End of July Thoughts


Rolling waves of Iowa Fields

We are nearing the end of July and what a month this has been.  In my part of the country we’ve had record braking rainfall and high temperatures and humidity.  Days of all of those—so much so I’m wishing for fall.  Which is my favorite season of the year.

This month also brought a week’s visit from my brother.  He’s here right now and we are catching up on our lives.  Sure we have email and phone visits but his being here is so much more special.

This month also brought my chance to experience a family reunion which is the reason I’m posting late as I was in Iowa over the weekend to attend the event.  I’m mentally sorting and sifting through all the experiences and memories I have stored from this past weekend.  I’ll share some next week.

However, in the drive there and back (I put 1,135 miles on my car) I had much time to think about new plots and story lines.  Things I learned about family I played with in developing a new manuscript.

The weekend was tiring and exhilarating simultaneously.  The photo I have with this post is a shot I took of the same fields my grandfather and his father farmed.  The green waves of bountiful crops pulled me back into history.

Another part of July for my writer friends is this is the month of our national conference.  This year it is this week.  I won’t be there and I’ll miss it, but I’ll be there in spirit and look forward to hearing about it from my writer friends.  For all my friends traveling there, be safe.

My next post will be in August.  July will be finished; 2010 will be more than half over.  July has been a month of extremes for me and for our weather.  What about you?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “End of July Thoughts”

  1. Elle J Rossi Says:

    How nice to have your brother there! Enjoy every second of his visit.

    July has been the busiest month of the year so far for me, but I am enjoying every second of it. That includes the heat, humidity and the storms. I love them all!

    Isn’t it great when a new plot/story comes to mind. It really excites me and as you read on my blog, I too have another idea. This weekend was inspiring all around. I’ll clink my mug to yours on that one!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    A virtual clink back at you! Here’s to new story lines all around. 🙂

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    Mary Jo, I’m just going through my Google Reader posts. I have about 40 left. It’s worse now than when you wrote this. Now we have the awful mosquito infestation. It’s terrible. I’ll be happy when it cools too.


Leave a Reply

