Winter Blahs


This time of year in Wisconsin many of us suffer from “winter blues.”  We could look at the more positive sides of the calendar.  After all, February is more done than just starting.  The days ARE getting longer. This year, lucky for us, we’ve had temperatures NOT in the frigid zone for long stretches.

But…

We still have snow piles at eye level.  Some amount of snow falls at least a couple times a week.  We can’t hide the snow shovels yet.  And that white powdery residue of ever-necessary salt to dissipate the ice that forms each night causes more work for those who try to keep their entrances somewhat tidy.  Ice problems and worries occur for any potential visitors.  What if they fall and hurt themselves trying to enter our homes?  Thus, salt and its mess gets strewn about to handle any ice on walkways.

And why the ice?  Well, if the temps warm a bit and we get some welcome February sun, the downside of both is melting snow—then night falls and the melted snow freezes.  Yup.  Ice.  Equals salt.  Result—messes.

Our cars look like tired, very dirty kids after a solid day of playing in the muck.  Washing them is dangerous as the locks might freeze up; that creates more problems.  If we have errands to run, parking becomes an issue as parking lots have rows of parking slots used up.  Why?  That’s where all the plowed snow goes.

And this pristine snow you always see photos of?  Well, after a few days it turns grungy and looks more putrid gray than blinding white.

Oh, I could go on, but when someone asks how I’m doing in mid February, I’m likely to answer ready for spring.  If I ask the same question to others, nine times out of ten they answer the same way.

So what’s the solution?  You might suggest, hop a plane and go somewhere warm.  Anyone tried depending on air travel in the winter if you’re flying out of one of the midwest’s many airports?  Oh, think O’Hare or Minneapolis or Milwaukee?

Snow and ice play more havoc with flight schedules than I care to think about.  This winter at least two newscasts a week show stranded passengers waiting in an overcrowded airport.  You guessed it.  Because of weather.  Even if our weather is fine here, that doesn’t mean “on time” travel.  This past winter everyone’s getting snowed or iced in.  Think Baltimore, New York, D.C., Atlanta, Dallas.

No thanks.  I’ve had that happen.  NOT FUN!  Nothing is worse than being stranded in an airport where the restrooms are overused and undersupplied, babies and kids are cranky, food supplies are limited or non-existent, adults are frustrated, an you have no place comfortable to settle in.  Add in a few stranded passengers who’ve been over-served at the terminal bar and the discomfort quotient hits the stratosphere.

At least at home, I’ve my beautiful fire place, my own bed, a comfortable chair, a well-stocked pantry, clean bathrooms, and the certainty that I really don’t have to go out if the weather is truly horrid.  And for this year, if I want to see great winter scenery or be entertained by crowd antics, I can watch the Olympic games.  At least what snow they have in British Columbia looks much more beautiful than ours right now.  🙂

Spring will come

So what’s your take on winter, snow, ice, and wishing it would end soon for this year?  (And spring will be officially here on March 20 at midnight) Am I just being incredibly grumpy or do I have legions lock-step with my views?

Explore posts in the same categories: Seasons, Weather

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Winter Blahs”

  1. Nancy Kaye Says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I loved the comparison to little kids. Excellent. I got my self a bouquet of flowers while at the store today. It helps brighten up the room. I was glad to just stay home this afternoon and look at the snow outside through the window rather than walking in it. Glad to hear you are enjoying your fireplace. I was wondering about that.

  2. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Loved the guy with the car!

  3. Edie Says:

    Too funny about the guy with the car. I like the longer days, so I’m okay with the weather. Spring will come soon. 🙂

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Nancy,

    Spring flowers really lift the blahs. Or any live flowers that aren’t a poinsettia which refuses to die a graceful death. 😦

    Next semi warm day I may put it outside and see how long it survives them. The red would certainly enhance the sad and empty container waiting for something… 🙂

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I really chuckled at that video clip also. Been there; done that. The experience is much more humorous in hindsight. 🙂

    Another added benefit: I learned how to embed the video to use it for the blog. 🙂

  6. Elle J Rossi Says:

    Hi Casey!

    I most definitely have the winter blues. I think it’s getting worse each year. I love hot weather, thunder storms, humidity and the color green.

    March 20th may be my favorite day of the year this year.

    Justen aka Elle J Rossi

  7. caseyclifford Says:

    Elle,

    Glad you piped in. However, I get just as cranky even sooner with humidity and heat. Love the color green, thunderstorms a great at night if they don’t have damage with them. But for me give me sunshine, moderate humidity, green trees and grass and temps in the 70s-low 80s. I’m not asking for much…especially in WI. 🙂


  8. […] The busiest day of the year was October 31st with 53 views. The most popular post that day was Winter Blahs. […]


Leave a Reply

