Down Time


Some weeks life holds no surprises.  This past week has been like that.  Routine is good, though too much of it might make life and/or us boring.

I wouldn’t say boring fit as a descriptive for last week.  I’d prefer restful.  It allowed my an opportunity to get caught up of many tasks that I’ve had to put off because other more pressing issues popped up at the last minute.

A week without many errands or appointments allowed me more time to fully immerse myself with my revisions.  Because the weather was spring-perfect earlier in the week, I even got some much needed weeding done in the garden.

I had more time to allow my muse to roam about in that creative part of my brain and hit upon two potential story lines for future books.

Better yet, I was able to do this at a more leisurely pace without the stress of a deadline, self-imposed or not, breathing fire at my back.

Of course, I didn’t find time to clean a cupboard or a drawer, organize a closet, or put winter clothes away.  Good thing, too, since yesterday and today have been more winter-like.  Back to sweats and sweaters and socks.  So long sandals until who knows when.

Having quiet weeks where I can roam the creative crevices of my mind, organize pieces of my personal and writing lives, enjoy moments with friends instead of worrying about what must be done—well, I see that as a gift.

Perhaps we owe ourselves the gifts of some down time.  What do you think?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Down Time”

  1. Edie Ramer Says:

    I’d love a week like that. Not this week or next week. Maybe the week after. Enjoy your down time!

  2. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Hi Casey,

    Weeks or even days like that are pure heaven. Mondays are my day off and should be the day where I can laze around or write like the wind. More often than not, there’s a to do list a mile long. Ack!

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    Two weeks like this in a row would be perfect. Here’s hoping you get a week soon. 🙂

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Here’s hoping tomorrow will give you a lazy day as you deserve. And lots of written pages which are always a great plus. 🙂


Leave a Reply

