Icy Shorelines & Writing Issues


Ice waves on winter beach

One morning this past week when our skies were still winter dreary but our thermometers rose higher than they’d been since before Christmas, I took my camera and drove into town to view the Lake Michigan shore from a different vantage point. 

I’m so glad I did. 

I see our lake every day whenever I gaze from my windows.  Always the view inspires me, but after a while one can take the view for granted.  This beautiful setting is a daily expectation. 

Looking at the shoreline from different perspectives in town and seeing the beauty from a different angle made me think of how we as individuals take those people and situations that reside in our daily lives for granted. It takes seeing them in different surroundings or handling issues beyond how we normally experience them to push us from our complacent stance. 

That change in our reality sphere often jumpstarts our relationship in a new way—sometimes thrilling, sometimes dangerous, sometimes sad. 

So too with writers.  Sometimes we get stalled in our writing process.  Our characters blend into the sameness of our white monitor screens.  Our plots so familiar to us grown more staid with each sentence we write. When this occurs, we need to step back and see our words and our stories from a different perspective.  We may be correct in our original assessment.  Or we could be totally wrong. 

Shifting our perspective or gaining insight from someone else, can help us add layers and depth to our story and our characters.  We can chip away at flaws once we see them from another angle.  We can immerse ourselves in the layers we’ve built with our words and imagination while allowing new elements to what is already in place.  We can add complications like weather systems, wind, snow and sleet do to change the look of the shoreline or the line of rocks. 

Pine Tree at shore

Just like my eyes were opened to the new and spectacular essence of my beloved Lake Michigan. 

What has opened your eyes to some take-for-granted person, place, or thing in your lives?

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Writing

4 Comments on “Icy Shorelines & Writing Issues”

  1. Deb Maher Says:

    I live about 1+ miles from my day job but I always drive. If the car goes in for state inspection or servicing, I arrange a ride. One day I’d dropped my car off early morning and a friend took me to work. For some reason, she couldn’t take me home so since it was a fair spring day, rather than asking someone else, I decided to walk.

    What a difference! Walking sidewalks along the same route I’d driven for years showed me a whole new world. I saw flower gardens I’d never seen. Bushes, trees, and houses were all new and fresh. Wish I had time to do it more often.

    It was a real light bulb moment! Love the post, MJ!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    So great to see a comment from you! Must mean Dan’s given you a few moments from your “pitch and toss” clean out the closets routine.

    Yes, a change in scenery can really refresh our muses and our outlook on life. 🙂

  3. Edie Says:

    We had fog over the weekend, and it’s below freezing at night and in the morning, so when I woke up on Saturday, the trees were white with frozen dew. Beautiful. It looked like Christmas card trees, awakening a moment of awe inside me. But then I left early to drive to the chapter meeting, and I realized the streets were icy too. The awe left quickly. lol

    Once I got out of the subdivision, the other streets were dry. But I had a huge shift of emotions.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    We had those same conditions here. The pine trees were exquisite but the driving was tricky, especially on our streets along the lakeshore.

    I’m really bummed I couldn’t make the meeting, but my hair looks much better. 🙂


Leave a Reply

