Do-Overs


Mini Dahlia

Mini Dahlia

What’s a “do-over”? 

Could be many different things.  For me, it’s what I sometimes refer to a revision, especially when I’m layering in and filling out the personalities, background, quirks, flaws and virtues of my main characters in a manuscript.  

That’s what I’ve been working on in the past few weeks.  And I a thought hit me. 

My characters in this process really get do-overs, not so they’re perfect, but so they work perfectly in the lives I create for them within the pages of the book.

Finding Nemos

Finding Nemos

Darn, wouldn’t we all like that to happen for ourselves at times?  Yeah, we all know about diets, career changes, broken relationships, changing our lifestyles for the better, do-overs of a sort.  But not the same.  People still remember the “old” way we were.  Sometimes they even want that “old” way to return.

 Or how about those times in our lives when we made some really bad choices, humdingers that changed how the rest of our lives and relationships played out?  Honest now, if you’ve been in that kind of do-over situation, got the chance to move on, don’t you wish sometimes deep down, the memories, even the actual facts might really go away?  You know a real do-over, clean slate, hit delete and never retrieve revision of our lives.  

When I considered this concept and thought about those times I really needed a do-over, I realized once again the fiction is what I can create.  Or escape to in a book or movie.  In real life, if we’re lucky, smart, and very strong, we get “moving-ons.” 

Beluga whale

Beluga Whale Tail

You know, pick yourself up, lick whatever “wounds” need tending, figure out what went wrong, determine never to get in that kind of situation again, make a plan, and then work to make sure you accomplish the goal. 

What about those niggling reminders?  Use them, just like the characters in the books.  Keep yourself moving on, not waiting for a “do-over.” 

That only happens in writing—or Witness Protection.  🙂 

What’s your take on this?  I’d like to know.  

See you next week.

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Uncategorized, Writing

4 Comments on “Do-Overs”


  1. Hey Casey! Great post! I believe, in theory, a do-over sounds great, especially if some mistake is a real “humdinger”. But if we don’t learn from our mistakes, and never make any to learn from, what good is that? Or, if we get a do-over, in the true nature of mankind, we might correct or avoid the mistake we got the do-over for, but most likely we’ll make some other mistake to replace it at some point. We are who we are because of what we’ve experienced in life–mistakes and all. 🙂 There are two things in life I’ve said I’d change if I could, but when I really think about it, I don’t know if I’d be the same person, so I’ll stick with who I am for now. 🙂

    It certainly is fun to play with the lives of my characters, though.

  2. Edie Says:

    Do-overs are so much easier for my characters than me. I have regrets in my life, but all I can do is forgive myself and other people, then, like you said, pick myself up, lick wounds, learn from the situation (I hope!) and go on with my life.

    Forgiveness is the key for me in real life. For fiction, I have a heroine right now who isn’t so forgiving, and that makes her fun to write.

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Hey Stacey,

    Sounds like you’re a woman after my own heart. 🙂

    Glad you stopped by on this hot, humid day. Good luck with having fun playing with your characters. They have been so delightful.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I sure wish that call would come and you’d get one of those wonderful stories with the great characters published. I’m dying to read more about them. The bits I read for American Title contest just whetted my appetite.

    So glad you added your thoughts and stopped by today. 🙂


Leave a Reply

