What a Week


Black Ribbon in Hand

Black Ribbon in Hand

Last week I posted a short excerpt from Black Ribbon Affair.  This week I have more news.

First, I received my author copies I mentioned last week in the post, and I actually held my book in my hand for the very first time.  What a thrill.  That three word sentence sounds so tame considering the rush of emotions flying through me, hovering around my head and buzzing in my ears.  It was like birthing my first born son, my wedding day and finishing grad school all rolled into one. 🙂

I haven’t been able to settle down since then.  And this is SO not like me…

The next event was discovering that the buy sites were active on Amazon.com, The Wild Rose Press.com, and Barnes and Noble.com.  My book, my baby was now OUT THERE.

What if no one liked it, much less loved it as much as I do or my husband does?  Yeah, it’s his favorite; then its sequel which he takes ownership for the idea that started it.

So I’ve been on a real roller coaster this week.  Up and down like the proverbial yo-yo. But loving the angst and joy all bundled together.

Then yesterday, I got an email from a friend who’d ordered the book and now had it in her hands.  Her email thrilled me as she indicated how excited she was.  Yesterday evening, my niece called—screaming.  I thought something was wrong.

NOT!  She’d come home from the hospital to find the book she ordered in her mailbox.  She was more excited than I was, but she inspired me once again.  After she screamed some more, she indicated she was so glad she wasn’t on call this weekend because she intended to read it. ALL WEEKEND.  She even mentioned something about not feeling bad that her boyfriend wasn’t feeling well and wouldn’t be coming to see her this weekend.  While I hope he doesn’t have the bug that’s floating around, I’m chuckling that she will be with MY book this weekend.  I’m so terrible. 🙂

Anyway, this past week has been heady and emotional.  However, I better get down to business and work on my next book.  Otherwise, when Lady Luck taps me on the shoulder again, I won’t be ready.

Have a great week, everyone.

Explore posts in the same categories: Release Dates, Significant Life Events, Uncategorized, Writing

22 Comments on “What a Week”

  1. Edie Says:

    I can feel your excitement! I didn’t pre-order because I’m waiting for your booksigning. You’ll have to let WisRWA know when it is. Or else bring some books to the meeting next Saturday, if you can make it. I know I want one.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Hi Edie,

    I was just over at Magical Musings and that blog of yours has me addicted. Right after I visit there, I jump to Amazon and order books.

    Can’t wait to be ordering yours. 🙂

  3. Nora LeDuc Says:

    Big congratulations!! I write for TWRP too, so it’s nice to meet you. Enjoy and celebrate, celebrate.


  4. Congratulations on your first release. We all know the feeling, no matter what genre we write or for what pub. This is a great moment for you, so savor it. Best of luck with your book.

  5. Janie Emaus Says:

    Congratulations! Take time to enjoy your success.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks, Janie, Miriam,& Nora for your congratulations and stopping by. I’ll be sure to follow your advice and enjoy the moment. 🙂

  7. reneewildes1 Says:

    Hi Casey!
    I LOVE the picture of you and your PRETTYPRETTY books! Aren’t you just the proud mama! I am SO happy for you – you worked so hard for this and no one deserves it more.
    Sniff sniff…the proud daughter…

  8. christie Says:

    Big congrats!! Nothing is like holding your book. Hard work does pay off!

    CC

  9. caseyclifford Says:

    Hey Renee,

    Love the daughter comment. Don’t I wish…

    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  10. caseyclifford Says:

    Christie,

    You’re right about hard work and long time waiting. Thanks for taking the time to stop by. 🙂

  11. Ilona Fridl Says:

    Oh, celebrate as much as you can! I won’t be at the meeting next Saturday, I’m going to be at an art fair in West Bend selling and signing. I want one of your books and an autograph!

  12. Sandy Says:

    Casey, you just go ahead and be emotional. Riding that up and down roller coaster is so much fun.

    I’m going to get your book. All I have to do is transfer some more money to my PayPal account. lol

    Major congrats, Casey.


  13. Ah, Casey, you know how happy I am for you…from your other daughter…LOL I just ordered my copy and can’t wait to read it!! Love that picture of you with your books! Hope you can make the Christmas party this year so I can have you sign my copy and get a real hug. 🙂

    *big cyber hugs*


  14. You look so beautiful holding those books! What a great picture. I can’t wait to get my signed copy soon! Keep me posted on those signings, or like Donna, I’ll hope to see you at the Christmas party. 🙂

  15. caseyclifford Says:

    Stacey,

    Thanks for the compliment. I’ll treasure that–coming from one herself. 🙂

    You let me know when the date is for GGB’s Xmas and I’ll try my darndest to get there.

  16. caseyclifford Says:

    Donna,

    Dearest daughter of the heart. I’ll be glad to sign your copy ASAP!

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing my joy. 🙂

  17. caseyclifford Says:

    Sandy,

    I know about replenishing those accounts. That’s a bummer, isn’t it? Thanks for the good wishes and stopping by. 🙂

  18. caseyclifford Says:

    Ilona,

    I can’t think of a better reason not to be at a meeting–a booksigning somewhere else. And soon you’ll be having another book come out. WTG, woman. 🙂

  19. Lyn Cote Says:

    Casey,
    So excited for you! I can’t wait to buy an autographed copy from you next year in Milwaukee. IF I CAN WAIT THAT LONG!
    Hugs,
    Lyn Cote

  20. caseyclifford Says:

    Hi Lyn,

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing my excitement. Hugs right back at you. 🙂


  21. Hello!

    Congratulations! I’m THRILLED for you!

    Holding BLACK RIBBON AFFAIR for the first time must have elicited a mega-wattage out-of-this-galaxy visceral response!

    Wish I could celebrate with you and all the amazing writers at WIS RWA. 😉

    Hugs……………Margie

  22. caseyclifford Says:

    Margie,

    Thanks for stopping by and for the congrats. I loved the power description of my response. You are right on! As usual. As for those WisRWA writers? They are lifelines and role models for sure.


Leave a Reply

