Thanksgiving Thoughts


Thanksgiving Bounty

I hope all of you had a great Thanksgiving and found things to be thankful for despite our dreary world. 

Often when our world appears most dreary and we see more trials than gifts in our lives, we wonder what we can be thankful for.  If we look around us with a new perspective we find our gifts and should give thanks for them.  

Maybe those gifts aren’t as big and showy as in years past. Maybe they come disguised as trouble.  But if we dig around in our lives and fight to get through to a better day and fewer personal trials, we become stronger, more resilient, more wise. 

And aren’t those qualities far greater and more lasting?  Able to help us continue to grow as a person? 

I believe this and I see it as a theme in all I write.  In all I live. 

As those I love gathered round my Thanksgiving table this week, we gave thanks and gave one reason why.  It wasn’t easy, three are now unemployed—thank you to our economic issues, one is severely disabled and each day is a struggle for survival, two others have health issues and one might be facing a surgery that could alter his life’s activities. 

But each had at least one solid reason to give thanks.  We are blessed. 

Make a Wish for next year

What am I thankful for?  My family, my husband, my friends, my creativity, my book published and selling.  I could name many more. 

What are you thankful for?

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays, Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Thanksgiving Thoughts”

  1. Edie Says:

    Mary Jo, I’m thankful for family, my health, and friends like you. 🙂

    I’m sending prayers and healthy vibes to your family.

  2. Deb Says:

    Despite tough times, we all have much to be grateful for. As time goes by, the love of family and dear friends, and health becomes ever more precious. Like Edie, those are the top three on my list this year. And, again like Edie, my prayers and healing thoughts are sent your way. Blessings.

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie and Deb,

    Thanks for adding your Thanksgiving blessings. Because I wanted to keep this a more personal post, I didn’t add an item about hard economic times have increased an interest in fiction, especially romance and commercial fiction with happy endings. Ditto movies too.


Leave a Reply

