Weather & Self Statements


Ducks Always know where go Go

Late on Friday afternoon, fall sidled in and took up residence.  Gusty winds had a brisk character and shoved the oppressive humidity of the past several days somewhere else.  This morning when I snuggled into my heavy robe, I thanked Mother Nature for this welcome relief.

Amazing what a weather change for the better (at least in my view) does.  Why I even saw huge flocks of ducks taking off the lake this morning—heading south.  Might it be possible this delightful weather is here to stay—hopefully until December when it can snow a few times for that White Christmas immortalized in song and movie.

That leads me in a roundabout way to this week’s topic. On Wednesday I traveled to Green Bay for an excellent program at the writers’ meeting there.  The program was on what hypnosis involved and how to use it effectively in writing and in our daily lives.  The speaker was incredibly interesting and as she spoke about her topic and how we could use the concept for speaking to our subconscious mind, so many ideas bubbled inside me.

As an individual I can use her concepts to make my daily life more positive and successful.  In a manner of speaking, I associated part of what she suggested as relating to those negative statements we sometimes give ourselves.  You know the ones:  Today’s going to be just miserable.  I don’t think this will work.  Nothing good ever happens to me. Sometimes these are called self-fulfilling prophecies.  🙂

Well, if you tell yourself those things, it’s likely they will happen…right?

So the presenter’s idea is restate what we want in specific language, practice saying it several times while we’re focusing on nothing else and go about our business.  What can it hurt to try, right?  If I say my life sucks, then why should I work to see that it doesn’t?  Turn the thought around:  Today will be a good day. Another example: I know I won’t do the right thing about … Well, probably I won’t because I’ve already given myself permission not to try.

It’s the same with writing.  I will try to write today–Bad wording.  Change it to:  I’ll write 3 pages today; I would bet I’ll write more. 🙂  (Or maybe it’s why I always feel cooler in the heat and humidity when I see myself sitting on top of a glacier.  Visual image and very specific and I sense coolness.)

You’ve heard the phrase:  “I’m my own worst enemy.”  So tell me how this is creating bad karma…

Relax--and create your goal

The speaker believes we can use her principles of self-hypnosis to set and achieve goals, to creative healthier and happier individual lives, to be better at whatever occupations we follow, even if we are writers, to make some of our characters more interesting or explain their motivations.

Another element in her presentation was this.  Adapting some of her principles into our lives will help to give us better balance in our relationships with ourselves, our family, friends and co-workers, and our environment.  Another wow thought.  Something to chew on in the coming week.

What will be your specific positive statement you will use this week in whatever part of your life you choose?

Explore posts in the same categories: Character traits, Life Skills, Writing goals

6 Comments on “Weather & Self Statements”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    “It’s all good.” That’s my son’s saying. I’ve been using it a lot lately, whenever I start to worry about something. And you know what? He’s right!

    I’m glad you had such a great time in Green Bay. I’m guessing that Sandee was the speaker. She gives a great workshop on this.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    Sandee was the speaker. She spoke for and hour and a half. Could have done more; we were all so interested and she had much more to offer.

    Love your saying. Use it well. Almost finished with Cattitude. Bella is quite the kitty. 🙂

  3. Elle J Rossi Says:

    I will write everyday. And what I write will be good!

    I will have more patience with my children.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    First statement is great. Second one needs to be more specific. More is the problem. I suggest this one: I will have patience with my children. That’s what I learned last week because the subconscious needs specific and concrete; then it directs you. Repeat the statements several times a day and you then work toward the state where you inherently believe and then practice or achieve the statement. 🙂

  5. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Ah…I see exactly what you mean. Today, I thought I was in the midst of the beginning of a Calgon commercial. Remember those?

    So here I go…I will have patience with my children. I will have patience with my children.

  6. Mary Jo Says:

    Elle,

    Perfect. The more you practice; the more you believe and then it’s automatic. That’s simplistic, but it works. 🙂

    I’ll be sure to let you know about Tana French.


Leave a Reply

