September Leaves, Moons & Life


Autumn Equinox Harvest Moon

Autumn arrived this week and with it a real harvest moon.  I’m sure you heard about this rather unusual event as the moon was full on the evening of the fall equinox.  When the actual time arrived 10:09 PM CDT, I took the photo off my balcony.  Because wonder of wonders, we had a beautifully clear, crisp night.  The planet Venus was below and a bit to the left of the moon and this planet was the closest to earth it’s been in quite a while. 

The next morning very early as I looked out my window before I started reading the paper I notice a brilliant orange in one section of a tree.  I swear that patch of fall color was not as brilliant and bold the day before.  Of course, I needed to take a photo of that. 

Now, these are the little events that inspire me as a writer.  I’m not sure how or when or in what future story I write I will use these situations, but I know I will.  It’s very often these tiny morsels that offer the hint of a story to come.  Sort of like a granule of sand inside an oyster which ultimately becomes a pearl. 

I have to say that seeing a brilliant moon or the first incredible blaze of fall, the first hint of green hue on branches after a long winter or the warmth of the first summer day keep me going when a day isn’t easy.  And how doesn’t have those days in their lives?  But in those times when our personal worlds are dreary and filled with troubles, seeing something beautiful can lift our spirits—or do the same for a character in a future book. 

Think about a movie or a book or a painting that impacted you, moved you to feel a stirring in your soul and lived with your long after.  Right now I can think of several scenes from movies, Out of Africa, would be one.  The scene when Robert Redford takes Meryl Streep flying over the beautiful landscapes of Kenya.  Or in a book, I remember the setting of the outback ranch in The Thornbirds.

You can see I’ve been in a thoughtful mood this week even though it’s been a very busy one.  I’ve been busy with revisions which are going well as well as getting prepared to do my first program about my journey as a writer at our public library this coming Monday.  I suspect you’ll hear about how that went in next week’s blog. 

One of the items on my to-do list to prepare for it was to find a few items which I was told I’d need to go to a craft store to obtain.  Now, next to fabric stores, crafts stores intimidate me that I can barely be in them for more than 10 minutes.  I’m not a crafty person or one comfortable with a needle and thread and being surrounded by aisles and aisles of items related to both can get me hyperventilating faster than bunnies procreate.  

Of course I couldn’t find what I wanted in the store.  I even asked a clerk who looked knowledgeable where I might find such items and he pointed me in the right direction, sort of.  But as my breathing was getting more shallow and I was feeling more incompetent by the nanosecond, I pulled out my trusty cell phone, and you guessed it, phoned a friend.  

First Day of Autumn

Fortunately, my crafty friend remained calm, was familiar with the store and like a traffic controller guiding in a 757, took me where I needed to go.  Eight minutes later I was out of the store and promised myself it would be several more years or another lifetime before I ventured into such a store again. 

Now don’t you think this experience could serve as inspiration just as much as that moon and leaf patch?  Oh right, not for me.  I don’t do humor…

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Seasons, Writing

6 Comments on “September Leaves, Moons & Life”

  1. Deb Maher Says:

    I love the harvest moon and a clear starlit sky. Such wonder.

    Love movies, too. LAST OF THE MOHICANS and GETTYSBURG come to mind. Sensational soundtracks, too. Inspiring to listen to while writing.

    I am curious about the craft store thing, and (dare I say?) your phobia. Glad your friend came to your rescue!

  2. Edie Ramer Says:

    My husband and I were walking, and we saw a tree that looked like a painting, it was so beautiful in its fall colors. Because of all the rain we’ve gotten, the colors are going to be more vibrant than usual this year.

  3. Mary Jo Says:

    Deb,

    The “phobia” started in junior high and those home ec courses we were required to take. Combine a student with no talent but determination and a witchy old teacher and a phobia was born. 🙂 Yeah, long story. The friend suffered through those classes also but she was talented and rose above the witch. 🙂

  4. Mary Jo Says:

    Edie,

    You always have the answers! Thanks. I was wondering why the leaves changed so quickly but have had too many tasks piling up that I didn’t get to research on that. Thanks. 🙂

  5. Anne Parent Says:

    I missed the harvest moon, but I’ve reveled in the autumn colors. You so captured the changing of the seasons and the effects they have on many of us. They energize me, especially Fall.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Anne,

    Sorry you missed the moon, but hope it was for something enjoyable. I watched it rise from my office window while I was revising. It invigorated me but then everything about fall does that. 🙂


Leave a Reply

