Independence Day 2010


Happy Fourth of July

July 4th.  Independence Day.

What do you think about?  For me, these are some of my favorite things for the day.

Picnics.  Fireworks. Water fun. Grilling outside.  Hamburgers and hot dogs.  Ice cream.

Remembering past July 4ths.  Understanding the idea of freedom and the responsibility it places on those of us who cherish it; the need to have it for those who don’t have it.

I think about families and family times together.  I treasure them.  I think of my friends and times we’ve shared and hold those mental pictures close.  I think about what independence means to me and many have fought for it and have given their lives for it,

I know a few people who are celebrating a birthday today or an anniversary.  How neat is that to always have fireworks on your special day?

I wish you are all safe and enjoyable Fourth of July.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Independence Day 2010”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    Happy 4th of July!

    There are fireworks outside, but I’ve just been going over notes for revisions. LOL We might go to watch fireworks tomorrow night.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Our dog Oreo hates fireworks and neighbors had a real show last night. I expect other neighbors to do so tonight and tomorrow if the weather is okay. Since we were caring for our son last night, we couldn’t take Oreo away. Car rides generally calm her down.

    Not a good night. 😦

  3. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Hi!

    As you know, this is my absolute favorite holiday. We even planned our family vacation around it this year. On Friday, we headed for the Sunshine State, but I think the plane took a wrong turn somewhere because we haven’t seen the sun AT ALL since we’ve been here. Instead we’re in the cloudy, stormy, raining all day long state. Really puts a damper on the festivities. But, we have each other and will have fun no matter what.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    I hope the weather gets better for you while you’re on vacation. That’s such a bummer to look forward to a trip and then have weather that hampers plans. On the other hand,July 4th is about family as much as fun and you are with your family. 🙂 That’s the best.

    Thanks for dropping a line while away. 🙂


Leave a Reply

