Feuding With Word


@#&@@ !!!

For the past few weeks I’ve been feverishly trying to finish reading and revising a manuscript I wrote and revised about five years ago.  But like children, writing skills, at least mine, grow each year and with each manuscript.

So—I knew I better not send it out without a decent fluff.  That would be like sending a daughter off to the prom with an unfashionable dress.  Scary, right?

Anyway, the most difficult part of the process came today when I needed to convert the manuscript to a Word document. GRRR 

That leads to my rant.  Many of us, writers or not, use a word processing program.  Word might be something you love because it has the ability to do so many really neat things.

None of which I as a fiction writer need.

What I can depend on with Word is to know it will screw up my formatting, lose my headers and page numbers and generally lead me into serious use of foul language.  Actually, right at the moment, I feel very sorry for my computer as it was subjected to descriptive anatomical concepts it’s much too young to hear.

But I accomplished my task. Finally.  Saved it.  And hope it will open correctly and still be as it should be when the next person opens the document.

Don’t get me wrong.  I appreciate Word for short works, like letters, envelopes, maybe even a four page synopsis.  But challenge it with a 390 page document?  It acts up worse than a hot, fractious horse on Belmont day.

I’ve even tried to make peace with it by taking several classes, buying manuals (reading them even), and even getting individual help from a real expert.  But we remain hopelessly deadlocked.  Like star-crossed lovers.  Or enemies since birth, maybe like the Hatfields and McCoys.

Tell me what you think.  Am I being unduly harsh in my criticism of Word?

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing, Writing goals

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Feuding With Word”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    Which Word program do you have? 2002-2003 was easy. I’ve got 2007 now, and I know how to do a few things on it, including the header and page numbers. If you need help next time, email or call me.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Hi Edie,

    Thanks for the offer. I’ve gotten it figured out, just felt like ranting because it works, then doesn’t. If I get in a bind again, I will email you. 🙂

  3. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Your poor computer may need therapy!

    So far, I haven’t had any major problems with Word, although I probably just jinxed myself.

    I tried using Pages, which is a Mac program, but I didn’t care for it. Probably because I’ve been using Word for so long.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

