Double Rainbows & No Camera


Double Rainbow, Double Awe

My oldest son who lives in Alaska arrived last night.  His flight was on time (a miracle these days) and it’s so very good to have him home for a week and close once more.  Having him here is certainly different and much better than phone calls and emails which happen the other 52 weeks a year. 🙂

What this means is I’m taking a break this weekend since he’s here and I’m enjoying him.  We will all be cooking dinner together tonight and he wasn’t in the house 5 minutes last night and already noticed a few tasks that need doing and intends to “get them done before I leave.”  Gotta love that man.

Anyway, you might be wondering about the title of this post.

Thursday afternoon, I drove into town to deliver a few things to my younger son.  It was drizzling while I drove in, then stopped when I trucked things into the house (younger son hasn’t been healthy lately), and really started to pour on my way home.  About a mile from my house, I spotted a rainbow forming as the sun was breaking through the clouds in the west while the dark storm clouds hung on in the east.  The colors became more and more intense and radiated outward, leaving the trees, fields and farmhouses in the most incredibly magical luminous light.  Then a second rainbow formed above the first.  I pulled off the road and watched the most fantastic rainbowed hued late afternoon light dance just beyond my car.  I felt blessed to see this spectacle.

And wouldn’t you know it?  I know exactly which cornfield the pot of gold resides–because that first rainbow planted its southern most end not 15 feet from my car! 🙂

Of course, I didn’t have my camera with me though I’ve been carrying it all fall hoping to catch those special photographs.  Darn, because the car’s driver just ahead of me had a camera and was snapping away. 😦

But I have my memories of this sight and I expect someday I will write a scene about it.  But if only I’d had my camera…

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Double Rainbows & No Camera”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    Maybe while your son is here, you and he can go hiking for that pot of gold.

    I hope your youngest is better son. Enjoy your week!


  2. Casey, you should’ve run out and given the car ahead of you a card and asked them to email you a copy of the picture! 🙂 I’ve done that before with strangers (though not on the side of the road) and they’ve always been happy to send the pictures.

    So glad your son arrived safely and hope you have a wonderful week with him!

  3. Anne Parent Says:

    How truly blessed you have been this week. Thanks for reminding me of the simple beauties in life. Tomorrow morning when I awake, I’m going to make it a point to observe life with a positive outlook and take pleasure in the little things.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    Good idea about the hiking, though slogging in a muddy field may not be much fun or productive. 🙂

    I believe I found something better than a pot of gold. A new nurse to help us out. Keep your fingers crossed. 🙂

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    I should have done that but I didn’t even have my cards with me. 😦 I know I’ve sent jpgs or hard copy photos to people who’ve asked in such situations.

    It is so marvelous for one week a year to have all my living children around me. I cook, bake, talk, go through photos and take photos to add to the memories. I’ve already chosen a few from just the past few days to hold close in my heart.

    He was so happy to hear about my fantastic circle of friends in Green Bay and was quick to tell me of the solid core of reader fans I have in Alaska. Thanks to him, of course.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    When my youngest son had his accident and my second son died much too early in his life, I learned that secret of enjoying the simple beautiful moments in our lives. They are the moments and the memories that make the tough times easier to handle and our world view doesn’t dim with sorrow.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Kathy Goldenstein Says:

    I remember Mom always made chocolate chip date cake whenever we came down to Kenosha just for your son now in Alaska. Greet him for me next time you talk – I think of him whenever Alaska is in the news.

    His comment about getting some jobs done reminds me of Daddy – he never visited your Mom without doing a few jobs for her around the house.

    Such good memories.

    Kathy

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Kathy, I’m making that cake for Steve tomorrow since that will be his last day here. I take him back to O’Hare on Sunday. We’ve had a great visit and were talking about your family last night. Thanks so much for commenting and checking in on my blog. I love to think that some of my family does that. Hugs to all.


Leave a Reply

