Wind in my Life


Harness the Wind

Any casual conversations around here last week at some point turned to wind.

Why?  Because we had high sustained winds for several days and then even higher gusts.  Since I live on the lakeshore, our big lake churned with high angry waves, especially once the high winds turned to the northeast.

My little dog, who weighs about 10 pounds would go outside to do her business and the winds would just about lift her off the ground.  Her floppy ears would blow straight out parallel to the ground; so would her tail.  Smart little girl that she is, she quickly learned to scoot down the side of the house between the shrubs to get to the mid-part of the lawn’s slope which protected her from the worst of the winds.  A few times she stepped very daintily off the last step of the front entrance, felt the wind ripple her coat and grab her ears, and then she turned around and scooted back into the house.

We haven’t raised a dumb puppy. 🙂

So I was thinking and worrying about what to write about this week and in conversation with a friend, she said, “The wind—you could do lots with that.”  Thank you, dear friend.

Wind is a force of nature; a blessing at times and a curse.  Wind can be harnessed to create energy.  It can inspire creativity in people with imaginations.  Its force can be destructive such as in tornadoes, hurricanes, typhoons.  Some winds have names, such as the Mistrals in southwestern Europe, the Chinooks in the northwest and Alaska, the Santa Ana’s in California; these are warm winds and can often cause damage.

We use the idea of wind in our conversation.  How often have you described someone as a bag of wind?  And if we hear that stereotype each of us most likely can bring to mind someone we know of who talks a lot but says nothing of value.

Destructive Wind

My mother who grew up in Iowa on a farm had a very healthy respect for wind, and depending on the conditions, that respect turned to fear.  If high winds were predicted or she noticed certain changes in the sky, she herded us all down to the southwest corner of our basement with water, flashlights, and rosaries inn hand.  At least one rosary would be said in hopes no bad storms would occur or we’d suffer damage.  We never did.  But as a child, she’d seen the damage and experienced the aftereffects of tornadoes which destroyed buildings and crops.

So basements and a healthy fear and respect of wind were concepts she taught all of us.  And I passed them down to my children.

Today my oldest son is flying his small Piper Super Cub into the bush in Alaska.  I’ve been checking the weather reports for that area all weekend as those planes are very susceptible to the quirky winds in Alaska.  I’ll breathe better when he lands safely at home and give thanks he respects the winds enough to be as safe as possible while he flies.  So my heart will not rest easy today until he emails that he’s arrived back in Anchorage safely.  Once a mom—always a mom.  🙂

In writing I use wind often to set a certain scene or create additional tension.  In some books I’ve read, the wind becomes another character, sometimes a positive one; sometimes another kind of villain.

Today we have a very slight breeze.  The high winds of earlier this week have traveled elsewhere.  Our lake is almost as smooth as aqua hand-blown glass; only a jet ski or speeding boat creates any waves crashing the shore.  It’s a beautiful scene today.  

But I’ll tell you a secret.  I love the lake best when the winds are high and the waves tempestuous and screaming like Shakespeare’s Kate.

Tell me.  What do you think about wind?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized, Weather, Wind

6 Comments on “Wind in my Life”

  1. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Good job! I’m glad my idea helped you out. I love the comparison to Kate. I also know many bags of wind. They sure were present at our condo meeting and at many faculty meetings I attended. Enjoy the great day. Now we need a Packer win.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Oh, my woman of bright ideas has chimed in. Glad you liked what I did with your comment. Now any chance you have some bright ideas about this new revison?

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    I like a nice breeze but not a stiff wind. My husband and I took sailing lessons about a dozen or more years ago. We’d go after work, and about 2/3 of the time the wind had died before we got there and we were unable to go out on the lade. Sad.

    You painted a great picture of your dog!

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    Nothing is as bad as being on a sailboat when the wind dies. Especially if you need to be ashore by a certain time. I could tell you a story about such an incident in Monterey Bay after an all day sail… 🙂

  5. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Wind is fabulous unless you’re wearing a dress. In that case, always remember to hold it down. Unless, of course, one is an exhibitionist.

    But seriously, a gentle breeze is nice when I’m sitting on the back porch. And I love cozying up on the couch with a good book and a cup of coffee while the wind whips, whistles and screams past my windows.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Marilyn Monroe had an iconic moment with the wind and her dress. The photo that resulted has made some people millions. I think it also put a nail in her marriage at the time. Gentle breezes are delightful to relax. I hopwever, prefer the deep bassed howls of angry waves. It’sthe power. 🙂


Leave a Reply

