Sighting Beauty


Frozen Lake

Lake Michigan’s water has cooled from it’s summer temperatures over the past few months.  When our unusual-for-January “warm” weather disappeared faster than a genie’s puff of smoke this past week, the water turned to ice.  Overnight. 

Not thick ice, but thick enough the first day that the surface appeared as if wrapped in heavy duty saran wrap. That night we were treated to the sight of an almost full moon shining down on the ice and throwing back the light.  A sight I knew my camera could never capture but my memory did.  Incredible. 

Two mornings later, I woke to a winter snow globe effect. Fluffy white snowflakes gently falling.  With no wind (also usual for us so close to the lake), the snow covered the ice that had been building on the lake.  

I could then see that the ice-wrapped lake extended as far as I could see to the eastern horizon.  The day stayed dreary.  The gloom lifted only by those gently falling flakes and the continually changing waterscape of my much-loved lake.  I could see varying sizes of breaks within the ice where small streams of water must be draining off the land. 

Between the snow sprinkles, the ice and the difference is water color depending on the depth—all this reminded me of a very expensive piece of exquisite moiré perhaps, its ombre hues shifting and weaving into each other. 

Shifting Ice

This past week has had many challenges for my family, my friends, me.  However, seeing this gift from mother nature lifted my spirits and keeps me hopeful.  That is a gift also for if I’m at peace I can extend better help and consolation to those around me who need it.  I can deal more effectively with life around me. 

Take time this week to open up to the simple beauty that shows up in your world.  And if you’ve had a “beautiful moment” you want to share, please do.

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Uncategorized, Weather

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Sighting Beauty”

  1. Edie Says:

    Hugs, Mary, on whatever is going on with your life. I have many beautiful moments, but I’ll share the joy of petting my cat, feeling the vibration of her purrs under my hand and against my shoulder. Or walking my dog, and seeing her joy and energy in every proud step, even though its 30 degrees out. They teach me enjoy the moments you mention.


  2. My beautiful moments are usually related to my girls. A shared look, a tiny hand slipping into mine. Even right now my younger daughter just walked up and rested her chin on my shoulder as I’m typing. 🙂

    I woke up early Saturday morning, not quite sure why until I realized how bright the light was outside my window. It wasn’t quite 4:00 a.m., so I got up, curious, to look outside. It was as if it were twilight and my yard was lit up. I didn’t realize until last night when I glanced at my calendar that it had been a full moon. I’d never realized before just how beautiful a full moon is. 🙂

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Donna,

    You should see the moon on the lake tonight. It’s hugs and somewhat coral in color and absolutely spectacular. I’m able to see it right now from my office window along with what I call a moonpath slicing the ebony water.

    Thanks for sharing the bit about your daughters. So many times I wish I had those days again when my sons were young and with me.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I love that you shared your moments with your cat and dog. I don’t know what we’d do without our little dog. She’s so sweet and always senses when we need her to be especially so. One thing I love about being retired and “older” is the time I can take to appreciate these special moments. When I was working and raising four boys, I had no time to truly enjoy on a daily basis all the beauty that surrounds me.

    Thanks for stopping by.


  5. […] Sighting Beauty January 2010 4 comments […]


Leave a Reply

