Twelve Days of Christmas Reduces Stress



Christmas Past

Am I busy getting ready for Christmas?

Well sure, I am.  And this year I’ve had the added hectic but long-awaited tasks of promoting Black Ribbon Affair.  However, several years ago, I took a bit of wisdom from my sister-in-law who’s spent most Decembers being over-committed and time-challenged.

What was her secret?

Celebrate the season, not the day and follow the idea of the Twelve Days of Christmas. Very smart woman, my sister-in-law.

Cards not sent out and at their destination by December 24th?  No worry, if they arrive on January 2nd, the receiver will have more time to enjoy the card and its message.

Not all the baking or cooking done?  So what!  Eating a fresh batch of cookies on December 29th beats stale ones every time.  And as for cooking?  Who says we must have several meals?  And what’s wrong with leftovers of the Christmas ham?  Fortunately, our family loves hearty pea soup with fresh bread on January 1st.

Anyway, you get the idea.

Santa's Getting Ready for the kiddies

Oh, it’s gift shopping and wrapping you’re most stressed about?  Well, even here, if you wait until a few days after Christmas you may fight fewer crowds.  Or if your shopping is done but you’re not seeing the giftees until after the 24th or 25th, wrap away a few hours before you see them.

The kids may need  you to meet a deadline if you are helping Santa, but if you have arrived at the wise stage of life, you enjoy quality time spent with loved ones, time to reflect on holidays past, spent with those no longer walking the earth, and the less stressful tempo of knowing all you want to do and enjoy can be spread out over twelve days.

So folks, start celebrating on December 24th, but don’t have it end on the 25th.  Follow through.  Spread the celebration until January 6th.

This year one of our local police departments did a video about this philosophy, sort of.  It’s humorous but will never win any awards, except for spreading good will.

And I leave you with that thought.  When next I post, the big holiday will be finished, kaput, out-of-sight, except maybe for the shredded ribbons and wrapping.

But not at our house.  We’ll still have a few presents under the tree. 🙂

What do you think of my ‘borrowed’ philosophy?

Explore posts in the same categories: Christmas, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Twelve Days of Christmas Reduces Stress”

  1. Edie Says:

    MJ, you are one of the wise women. 🙂

    My husband and I bought a new computer for ourselves, and I set it up today, loading it myself. I’m not sure how to use Windows 2007. I just changed browsers to Firefox. I’ll see how it works. So right now I’m a little stressed. I’m actually doing better than I thought, though.

  2. Nancy Kaye Says:

    I’m still laughing. The Irish Twelve Days of Christmas was a hoot! I just loved it.

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I’m using Chrome now and will have to check out Firefox. I’ll be interested in knowing how you like your new system. What brand did you get?

    Happy holidays.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Nancy,

    Being Irish makes the whole song even funnier. I’ve watched it several times. And since Caitlin, my heroine in Black Ribbon Affair is Irish, I think she loves it also. 🙂

  5. Deb Maher Says:

    We didn’t start opening gifts or eating our traditional breakfast/brunch until noon Christmas Day. As usual, we dragged it out, nibbling, talking, sipping coffee, opening gift by gift. Cherishing the thoughts, loving the company. Finished at 2:30, when I should have been starting the Christmas roast.

    I didn’t feel much like cooking. So instead, we (2 adult sons & hubby) drove to see Sherlock Holmes. When we returned home we munched on leftovers. Lovely relaxing day.

    On Saturday, December 26, We cooked Christmas dinner – Prime Rib roast, Yorkshire Pudding, a small tofurkey for our vegetarian, and all the fixings. We enjoyed every bit of it, cooking and eating, far more than we would have on Friday. btw, your sister-in-law is a wise woman. We may just extend our Christmas celebrations again in the future, too.

    Oh…I LOVED the Kenosha PD’s version of 12 days of Christmas! They have a hit! Merry Christmas, MJ, Edie, and all who happen to read this.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Deb,

    Now that’s a true example of the Twelve Days of Christmas. Yes, my sil is wise in many ways. 🙂

    I’m so glad you stopped by and left a comment. I’ even happier you’ve enjoyed your days as a family through these first few days of Christmas.


Leave a Reply

