Family Reunions, Reminiscing & Writing


Imported Pictures 380Yesterday, I went to a Zero picnic.  In actuality, we were honoring my uncle who turned 90 this year.  Got it?  The zero concept?  But he’s NO zero in the lives of us who were there.  

Others there had a zero in this year: our anniversary year ended with zero; one of his son’s entered another decade—that zero again.  I think a few cousins had done the same since always my aunts would be pregnant about the same time.  His children kept telling my uncle we were celebrating all those milestones since he’s not one to was a “fuss.” 

We all agreed this was the best way to get together.  It’s been funerals over the past several years—if we’ve seen each other at all. 

We represented several states what with the four generations that were there.  The furthest—Washington. Our grandparents, I’m sure, were looking over the gathering and saying to each other: “It’s about time they all got together.” 🙂Grandpa H & Uncle Gene

My uncle makes a great draw.  A WWII vet who served in Alaska, a US border that actually came under attack a few times.  A postal worker until he retired, and during that time he worked a second job.  He raised a large family and he and my aunt brought them up well.  When he retired, he started another career working in the maintenance department for our local school system.  Even now he putters around his home to keep things in tip-top shape. 

He was always around to help.  Family members, friends, organizations, and church.  He had a reputation for enjoying his meals.  My brothers always wanted to be around him at large gatherings because he was near the front of the line and always knew what foods were  tastiest. My grandfather once remarked we should set out plates for us and a platter for Gene.  Yet he remains tall and wiry. 

Uncle Gene First CommunionHe knew all the stats for golf, baseball, football, and who knows what else.  I remember coming into his home at times and he’d have two radios going with different games while the TV had a third.  If the weather allowed, he’d get us kids outside to play some kind of ball.  Since I was such a klutz, this wasn’t my favorite activity, but everyone else loved it.  I helped with dishes or kitchen work and learned lots of family history and gossip that way. 

I talked and listened yesterday.  Everyone was “remembering when” in their conversations.  We should have recorded those talks.  When I looked around, I saw such strong family resemblances within my cousins and their families.  Why?  Because my uncle married my mother’s sister, his sister married my mother’s brother.  

But it wasn’t just the facial structures that contained similarities through the generations.  Mannerisms, speech patterns, so much of what I observed reminded me of relatives no longer with us. Uncle-Gene-blog

All this boils within me today.  Perhaps someday a tidbit from yesterday will serve to create a scene or the idea for a character.  Even if not, yesterday and the man we were celebrating will always remain in my heart.

Explore posts in the same categories: Memories, Significant Life Events, Uncategorized

5 Comments on “Family Reunions, Reminiscing & Writing”

  1. Edie Says:

    MJ, this was so interesting. I’m glad you had such a great time. A Zero celebration is a wonderful idea!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Hey, Edie,

    Yesterday was fantastic. I expect next Saturday will be also when Milwaukee area has its picnic. Hope to see you there. And thanks for stopping by.:-)

  3. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Hi, I loved the blog on your family reunion. It’s such fun to see the traits and physical characteristics that are passed on in families. Every once in awhile Tommy says or does something that reminds me so much of my brother. I find it amazing that my brother’s children don’t resemble him in any way. Maybe it’s because I don’t see them very often that I miss those subtle mannerisms.

    We had a party for my Mom when she turned 90 in my backyard on 47th Ave. I can still see her smile as the grandchildren helped her blow out her candles.I’m so glad we celebrate our birthdays in club. It’s important for us to enjoy these events.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Yes, Nancy,

    The club birthday luncheons must never go away. I’m putting them in the category of NEVERS along with ablue hair, discussion of bowels, mushy cards and corsets. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by. Here’s hoping Jane finds me some day.

  5. Deb Maher Says:

    What a wonderful post! Your uncle sounds like a remarkable man. But then he comes from a good family, and a great generation.

    It seems as we grow older family becomes ever more important yet we only see each other at wedding and funerals. And sometimes important birthdays. Cherish the moments, and at the next events we must all remember to bring a tape recorder. 🙂


Leave a Reply

