, I’d never have had last week. 🙂

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    He does have my blue eyes, which I’ve been told was genetically almost an impossibility since his father’s brown eyes (with no blue eyes in the family) should dominate. Thanks for stopping by. How is NANO coming?

  9. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Great picture – great son and mother! So happy you had a good week. You deserve it.

  10. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks, Nancy. In the son department, I’d say we did our jobs well. 🙂


Leave a Reply

