I Won


The Big Moment

I’m not being a bit humble about this!  In fact I’m still jumping for joy inside.  Why?

A few posts ago I mentioned I was a finalist for the Write Touch Readers’ Award for the Romantic Suspense category.  This is a well-respected contest sponsored by the Wisconsin Romance Writers.  The judges are NOT writers but those we write for…readers.  Books are submitted which published in the year previous to the current year of the contest.

The contest coordinator handles thousands of books and each book entered is mailed to several reader judges around the country.  Those wonderful judges love reading and rank the ones they judge in each category, such as romantic suspense or paranormal, or historical.  It’s not easy to final but Black Ribbon Affair did.

And it won! 🙂

The Plaque

I was honored to final but ecstatic to win.  I keep looking at my beautiful walnut plaque and touching it every so often just to make sure it’s really with me.  I can’t thank enough the contest coordinator for all her work and the reader judges who loved my book. 🙂

The greatest message in this win is “Never Give Up.”

Secondly, this accomplishment reflects the concept of “It takes a village.”  Why?  Because without a fabulous editor, my publisher, the art department which created such a fantastic cover and the love and support of all my family and friends this joyous weekend would not have come about.

And I am humbled by all those who’ve supported me, read my book, dropped me an email about it, and told their friends about it.  I thank you all.  I appreciate also all the congratulations from those attending the terrific conference and all those whose work made the weekend conference and the contest a success.

Explore posts in the same categories: Awards, Uncategorized, Writing

8 Comments on “I Won”

  1. Nancy Kaye Says:

    It’s a beautiful plaque. You are most deserving of this. I’m so glad something good happened for you. You needed it.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks, Nancy. You’re one of those who’s always been a believer. Thank you. 🙂

  3. Brenda Says:

    I am so PROUD of YOU:) My woman’s intuition was right on target – I knew you would win. First book published, first award. I believe there will be many, many awards coming your way. The privilege of reading your book was my reward!

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Hey, Brenda, thanks. What does your intuition say about book 2? 🙂

    Thank for stopping in.

  5. Teri Constant Says:

    Hey! Congratulations! A wonderful plaque for a wonderful book for a wonderful lady. You so deserve this, my friend.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Thank you. Teri, I’ll bring it to the next club.

  7. Lexi Connor Says:

    Congratulations on the win! I hope you’re still celebrating.

  8. caseyclifford Says:

    Oh, I am still celebrating. Thanks for the good wishes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

