Fog, Weather & Life


Early Morning Fog

This past week has been rather strange here along the western shore of Lake Michigan.  Why?

A short a distance as a few block west of us, the temps were 20 degrees warmer and the sun was shining in a clear blue sky.  But here along the shore, a heavy dense fog enveloped everything in what looked like a cotton candy world.  Except the fog held a lot of moisture so all the outside surfaces were slick with moisture.  Cotton candy is never wet, just melt in the mouth sweet and dry.

This phenomenon comes because the lake waters are still very cold, much colder than the air even though our temps were much cooler than places a few blocks west.  We didn’t enjoy the sun because the fog obstructed it.

I’ve never been to London but one always here’s about the fog in that city.  I tried to pretend I was in London.  I wasn’t successful.  Because last week was one of those weeks.

Most of the time I thought I was functioning in a fog as dense as outside.  One part of my life, the writing side, was heating up as fast as the inland temps.  That was a perfect situation to help me endure the other parts of my life: family and friends.  Both of those areas had some serious roadblocks this past week.  I felt I encased in a dense fog, not able to accomplish anything or effectively help anyone who reached out to me.  I don’t appreciate feeling this way—all clouded up.  Actually, fog is a low-lying cloud and I’m pretty close to the ground.

Still Hanging Around

But fog does eventually dissipate and today is much clearer.  I can see the fog bank far out on the lake’s eastern horizon, but not here.  We have filtered sun at the moment.  Perhaps this is a sign that life and events in all sectors of my life will blend into beautiful early summer.

What do you think?  Is that too much to hope for?

Explore posts in the same categories: Character traits, Uncategorized, Weather

6 Comments on “Fog, Weather & Life”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    Casey, it’s always hopeful. By us it’s past 80 degrees and I’ll put the AC on today. Yesterday it was gorgeous. 🙂

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    We’re barely touching 60 degrees here but the sun is shining. 🙂

  3. Nancy Kaye Says:

    It was warm here today. Ed had me put the AC on for awhile. I thought it was great on our patio. I don’t like fog – either outside or in my head. I felt foggy yesterday due to being on the go so much during the week. I hope we both have a clear week coming up.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    I must get tomato plants in that I bought last week. Plus keep on with the revisions tomorrow. Maybe flowers won’t get in today. Here we barely made 62 degrees.

  5. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Great pictures, Casey. I’m with you. Sometimes the weather mirrors my mood and what’s going on in my life. It’s pretty eerie. But the fog does dissipate and hopefully our other views will also become more clear. Today is a beautiful, sunny day. I’m going to soak it up on the back patio! Enjoy your Monday.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Thanks for the comment on the photos. Today I’ll be busy with revising, but hope to get some of it done on the balcony overlooking the lake. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂


Leave a Reply

