Memories of a Friend on Her Birthday


Lakeshore Stroll

Lakeshore Stroll

One who no longer walks with me.  She was the first friend I ever had who has shared my name.  I never met her until into my thirties and we never lived in the same city. 

 She was a “neighborhood girl” of my hubby’s when he was growing up.  She married his best friend.  Since my hubby’s parents and sister were all deceased when I met him, his taking me “home” to meet these two life-long friends equated to his family.

 We bonded immediately.

Wedding Gift Quilt

Wedding Gift Quilt

 She was a wife, a mother, a daughter, an RN, a friend to many.  Those she loved she generously gave of her talents and she had many.  She baked, cooked, canned, gardened, kept house, sewed, did “handwork,” knitted, crocheted, and quilted.  That I know of.  She likely had other talents as well.

 Like many of us she was always fighting those extra pounds, and losing to that special dessert she just had to make and, then of course, taste.

 She was an avid reader.  When she heard I wanted to get back into writing fiction, she offered to read my work.  Her confidence in my skills bolstered and improved my first efforts.  I’m quite sure she’s one of the reasons I’m persistent to this day in a field that demands that trait and is littered with the skeletons of those who “gave up the fight.”

 I remember a camping trip we were on.  The kids were swimming.  We were watching from the beach and reading, a joy we shared.  Then we started talking about any fantasy we might have. 

 She grinned.  “All the time I want to read and never have to diet again.” I wanted to be published.  I’ll never forget that moment.  Neither did she.

 Several years later, she got her wish.  After battling an aggressive form of breast cancer and going through many difficult treatments, she was cancer-free.  But the treatments had done damage to her lungs and heart.  No longer could she do all the things she had done.  Too weak.  Now she had time to read all she wanted.  She could eat all she wanted, too. 

Cross stitch work in hall

Cross stitch work in hall

She made a quilt for our wedding gift. I see it every day and think of her.  She did a beautiful piece of needlework that hangs outside my office where I see it every day.  She’s no longer here in body, but she’s ever in my thoughts. 

I miss her.  So do all she touched.  I know she’s counting down the weeks until Black Ribbon Affair is released.  She was one of its first readers.

Explore posts in the same categories: Character traits, Friendship

4 Comments on “Memories of a Friend on Her Birthday”

  1. Edie Says:

    I was at the Oconomowoc Art Fest yesterday. They had a quilters booth. Their work was wonderful. The ladies manning the booth were gabbing away to each other, and I waited for a lull to tell them how beautiful their quilts were. One of them invited me to their meetings, and I had to tell her I didn’t sew. lol

    I feel the love of your friend. I’m glad you had so many good memories of her.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Hi Edie,

    I’m with you about not knowing how to sew or do anything like that. It’s probably one of the reasons I admired my friend so much. Plus she always had the best dessert recipes. 🙂

    Thanks again for stopping by.


  3. Everyone should have such a supportive friend in their corner. It sounds like it was mutual – the best kind of friendship.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Keziah.

    Yes, she was a special friend. She’d be so excited now but I figure she’s celebrating where she is.


Leave a Reply

