Fogs, Fiction & Life


Foggy morning

Foggy morning

We’ve had very unusual weather this past week.  Really cool nights, sometimes downright chilly.  And lovely sunny days.  Not hot, humid and hazy ones as we often see at the end of August and the first part of September.

Since I live right on the shore of Lake Michigan and it’s a huge lake, it’s a weather-decider.  What that’s meant for me was very early in the morning, I’d be watching the sun rise further above the lake’s horizon and fog would drift in and out.

This event was haunting and beautiful and jump-started my writing muse faster than my two cups of coffee.

It also made me think about life.  How like fog that slips in on “little cat feet” (Carl Sandburg’s, “Fog”), life can sometimes take you unawares.  For a brief moment of happiness.  Or a stabbing pain of loss.

See the shore again

See the shore again

But no matter what life’s fogs bring, like those in nature, those times leave.

And thus, the writer in me has fodder for another scene, another chapter, another book.

How about you?  What do you do with the fogs in your life?

Explore posts in the same categories: Seasons, Weather, Writing

4 Comments on “Fogs, Fiction & Life”

  1. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Beautiful pictures! “Fog” is one of my favorite poems. I always think of it when the fog rolls off the lake. Fog to me means being lost, but waiting for the sun which always comes . Maybe it doesn’t come when you want it to, but the sun will shine eventually.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Nancy,

    Loved you comments about fog. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Edie Says:

    Love the pictures. I love the atmosphere of fog in books and movies. Usually it’s a warning that something scary is going to happen. As for the fogs in my life, I get through it and hope for sunshine.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    You’re such a faithful visitor. Thanks for stopping by.

    I love fog in books and movies also, but feel it sometimes gets a bad rap. Most of my significant fog memories are very awesome. 🙂 Not scary at all. Or sad.


Leave a Reply

